We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
113
63
21
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
63
21
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookieswarm welcomewest highland waystayed herepacked lunchsmoked salmonexcellent breakfastbreakfast tabletrain stationspacious roomstarting pointtown centrehot chocolateeat drinkwould highly recommend this placehuge breakfastconversation starter
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Brilliant start to the West Highland Way. Great service, lovely breakfast (including Lorne sausage and great black pudding). Quirky touches like the national flags on the breakfast table were a conversation starter.

Wifi and parking available.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kitty_karate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The room was quite adequate for us for our one night stay before we started the West Highland Way. The mints and boiled peanuts were a nice touch. We were able to leave our luggage there quite early in the day which was a real help to us. Breakfast was good.

A tip - it is much easier to walk up the driveway with luggage rather than going up all the steps.

The Milngavie town centre (we walked there) had all the things we needed and is a shortish walk from the B&B - we got food and supplies from M&S and there are cash machines there. For those doing the WHW, most of the places we stayed at on the walk required cash rather than credit cards..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Morag was very welcoming and was very knowledgable about parking, eating out etc... the room was spacious, clean, but basic. However there were nice little touches which show a level of care. Breakfast was good, with lots of information about our upcoming trip. Thank you Morag!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sazarina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed one night and were really happy with our stay. The rooms are basic, but very comfortable and the B&B is very quiet. Very near to the train station and about .75 k from the start of the WHW. The internet was very good and the breakfast was really good.

It was not raining so I did not check to see if there were good drying facilities, but there are decent heaters and cupboards.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingsteenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

My husband and I stayed at this B&B at the beginning of our West Highland Way Hike. The location was perfect for that purpose. The B&B is located close to the train station and close to the beginning of the West Highland Way.

Our room was very well appointed and very clean. It was also nice and spacious. Our hosts were lovely and welcoming. We slept very well, and breakfast was very good.

One thing: Our rooms were very clean and smelled very fresh, but I think there may be a smoker in the house because the downstairs smelled a bit like smoke - just be aware in case that would bother you. I generally hate that smell, but it wasn't so bad that it ruined my meal or my stay - just an FYI (and maybe it was a guest that was smoking in the area, I'm not sure...)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews