We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Ahaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ahaus
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ahaus
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel gave us that what we expected. Every was clean and nice. A minibar in the room would be a nice thing to have.. We will certainly vivit this hotel again and will recommand it to mour friends and golfmates.




Room Tip: Perhaps it would be nice to have a minibar in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Once a year I go play a weekend of golf with Dutch friends; this time just accross the Dutch border in Ahaus, Germany. Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by a Dutch speaking receptionist (though probably not very usefull for other foreigners). Very friendely and efficient.
The "comfort single room" was ultra spacious, with a huge couch and double bed. View of the parking lot, instead of the beautiful golfcourse, but that couldn't bother me. The bathroom was very sterrile. Clean, but all white tiles and harsh lighting. Like being in hospital!
The terrace, of the golf clubhouse, which is more or less intergrated with the hotel, though signs warn non-golfers not to enter, was very nice. Efficient staff supplied us German beer, Dutch bitterballen en cheap, but very nice, white wine, while we could enjoy great vieuws of the golfcourse. Dinner was unexprected great! Two set menu's to choose, or mix, from. Good quality food and a nice wine list.
The bar was rather small, but cozy and again with very friendly staff.
Next day we played a great round of golf. A 27-holes park course, with nice water hazards.
And in the evening back to the same restaurant, as like I said in the title, you're in the middle of nowhere, so no where else to go :-) But the menus had changed and were equally delicious again.
A very nice weekend destination for golfers!

Room Tip: Try to get golfcourse view! But the parking side is also very green ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

A pleasant surprise, magnificient view over the golf-links, spacious rooms, helpfull and interested staff, good meals and luxury breakfast. Limited menu choice for dinner, but we had a special arrangement so this might be the cause.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in the same building as the golfclub. Great golfcourse, good food, very spacious and comfortable rooms and above all genuine good German service and quality. One can also go there for making nice walks, the whole area is stunning. Totally quiet.

Room Tip: Not rated swimming pool and room service, did not use this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here 3 nights for a golfing break. Had a very nice spacious room which was elegantly decorated. Hotel amenities very good to excellent except for the wifi connection which is poor on the top floor.
Breakfast was fine and complete. Only thing that can be improved is the seperate room where the buffet is located, bit of a walk from restaurant to that room.
Dinner excellent every evening, lots of laughs with some of the staff, chef cooks great.
Staff is helpful, no trouble seemed to be too much for them.
All in all we strongly recommend this hotel especially for those who plan a golfing break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The room was brilliant! The pre-heated tiles in the bathroom, the steamjet bath, the view... Breakfast could be better, the placing of the buffet was poorly chosen. We were there for Sylvester and actually... it was dull! Dinner was okay, but the entourage not so much. Try some live music next time, more fireworks, bit of dancing... and at least a count off 'till 12 'o clock! The free openinghours of the sauna are also a bit poor and besides cycling, walking and golfing there's not much to do in the surroundings of the hotel. The staff was friendly, but communication could be better... it wasn't clear if check out on New Years morning was later than usual etc.
So, despite the great room and facilities I would not recommend it if you are not into Golfing

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Hotel and golf were good. When checking out Ahaus charged us with an extra 40€'s. This was not on any receipt nor on the bill. Paid the amount and then checked again and both me and a friend had been charged and extra 40€'s. Asked way and hotel said we had and upgraded room. True but this was paid to the travel agent. Thus Ahaus was trying to pocket the extra 40€'s. Chech you bill when staying at this hotel. Very bad business practise.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilAmsterdam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahaus hotels
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Hof zum Ahaus
#3 of 6 in Ahaus
4 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Franke
#1 of 6 in Ahaus
1 reviews
0 mi away
Ahauser Land & Golfhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wulf's Restaurant - Bistro - Hotellerie
4.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Ahaus
Schlosshotel Ahaus
#1 of 2 in Ahaus
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bredeck Bakker
Bredeck Bakker
#2 of 2 in Ahaus
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ahaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ahaus

Address: Schmaeinghook 36, 48683 Ahaus, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - Ahaus)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Ahaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ahaus
Price Range: £95 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing