We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulsford Cottage B & B
Ranked #3 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

If anyone takes the trouble to read the Tripadvisor reviews and the Mulsford Cottage website, they will know exactly what awaits should they choose to stay here. Everything was as described and as a result, just what we were looking for. Mulsford Cottage is an ideal base to visit many beautiful and fascinating local attractions such as Chirk Castle, Erdigg House, Chester, Shrewsbury and further to North Wales. However, should you wish to stay put, potter about, read, eat and drink; you would be equally well served. Kate is a natural B&B host and is ably supported by Molly the dog, charm personified.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

I am so glad these visitors managed to visit so many of our local attractions, it was a pleasure pointing them in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

I highly recommend this fantastic B&B to everyone. Kate and Molly made us feel so welcome and Kate went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was relaxing and comfortable.
We arrived to a delicious home cooked meal, prepared by Kate (arranged in advance) and enjoyed a glass of wine in the wonderful gardens. Kate's dog Molly is gorgeous and so friendly but she's not intrusive if you're not a "doggie person".
The rooms are delightful with very cosy beds and good attention to detail (bottled water in room etc). Kate lit the fire in the living room and the atmosphere in the cottage is calm and peaceful. I'd only finished work a few hours before but felt less stressed upon arrival at Mulsford Cottage. This is due to Kate's warm personality as well as a wonderful home.
There was a great choice for breakfast, from healthy options to a yummy English breakfast. My sister is a vegetarian and Kate made sure that she catered for her to a high standard.
During our stay we saw that Mulsford Cottage is also ideal for couples and families. Everyone seemed delighted with their stay and we were reluctant to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElsieandDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

The Chris Evans Carfest at Cholmondely Castle was a huge success and we were very lucky being able to provide accommodation for these guests, I am so glad they enjoyed the weekend. We loved having them and hope to see them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Mulsford Cottage B&B near Malpas in Cheshire is a gem of a place.
The owner - Kate is very welcoming and we were made to feel at home at once - tea and cake on arrival in the lovely sitting/dining room which is for the exclusive use of guests.

We had pre-arranged dinner, cooked by Kate who is a professional cook, and were not disappointed - our three course meal, with wine was excellent and afterwards we were able to rlax in front of the log fire with our coffee.

Our twin room was really lovely - having three windows overlooking the countryside and garden, and very comfortable.
The shower room, beside the bedroom, was efficient but very small. The bathroom that serves the remaining double guest room by comparison is huge!

Kate is extremely helpful at giving advice on places to visit and even offerred to look after our dog while we visited the Chester for the day.

An excellent B&B and one we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the double bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

It was a pleasure looking after these guests and a good excuse to light the fire even though it is June and we should have been sitting in the garden! And great for Molly to have Eric the poodle cross for company for the afternoon.

I always encourage guests to make use of the bathroom adjoining the shower room if there are no other guests staying, hoping this will make up for the Lilliputian shower room. I hope the quests were not inconvenienced by the size, it is small but hopefully has all amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

It's not easy to find somewhere to stay with a young, energetic dog without being on tenterhooks but Kate and Molly the staffie offered us wonderful accommodation that certainly ticked our boxes.

The cottage is relaxing and comfortable with guests own cosy sitting room with log fire. We had the twin room - ample space. The en suite shower room is a tad on the small side , but the shower is powerful and the water hot. In fact it's all rather quaint!

Kate cooked an evening meal for us which was delicious and much better value than going to the pub. The breakfast was the best we've had for ages.

Our dog was in her element with free run of the pretty gardens.
Thanks Kate for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

We all enjoyed the walk through the fields and round the wood with Gem, the beautiful visiting Springer spaniel and hope they will be able to come again. I am sorry the shower room is small so I always offer the adjacent bath room as well if there is no one else staying. Hope this helps.Thank you so much for the lovely review! Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Perfect B & B comfortable, welcoming and delicous food. If you want somewhere to relax this is the place for you away from the usual bustle and Kate will look after you. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Lovely reviews like this make all the hard work worthwhile - thank you Daisy, please come again! Best wishes from us all. Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you want peace and quiet in a very rural location, this is for you. The owner is very friendly and helpful, but does not monopolize your time. Guests have half the cottage entirely to themselves - a lounge/dining area (with satellite TV, and an open fire in winter), and two bedrooms upstairs (own staircase). I had the evening meal, which was excellent and beautifully cooked. My only (very slight) complaint would be that the twin room is not really en suite - the shower-room/WC (which is very small) is separate, at the top of the landing, so if both rooms are occupied total privacy might be compromised. However, the good news is that if the other room is not occupied (as was the case with my stay), then you also have use of its very large luxury bathroom. If the above is not an issue for you, then I an heartily recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The double room has its own bathroom. The twin room has a separate (and very small) shower room/WC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We were delighted by this excellent review and are addressing the privacy issue mentioned. Guests will use separate staircases so privacy is not compromised: twin and shower room off one landing and double room and bathrrom off another. We are very grateful to out guest for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed the night before a stressful meeting and could not have asked for more. The cottage is in a beautiful location with views of fields and sheep all around. The open fire was already lit and a welcome gin and tonic settled us into a relaxing evening. Our room was homely and had all the amenities we would need. We spent an extremely relaxed evening by the fire and slept really well.

The evening meal and breakfast were excellent and added to the bonus of us not having to leave the cottage.

Having access to both bathrooms was also an unexpected bonus as the advertised shower room might have proved a little small for us. This is only a very minor negative comment on what was a really good experience.

Kate and her family (including Molly the dog) were friendly without being obtrusive. We will be back when visiting the area again and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting the area. Kate's directions to Chester were excellent!

Room Tip: We had the twin room because the double was not available and this was excellent. All rooms would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalpasKate, Owner at Mulsford Cottage B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

We really enjoy looking after such appreciative guests and were pleased to be able to offer both shower room and bath room on this occasion. We have upgraded the shower room in an attempt to make up for its compact size and we hope guests now find it more convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
5.7 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,029 reviews
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.4 mi away
Willington Lodge
Willington Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whitchurch
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Worthenbury Manor B&B
Worthenbury Manor B&B
#1 of 14 in Wrexham
57 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Hough B&B
The Hough B&B
#5 of 7 in Malpas
22 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton House Farm
Hampton House Farm
#2 of 7 in Malpas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulsford Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulsford Cottage B & B

Address: Mulsford Cottage Mulsford, Malpas SY14 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Price Range: £88 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulsford Cottage B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive bed and breakfast in beautiful rural location only five miles from the Wrexham Industrial Estate. Airports of Liverpool, Manchester and Birmingham all approx one hour by road. We welcome visitors to historic Chester, Shrewsbury and the market towns of Wrexham and Whitchurch. Perfect for cyclists, walkers and race-goers to Bangor on Dee (3 miles). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Mulsford Cottage B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulsford Cottage B & B Malpas, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing