We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gin and tea cosies!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cholmondeley Arms
Ranked #1 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

They serve (quite brilliantly!) over a hundred different gins in this delightful and unusual inn housed in an old schoolhouse. They also make sure that your cup of tea remains perfectly hot as all teapots wear knitted tea cosies!The lively bar/restaurant has a slightly bohemian look with its huge old fashioned radiators, faded leather banquettes, cushions and a mixture of wooden tables in the former school rooms open up to the rafters. A large stag's head presides over it all! There is also outdoor seating, and some tables in a covered terrace thoughtfully providing seating for the oft neglected smoking community.Meals feature seasonal produce, are very well cooked and copious in size as well as being very fairly priced. Mains from £12 upwards and good sharing plates at £13.00. Needless to say this inn is extremely popular with the local population. The Full English breakfast looked wonderful but we were tempted by the bacon butties instead.
The bedrooms are located in the next door "Headmaster's House" and are quiet and charmingly furnished in a homely style with thick curtains and comfortable beds. There was an excellent shower in our room with both hand held wand and overhead shower head, A nice assortment of bathroom goodies, homemade cookies on the hospitality tray and even a pair of knitted covered hot water bottles added to the feeling of the care taken by this inn in welcoming its guests. I certainly look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Double rooms on the ground floor have baths as well as showers but all are well furnished. Be warn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ozySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We came here for food rather than accomodation - lovely set up in a former school, with nice touches like old fashioned sports kit scattered around for decoration.

The food wasn't cheap but definitely worth the money. Generous main course portions mean you can easily just split one side between two and still have more than enough. We tried the rabbit pate, which was excellent, and the pork belly on a bed of lentils - also delicious.

Staff very friendly and our food arrived within twenty minutes despite us being in a very large group. Also noticed they do a gin tasting evening which looked fun!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is actually our local, but I thought I'd write because when we went this week it was excellent.

We've never had BAD service or food here, but the food/service on some previous visits hadn't matched the lovely environment, and we'd nearly reduced it to a fabulous drinking pub.

However, things seem to have improved. Bar staff were funny, indulgent and engaging; food was really interesting, beautifully presented and tasty; and the beer selection and knowledge was faultless.

It was (much) quieter than normal on the night we went, so I can't vouch for whether the high quality of food & service wilts under pressure, but both were excellent this week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 40wattbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This would have been an overwhelmingly good review, except for several issues.
Firstly, we loved both the pub and the rooms at the Headmasters House. They were very attractive, clean and comfortable.
The food was excellent, especially the delicious breakfast.
The position makes it an good base for visiting the beautiful surrounding countryside.
But - when one is paying £90 a night, the refreshments tray in the room should have herbal tea bags and biscuits, I feel.
The service was, I'm afraid, patchy. The place is obviously busy, but we didn't feel especially welcome, or well waited on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

the food was good however the staff seemed to take efficiency to new levels. It was difficult to get their attention and their communication was almost curt. it is extremely rare that I do not leave a good tip however I found myself unable to. Watched the way staff interacted with other customers and it was similar.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank IanJonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoy going to the Cholmondeley Arms for drink or two, as it is a good meeting place, but regret our decision to go there for dinner.

Dinner must be ordered at the bar, no one will come and take your order.
No manager to be seen.
Food certainly not worth the money charged (had better elsewhere at half the price!) .

The Cholmondeley Arms has a wonderfully warm and friendly atmosphere....but I would stick to the Gin, and forget eating there .

Recommendations: Get a better Chef and bring back the Management!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My Husband & I stated here in March. The room was clean, very comfy and full of character. The food in the pub is just fantastic too. Breakfast was yummy. We will be back with friends to share this place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
6.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton House Farm
Hampton House Farm
#2 of 7 in Malpas
85 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Hough B&B
The Hough B&B
#5 of 7 in Malpas
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mulsford Cottage B & B
2.8 mi away
Millmoor Farm Holidays
Millmoor Farm Holidays
#4 of 4 in Malpas
6 reviews
3.3 mi away
Millmoor Farm
Millmoor Farm
#2 of 4 in Malpas
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cholmondeley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cholmondeley Arms

Address: Wrenbury Road, Malpas SY14 8HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cholmondeley Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cholmondeley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cholmondeley Arms Hotel Malpas
The Cholmondeley Arms Malpas, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing