We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic in every way...”
other travellers have booked this property
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013 Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013
Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic weekends. Private dining, champagne on ice ..
Real fire, beautiful views, a secret celeb retreat! Cheshire's best kept secret!
Put your feet up by the fire and admire the views
View from the kingize mezzanine looking onto Garden Room sitting area with feather sofas
A collection of DVD's to enjoy infront of the fire whilst relaxing into the squashy feather sof
Music system with ipod docking station
Stunning interior decor, view from your private dining area through to the open plan sitting room
Enjoy a romantic candlelit meal for two cooked by your host, best selling cookery book author.
'The Nest' Boutique Barn also avalable to book from just £129 per night!
Romantic Kingsize mezzanine bed underneath two huge skylights perfect for star gazing
White Company bedding, goose feather mattress toppers and pillows, Robes, towels and tolieries
STUNNING HUGE COPPER BATH FOR TWO WITH SKYLIGHT ABOVE FOR VIEW OF THE STARS
Interior designed fired earth bathroom, copper bath, granite hand carved sink, walk in lge shower
A smaller boutique barn also available to book now from £129 per night! The Nest!
The Old parlour and The Nest Barns also available from just £129! See our site
The Garden Room Retreat at Heald Country House - The perfect location, walking distance to great pub
The Garden Room Retreat (on the right) at Heald Country House - Beautiful walks from your doorstep
The view from your private garden looking back into the Garden Room. Mezzanine bedroom above.
A continental breakfast of local, delicious, fresh foods can be ordered for just £12 p/p/p/n
Enjoy a bit of stargazing in your private garden area whilst relaxing by the fire pit.
Complimentary toiletries, fluffy robes and towels, White Company bedding,tea and coffee all included
A review from founder of internationally renowed 'Chic Retreats' - high praise indeed!
4 individual unique boutique retreats - all 5*
stunning 'Homefires' national trust countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Malpas, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily D
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic in every way...”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2015

WOW, fantastic! Just got back from a 4 day getaway in "The Nest", so cosy and kept spotlessly clean, the décor is lovely and felt like home away from home. The location is idyllic, peaceful and romantic with great pubs nearby - certainly recommend The Cholmondeley Arms G&T's (they go down a treat) and the Sunday Roast was the best I've ever had! Already planning our next visit! Thank you for such a relaxing and enjoyable stay. 10/10 all around!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
You are so welcome! I am sorry I didn't get to see you much but it sounds like you managed to fit some great things into your stay. We have just completed our final retreat, The Cowshed, this week complete with real fire, mezzanine bedroom, roll top bath infront of the fire, and outdoor hot tub style bath under a glass roof so you can lie back and look at the stars! Hopefully we can entice you back again soon to maybe try this out next time? Very best wishes, Rachael x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paige B
1 review
“Peaceful romantic retreat.”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself, my partner and our nine month old stayed here in the garden room and it was amazing. Such a peaceful and relaxing retreat our first little break since our daughter was born. We loved the copper roll top bath and the stargazing experience that Rachael herself prepared ready for us when we returned from our day out. Brilliant surroundings with plenty to see and do and great places to eat and also a very welcoming host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Hello Paige,

It was an absolute pleasure and an honour to host you and your lovely family in The Garden Room Barn and I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you too for letting us know about the amazing Sunday lunches at the Sandstone pub nearby. They sound fantastic so planning a trip there soon ourselves! Hope to welcome you back here again in September. Very best wishes, Rachael xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mags-BS
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful getaway”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Myself and 2 friends had a 2 night 'Getaway'. I could not fault this gorgeous place, put together with so much care and attention to detail , and thank you Rachel, we received a text on the way back from our day out asking if we would like the fire lit. Lovely warm friendly lady.
Oh and the copper bath was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Dear Margaret,

I am so sorry I didn't get to say goodbye to you all but it was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for your kind words. Now that I know how hard you all work on a day to day basis at helping others to relax, unwind and take time out I feel extremely honoured that you chose The Garden Room Barn as a the venue you wanted to visit to recharge yourselves. Our final retreat, 'The Hideout' will be finished in June and I have designed it specifically for those who want to totally unwind and 'hideout' from the world for a while. It has an indoor and an outdoor bath plus indoor and outdoor spaces for eating, relaxing and reading and a large fire. It also has two separate kingsize bedrooms with 4 inch memory foam toppers, top of the range mattresses and goose feather bedding in White Company Linens so if you fancy a return trip it may just suit perfectly! I hope so as it would be lovely to meet you all again. Very best wishes, Rachael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Robi...
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Garden Room is fully equipped to pamper the body and soul. The location is brilliant having total solitude on your doorstep but near enough to Nantwich and Chester to cater for those who wanted a bit more. It suited our requirements admirably with lots of local walks to enjoy and with numerous Pubs at which we could eat. Fully recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is expensive BUT we thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Liked least: A better arrangement for full self catering would have been beneficial to us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay in The Garden Room. As you know, we have a brand new barn opening very soon called 'The Hideout' which will have all the usual trademarks such as a mezzanine bedroom, log burner and private garden plus a large bath, fully equipped kitchen and sink into sofas with large TV and surround sound entertainment system and I very much hope I can persuade you back again soon to test it out! xxxxxxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly Formed”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This property is 5 star and every attention to detail has been covered. The ambiance upon arrival was perfect. It was a cold evening yet the room was warm and inviting. This is a small space but it has been put to good use and very well designed.
We have stayed in Accomodation all over the world. The Nest is a little piece of home comfort in the heart of Chesire and made an ideal base for our wedding celebrations at Wrenbury Hall.
All in all a perfect little bolt hole, but best of all is the silence.

Loved the place.
Well done Racheal a welcoming host.

We will return soon.

Tony & Sally

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Designed
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Now that I know the standard of places you have stayed in all around the world we feel very honoured indeed to have received such a lovely review from you. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. It was The Nest that you stayed in. The Garden Room Barn is much bigger but both are just as lovely in their own way so hopefully we can persuade you to come back again soon to try that one too?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtrotter2...
flintshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend ”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We could not be more glad we choose here to spend our valentines weekend and two year anniversary. We stayed in the Garden Room, the decor was amazing, with so much attention to detail. This barn also has an amazing copper bath which we enjoyed an romantic soak in. The bed is so comfortable and we both slept so well. The log fire was great fun to keep going and it made the whole room so warm and cosy. Rachael is an amazing hostess and checked we had everything we needed. This is such a lovely area to stay in with cosy pubs and lovely walks. I hope we will be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxation at it's finest”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What an amazing stay. Rachael kept in contact before hand and throughout the weekend, was very helpful to recommend things to do, directions were very clear and we received a very friendly welcome. The garden room was absolutely stunning and the attention to detail was amazing, made the room feel so homely, and the bath was definitely the highlight, could have spent all weekend soaking in there! All in all and absolutely lovely stay, can't wait to coe back in the summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roll top bath
Liked least: The fact we couldn't live there forever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review James. We very much appreciate it. As you may know, we are just in the process of creating another very special little retreat that will be ready in April complete with indoor and outdoor bath (!) so do follow us on our facebook page or sign up to our newsletter for info about it's opening should you plan to return in the summer. Best wishes and thank you again for your booking, Rachael x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing