We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mexborough
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The staff in all Departments were extremely friendly and obliging and I felt very safe and comfortable during my brief stay.The bedroom was tastefully decorated with pictures on the wall and the bed was very comfortable . Both the Bathroom/bedroom had a high standard of cleanliness as did the remainder of the hotel including the dining room. Breakfast was mainly buffet style but served a wide variety of food' both hot and cold, and this was plentiful. If I was in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room overlooking the countryside, to the rear of the hotel ,as the carpark is at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    135
    53
    21
    9
See reviews for
56
123
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have been to Reeds restaurant and stayed at the hotel three times, the last time about two years ago and what a disappointment it has now become. The food used to be excellent, cooked and presented by wonderful staff.
This is no longer 'fine dining', at best a very average restaurant. We stayed a Saturday night when they promote steak night. The steak was tough and grisly. We didn't have a dessert as I was now totally put off the food and the whole dining experience left us most disappointed as to what such have been a celebratory night away.
On a positive note the hotel is kept very clean and the self service breakfast was satisfactory.
What a shame such a lovely restaurant has lost its shine and become very ordinary. We wont be returning.
Tip - if you are staying at the hotel eat at the Pastures, cheap and cheerful and you will come away full.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breakawayyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

All of the positive reviews we read are no exaggeration. The pub opposite seems to be enormous and the service was very efficient. Staff very friendly - give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindylooCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed for two nights . Lovely decor , very clean and comfortable with friendly staff . The breakfast was really nice . We had family meet us in the evenings at the lodge retaurant opposite and we were all impressed with it , great atmosphere and good food . I would definately stay here again and recomend to everyone , well done to the best western !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What a shame we were only spending one night here, this place really is a hidden gem, it may only be 3 stars, but that's probably because it is just a hotel with no add ons, but it's one of the best, if not the best Best Western I have stayed in. On the site there is a pub The Pastures, which is quite large with an area dedicated specially to families and a no children area, then across the car park and attached to the hotel the fine dining Reed's restaurant. We had a coffee in the pub part then crossed the car park and received a very friendly welcome from Pat, Although it was only noon with a short 10 minute wait Pat arranged for us to check in and we went to our standard room, very clean and modern in appearance, especially the bathroom. We had a lunchtime snack in the pub, good quality, value for money and very speedy service, there is a wide selection of light bites and a fuller menu if you want more. In the evening we ate at Reed's which was fine dining. The restaurant offers a good choic on all courses, the service is attentive but not intrusive. We had to take a walk before breakfast as we were still quite full from the night before. Breakfast is buffet and more than adequate. I think this place offers excellent value for money. The location is good, near some very pretty Yorkshire scenery and there is a nice walk along the canalside, also a country park within walking distance. Perfect place for a short break. Although I have specifically mentioned Pat, we found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed at the pastures in mexborough over christmas 2011. stayed for B/B and have to say the rooms, staff and food were excellent.
ate evening meals over the car park at the pastures lodge and the food was plentiful and well cooked with a huge variety on the menu and very reasonable prices, would suit budget pockets to splashing out a little
the hotel room was large with a magnificent shower!!
Ideal location for seeing a lot of south yorkshire, either shopping or golfing to watching the horse racing at Doncaster

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brpauli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed over Christmas weekend. Very nice hotel, well appointed and spotless rooms of a good size. Only had breakfast, which was excellent, but good reports about the food from other residents. Service from staff excellent which, given it was Xmas Eve, Xmas Day and Boxing Day, was surprising. Plently of parking and good views (you can see Conisbrough Castle from the restaurant).

Would have got 5 stars, except as is so often the case, the hotel obviously consider smokers to be a lower life form, and not worth catering for. The sign in the bedroom warning of a £100 should smokers have a sneaky cigarette out of the window (erm - most smokers respect non-smoking establishments without threats...) may have been OK if it pointed you to where you could smoke - maybe a nice shelter with a heater in the grounds? Nope, a metal bucket right outside the front door. No shelter at all and spoils the look of the hotel. A shame!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_birch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexborough
9.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel

Property: Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel
Address: Pastures Road, Mexborough S64 0JJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pastures Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Mexborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mexborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Pastures Hotel is a modern property situated in Mexborough near to the town centres of Rotherham, Doncaster and Barnsley. This privately owned hotel is the perfect setting for business or a relaxing break. The hotel is beautifully designed and exceptional value for money. Guests can relax and enjoy supreme comfort and a dedicated professional service. With free access to nearby leisure facilities including gym, swimming pool, tennis courts etc, with Pastures Lodge; family style pub / restaurant across the car park, perfect for families, as well as separate adult dining area for enjoying drinks with friends and colleagues. Discount rates available upon request for guests attending functions held at Pastures Lodge including weddings, private parties, or when of many events held such as bands, cabaret nights and comedians performing. 'Booze n Snooze' rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western PLUS Pastures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing