We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malpas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bickerton Poacher
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Delightful stay.
Was in the area at the pony club championships and stayed here.
Rooms very comfortable , friendly staff.
Very reasonably priced .
The staff were great in accommodating 30 of us for their Saturday carvery. Wonderful and great value.
Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanarkpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had an excellent meal here last night we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Excellent food very friendly and helpful staff. Will most certainly be back. Prices good too. I have been to the Bickerton Poacher on many occasions both as a group and with family and always been very satisfied with everything. The skittle alley is always a yearly visit with a group of ladies from my local WI and we have never been disappointed. Looking forward to my next visit and I will certainly be recommending to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Nice little campsite, not too big and in a good location. Nice walks nearby. Pretty much had the site to ourselves, the only main bug bear is the rubbish/waste disposal. Far too close to the campsite and only three industrial sized extremely smelly bins!! I can imagine this being a fly haven at times. The smell was horrendous and not much better once the bins were emptied. Clean toilets but very small ladies - cracked head on loo roll holder and door?!?!? One small shower but 1 decent disabled toilet. Overall good site , sort the rubbish problem and add more toilets and would be great :)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alittled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have been a few times now, and after having another lovely sunday roast and deciding to camp out in the campsite next to the pub. We sat there looking up at the stars just raving about this place - its starting to become a regular place to visit every month!!

Sand stone trail is on its door setp - so many good things to experince, you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stopped here during May day bank holiday for 3 nights.
Campsite
We were given pitch 1 originally but after explaining that my wife had just come out of hospital and my brother inlaw and his wife were arriving on Saturday we was given the pitch 29 next to them which was great.
Male Toilet and Shower.
There is only one campsite toilet and shower with other toilets available in the pub. 1st use of the shower had a problem with the water heater had tripped out. It was soon remedied when the manager arrived. Water varied from hot to very cold probably because of usage elsewhere. The "campsite toilets"are shared with the general public and are not the best as the toilet has no light.
Pub and food
Used the pub on the Saturday night, although busy because of the band which was excellent the food was also very good.
General
The water point could be better as the hose pipe provided is not hygenic especially when left trsing on thr ground. This not a big problem but with pieces of what looked like asbestos on the floor in the same area. James was informed as he past but did nothing about it. No grey waste emptying point also which meant draining on the pitch itself.
Overall we would visit again but would hope that some development on the toilet facilities is intended for the future as it is needed

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A family run business with 4 great rooms, clean stylish and spacious. Fantastic food and a good selection of real ales. Staff are really welcoming, efficient and friendly. out in the countryside but close to Wrexham, Crewe and Chester, ideal for business and pleasure. Great patio outdoor area in the summer with chidren's play area. Ideal for families, couples or singles like me.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 with the huge bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonwang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stopped at the Bickerton Poacher today with my elderly father who has trouble walking. We eventually got into the pub with some difficulty via the 6 or so steps at the front, however coming out we discovered the car park on the other side of the pub which we thought would be better as there were only three steps this time but, alas, there wasn't a handrail. The food was "nice" , although when I asked if there were sandwiches on the menu I was told they usually did them but not on bank holidays which I found rather strange as they managed to put on a carvery and a menu of main meals. The staff were lovely, extremely pleasant and helpful. However when paying for the meal there was a delay as some customers were trying to pay by debit card which took ages due to there being some problem with the hub, when I paid for my meal with cash I had to wait for the change to be brought from another till.......... I won't be visiting again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickerton_Poacher, Manager at The Bickerton Poacher, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'd like to make it clear despite the title of your review that we do have disabled access. From our allocated disabled parking bays there is a ramp way which leads to the entrance of the pub. We also have disabled toilet facilities. We will always arrange a table with easier access for those that require it and this can be prearranged by booking in advance. We may not offer the sandwich menu on bank holidays but as you quite rightly mentioned there is a carvery as well as our full menu which includes smaller meals and snacks for those looking for a lighter lunch. Apologies if there was a technical problem causing a delay whilst paying your bill but understand that there is no cash kept in the till by the main doorway for good reason. This till is simply there to process orders and take card payments. We would have sorted your bill at your table as we normally do. Thanks again for your review and hope you do consider us for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
8.7 mi away
Holt Lodge Hotel
Holt Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#10 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peckforton Castle
Peckforton Castle
#1 of 3 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bickerton Poacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickerton Poacher

Property: The Bickerton Poacher
Address: Wrexham Rd | Bulkeley, Malpas SY14 8BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Malpas
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Bickerton Poacher Malpas, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing