We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced 'rustic' resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chivaree (Shivaree) Resort
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced 'rustic' resort”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Chivaree is a small resort designed in the rustic style, consisting of a handful of wooden chalets with an outdoor bath and toilet area. It is one of the more expensive resorts along this stretch of the beach- and perhaps a bit overpriced for what it offers.
The chalets have quite basic fixtures; old-style CRT TVs with mostly local channels, a small bar fridge with a couple of bottles of water, and a kettle with instant coffee and tea. There is a nice but fairly small pool and a restaurant serving mainly Thai food. Luckily there is better and cheaper local food at the beachside restaurants walking-distance away including one right next door called DuGong.
One major hassle was that the resort was infested with mosquitoes while I was there, including in the bathroom area, at the restaurant and even a few in the room. The staff will spray the room with insecticide if you ask, but you have to live with the smell and fumes.
Overall the resort either needs to significantly improve the quality of the rooms and facilities in order to justify the prices being charged.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JD_Dcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Decide to book this resort after reading a few review from Trip advisor. Cant find any Internet rate as none of the tour agency have contract with this resort. So We book directly with the hotel for 3,200 baht/ night (106 USD) incl. breakfast. (which consider quite expensive for the suburb area hotel in Thailand) The hotel request $ to be wired transfer for room guarantee. And we did as they requested.

So we haven't been warned for so many things. First, the toilet is outdoor. It'd be good during the day time but at night there are so many lizards and bugs flying around. (My little girl refuse to shower seeing those 2 big house lizards on the bathroom door.) The toiletries are minimum and I rather use what I bring. At night, there would be some animals (possibly rats??) walking over the roof all night. (The walking noise is bearable but their squeaking noises makes us hard to sleep all night.) A couple of falling down sounds (thud) every 2 hours or so. All these makes it hard for anyone to sleep.

Secondly, the breakfast are limited in choice. We have been told this rate incl. ABF breakfast. But what we get is either egg dish (cook the way you want) or bread / toast / pancake or ham/sausage/ bacon. My little girl wants sunny side up with pancakes and the waiter refuse to take the order because it's more than 1 item. We have to insist them that we rather pay extra to get the decent (standard) breakfast with sunny side up egg, pancakes and sausage.

Thirdly, the wifi is only working in the public areas. The TV also only has Thai channels. (Even the Indian channel here, the soaking language is Thai.)  

OK, so that's the con. The pro of the hotel is the atmosphere is quite nice and the beach is clean. The restaurant food is good and reasonable price. This hotel can be better if the service is improve. For me, this hotel is worth only half the price I paid.    

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ram0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chanthaburi hotels

Samutprakarn, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I just went there with my sisters and my mom. We took around 3-4 hours to get there by car.
This was our second visit in a month since our first time there during Songkran Holiday, 15-16 Apr.


It's just a few hours from Bangkok with a very nice quiet beach and very closed to the mangroves area. The bar was good. My family loves to just sitting there sipping fruit shakes.
The resort also has not too many rooms, so you won't get disturbed while staying there.
Good for couples and families. (Little kids will enjoy playing on the beach)
And you could also rent the motercycle or bike to get around.
Staffs were very helpful:)


About the room,
The double deck room (4pax) has the bath tub , living room with TV downstairs, and 2bedroom upstairs. And one building has 2 room on right and left.

The garden view bungalow (2pax) has better decoration (in my opinion. But depends on which bungalow you get.) and doesn't have bath tub.

The boat bungalow is the only one that located right by the sea. You should try to get it.
[I didn't see how the pool view bungalow was, but the lady there told me that it will be really hot during the day-time.]

By the way, the swimming pool is pretty small. The room some times wasn't well cleaned around the hidden corner. The restaurant was okay, though you can find a lot of other choices around the area. The last recommendation, if you are there and don't like the room you got, you should ask them to check on the other rooms as even they are the same room type but their decoration are totally different in each room:)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jirada_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I've been to chivaree resort by an advise from one of my friend. I love the style of this place and the beach. I feel so relax. It's really good if you wanna stay away from the crowded beach. I'm sure soon it become one of your favorite place.
Alice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purimah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hat Chao Lao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

It isnt perhaps in the very budget end of things (prices from 800 baht p/n), but for a true retreat from the backpacker scene and the hustle of the crowded beaches elsewhere; there is a stunning beach, beautiful huts and numerous genuine thai restaurants.

The kitchen was not finished when we stayed there but the building work is all very high spec, the grounds are grassy and green, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, surrounded by almost Laoatian mountains and jungle. The bathrooms are beautiful brickwork and open to the sky, and the rooms come complete with A/C, television and cable. Oh, and there is a great swimming pool for those with issues with sand...

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OskarGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chanthaburi hotels
14.9 mi away
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
#3 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaolao Cabana Resort
Chaolao Cabana Resort
#5 of 23 in Chanthaburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
14.2 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#9 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
New Travel Lodge
New Travel Lodge
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.8 mi away
Faasai Resort & Spa
Faasai Resort & Spa
#4 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
12.4 mi away
Chanpraya Resort
Chanpraya Resort
#3 of 45 in Chanthaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chivaree (Shivaree) Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chivaree (Shivaree) Resort

Property: Chivaree (Shivaree) Resort
Address: 46/4 Moo 5 Klongkood | Hat Chao Lao, Chanthaburi, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chivaree (Shivaree) Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chivaree (Shivaree) Hotel Chanthaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing