We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cholmondeley Arms
Ranked #1 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Purley
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were I the area for a wedding and stayed here they have a selection of over 170 gins lovely menu with specials local farmers were bringing in fresh pheasant to be hung for 7 days prior to cooking stayed in the headmasters annex lovely Victorian building the pub wonderful inside great landlord great food great atmosphere wish it was in the South

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nigelbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    51
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
113
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Second stay this month and again a good stay, love the headmasters annexe, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable.
The food is outstanding and such a wide choice, lovely!
Breakfast next morning was very good, nice choice and quality local produce. Staff very helpful and friendly.
I will return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed overnight at 'The Chum' after a long drive to drop our son off at Liverpool University. It proved to be a great choice. We had visited (for lunch) previously - but maybe 12 years previously. The place we stayed at this year was unrecognisable from the rather down-at-heels converted school house we remembered from our first experience. There was nothing about our stay that could not be termed a highlight: The room was beautiful and well-equipped; the food was inventive and expertly-cooked; the bar was a genuine highlight and the focus on gins proved a quirky and interesting sideline; the welcome was effusive and genuinely friendly...I could go on. I recommend The Cholmondeley Arms most highly and am already looking forward to another visit. What a shame that our son is only on a three-year course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when we attended a wedding at a Country House further down the road.
We were allocated room 5. What a room. There was a double bed crammed into a single room. The room was damp and cobwebs were present in the ensuite from when we arrived until we left. The teapot wasn't emptied, even after the room was cleaned. The sink had a huge crack in it. The shower, when used leaked all over the floor. We were told that there was fresh milk in the fridge by the outside door if we needed it for our beverages. It was UHT milk!
Even as guests, we were not guaranteed a table for dinner, but were told we would probably be pushed up the queue. Fortunately there wasn't a queue, and this was Friday evening. Maybe they should take bookings rather than have a first come first served policy.
Some people may find this rustic charm erm... charming, we didn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wychwood100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audlem, Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I called in at this restaurant on our way home from a long walk. We fancied a cup of tea. When we got to the bar, one assistant was on the phone and took no notice of us, and then another assistant came and joined her and they chatted with each other and again took no notice of the fact that there were customers waiting. After about 5 minutes, we decided to walk out. We were disgusted with the service
(or non-service!) we received.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny Audlem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights for the Carfest North. Lovely venue, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and excellent food. Best steak and kidney pie ever. We would recommend it and will return.
Thanks to Steve, Monika and the team.

Room Tip: Mr Birds room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Been going here for years as my folks lived in Milton Green. We now live in Stone and now go there for special occasions. Today we went for my dad's birthday. Food was FABULOUS! There were 5 of us we had the sharing starter which the menu said was for 2 but it was plenty. We all had roasts, 3 beef and 2 lamb, all delicious. 4 had Snugbury ice cream for desert and they very kindly brought in a cake which we had taken for dad's birthday. What I love about this place is that it is top drawer and the staff they employ reflect this. Wish we loved closer cause we would be there all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilarybong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
4.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Willington Lodge
Willington Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whitchurch
274 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#10 of 79 in Chester
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cholmondeley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cholmondeley Arms

Property: The Cholmondeley Arms
Address: Wrenbury Road, Malpas SY14 8HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cholmondeley Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cholmondeley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cholmondeley Arms Hotel Malpas
The Cholmondeley Arms Malpas, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing