We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay in a deluxe room”
Review of Dhevaraj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dhevaraj Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Nan
Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One night stay in a deluxe room”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed in a deluxe room at this hotel for one night, walk in rate of 900 Thai Baht (700 for standard room) including breakfast for two. The hotel managed by locals and it may not meet all western standards. The room was clean and the bathroom was very clean. The room was a little bit small but the bathroom was spacious. Comfortable beds.No hairdryer. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average. I didn't use the swimming pool. The hotel has a lot of space for parking. The hotel is in the center of the city, very close to the market and within walking distance from tourist places.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 512, which doesn't have a very good view of the city. I'm not sure if rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Banlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
19
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Maybe we were just unlucky with the room this time, but I'm sure this hotel was much nicer when we stayed here four years ago, or maybe it has deteriorated since then, but it all seemed a bit tired and over priced. I'm sure last time we didn't pay extra for an extra bed for our daughter, but we did this time and that pushed the price up a bit. The staff are nice though and the room was clean with comfortable beds. We didn't use the TV or minibar, but everything was fairly standard for this type of hotel. The breakfast was good with good coffee (always important!), and add to that the location which is right in the middle of the town, and I'd say this was a fairly good, basic mid-price hotel.

Room Tip: If possible pick a room as far away from the conference room as possible as they do sometimes have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Good basic hotel in a good location. Friendly helpfull staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangsomset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and also the service has been good. With Thai hotels the finish can be a bit rough, but the location is serviceable.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner and had dishes of larb, morning glory and somtam, with rice. A very good meal with generous proportions, and a couple of additional chilis thrown in (great!!).
On top of that we used the service of the foot massage at the health centre, good value and good service, very relaxing.
We were only there for one night, but it provided what was required and rested us for further travels.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rod_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Dhevaraj Hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were definitely small but they were modern looking and nicely done up with good lighting and furniture. Beds/mattresses were very good, not too hard or too soft and 2 pillows each were provided. Mini-bar available in the room plus the usual 2 free bottles of water provided and even the charge for the other water was only 20 baht which is not too bad for a city hotel. No tea/coffee making facilities, mini safe or hair dryer in the room. Also only one available power point in the room which is a minus point. Furniture was modern and enough storage space was provided. Air-con was excellent with good controls. Flat screen Cable TV was available including BBC World News though few other English channels except the Asian Food Channel and some sports and a few others.
Bathroom was smallish but one didn't feel too cramped, and also looked fairly modern. Few free toiletries though. Shower with a small bath but a good shower with excellent water pressure
Although we were on the top, 5th, floor, there wasn't much of a view, at least on our side as the buildings nearby were of a similar height. Our room, 517, though had an excellent view of the main car park so we were able to periodically check up on the car!
There are some limited car parking spaces available at the front of the hotel but they fill up quickly. However, go down the lane to the north side of the hotel and there are plenty of parking spaces available at the back & side of the hotel.
Breakfast was buffet style in the big Coffee Shop, better in fact on our second morning, a Saturday, than our previous morning. However, good choice on both days but mainly Thai choices (as there are very few Western visitors in Nan), apart from the ubiquitous fried eggs, ham, toast & jam etc. But the Thai choices are quite adequate and although not the tastiest, are perfectly eatable on the whole. Coffee is not that good though. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel so can't comment on their 'normal' food though one of us who wasn't feeling too well did try room service on one occasion and said the Thai food was fine. Good room service menu choice.
The rest of the hotel is pleasantly decorated, in a modern fashion, with one large atrium going right up to the roof, which has access corridors to many of the rooms, plus another smaller atrium, where most of the rest of the rooms are located. Many (most?) of the corridors have two chairs and a small table outside each of the bedrooms where guests can sit and share a snack with friends or chat to other guests. A very nice feature.
Internet WiFi in the room was provided for 30 baht for 2 hours, get the password from Reception. I meant to try it but didn't have time, so can't comment on the speed or coverage. There were 2 PCs near Reception which I presume was for guests who didn't bring their own laptop. There were 2 lifts by Reception and another lift near the exit/entrance to the rear car park and we rarely had long to wait for a lift.
We found the hotel staff to be generally friendly, maybe a little reserved sometimes but we suspect they are not very used to many Western guests. Their English was limited but one could get by.
As well as Function Rooms, they have a Karaoke Bar, which I didn't try, but also a Massage Parlour which I did try. As well as the usual Thai Massage etc they had a 2 hour aromatherapy massage for only 600 baht which is pretty good for a hotel massage. The cubicles were clean with plastic covered mattresses, not the somewhat dingy mattresses that one sometimes finds elsewhere.
The hotel's location is excellent right on one of the main streets of Nan City. It is right opposite the main market in Nan. That is mainly a food market, both fresh and also ready to go, plus some clothes stalls and a large DIY section. In the evenings there are also a number of additional stalls set up on the pavement in the area selling more clothes and similar. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of many sights - turn right out of the hotel and right again at the main traffic lights onto Thanon Suniyapong which is where you will find the Nan Museum and 3 of the best temples in Nan City – Wat Phumin, Wat Mingmeun and further up, Wat Panton - and many others. In the other direction, a couple of hundred metres beyond the Market is the Nan River with its Promenade area and a number of pleasant riverside restaurants.
The Dhevaraj wasn't 4 or 5 star luxury but for a 3 star hotel we thought it was excellent and would stay here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: A room on the top, 5th floor, is likely to be quieter as a number of groups use the hotel. Also room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Saen, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is probably the biggest in Nan. It's been there a long time and it shows. Clean enough, but forgetable. There are better choices I'm sure

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

With 150 rooms, the 1st room we were shown was too complicated to find again. We took the 2nd room we were shown because of fatigue at end of long day. It was pretty nasty (& I'm no hotel snob.) The carpeting was dirty, smelly & frayed including in the elevators & rooms. The swimming pool was disgustng including broken, filthy furniture & rusting metal deck. Are they kidding??? Breakfast was nearly inedible, while 8-10 servers strood in the center of the room watching a loud TV on the wall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianculinaryadventr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nan hotels
0.0 mi away
Wiang Phumin Hotel
Wiang Phumin Hotel
#8 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nan Boutique Hotel
Nan Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nan Noble House Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sukkasem
Sukkasem
#5 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sasidara Resort Nan
2.4 mi away
Baan Nan Hotel
Baan Nan Hotel
#1 of 42 in Nan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhevaraj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhevaraj Hotel

Property: Dhevaraj Hotel
Address: 466 Sumonthavaraj Road, Nan 55000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nan Province > Nan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Nan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhevaraj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dhevaraj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing