We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Mini Break Destination”
other travellers have booked this property
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013 Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
A 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreat - Finalist in Guest Accommodationof The Year 2017
Stunning 5 Star Unique Boutique Retreats. Voted best place to stay in Cheshire 2013
Award winning romantic boutique suite with mezzanine bedroom,real fire and huge roll top copper bath
Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic weekends. Private dining, champagne on ice ..
Real fire, beautiful views, a secret celeb retreat! Cheshire's best kept secret!
Put your feet up by the fire and admire the views
View from the kingize mezzanine looking onto Garden Room sitting area with feather sofas
A collection of DVD's to enjoy infront of the fire whilst relaxing into the squashy feather sof
Music system with ipod docking station
Stunning interior decor, view from your private dining area through to the open plan sitting room
Enjoy a romantic candlelit meal for two cooked by your host, best selling cookery book author.
'The Nest' Boutique Barn also avalable to book from just £129 per night!
Romantic Kingsize mezzanine bed underneath two huge skylights perfect for star gazing
White Company bedding, goose feather mattress toppers and pillows, Robes, towels and tolieries
STUNNING HUGE COPPER BATH FOR TWO WITH SKYLIGHT ABOVE FOR VIEW OF THE STARS
Interior designed fired earth bathroom, copper bath, granite hand carved sink, walk in lge shower
A smaller boutique barn also available to book now from £129 per night! The Nest!
The Old parlour and The Nest Barns also available from just £129! See our site
The Garden Room Retreat at Heald Country House - The perfect location, walking distance to great pub
The Garden Room Retreat (on the right) at Heald Country House - Beautiful walks from your doorstep
The view from your private garden looking back into the Garden Room. Mezzanine bedroom above.
A continental breakfast of local, delicious, fresh foods can be ordered for just £12 p/p/p/n
Enjoy a bit of stargazing in your private garden area whilst relaxing by the fire pit.
Complimentary toiletries, fluffy robes and towels, White Company bedding,tea and coffee all included
A review from founder of internationally renowed 'Chic Retreats' - high praise indeed!
4 individual unique boutique retreats - all 5*
stunning 'Homefires' national trust countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Malpas, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yv0nnewil...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Mini Break Destination”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The barns at Cheshire Boutique Barns are great, every whim you have is catered for. The location is lovely so peaceful and quiet.

The Nest has a really romantic feel to it, so if you're looking for a lover's retreat it's perfect !!

The local pubs have great food and Rookery Hall Spa is great we had a great time there too.

I would recommend this place to anyone and intend to go there again ASAP !

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie88...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NYE - Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in 'The Nest' cottage for two nights for New Years and had a fantastic time. The cottage is so cosy and beautifully furnished - it's perfect for a couple. It is small but the owners have made great use of the space and we had everything we needed - the kitchen is well equipped, the sofa pulls out into a sofa bed, the outside area looked lovely (we didn't use this as it was too cold outside) and the bed is very comfy. The fairy lights and candles make the cottage even more relaxing and romantic. Dealing with the owner Rachael before arrival was a pleasure. We ate on NYE in the evening at the Dusty Miller - a ten minute walk down the lane (take a torch as it is very dark!) which was great and on New Years Day we ate at the Cholmondley Arms where they have a huge gin selection and very good roast dinner and desserts. We would suggest taking everything you need food wise with you as we didn't come across a local shop. Lots to do nearby. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry I wasnt around to meet you for your trip this time but I'm delighted you had a lovely stay and that you managed to get to both our lovely local pubs. The village shop is just past the Dusty Miller on the left so I hope you didnt go hungry! In the summer months the Dusty Miller has a fab farm shop too selling fresh, hot breads, bacon, sausages etc but sadly it tends not to be open in the winter months there. Anyway, thankyou again for taking the time to write a review of your stay and I hope we can entice you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

5 of us have just stayed at the Nest and The Parlour.
It was simply the most wonderful weekend, in what can only be described as a 'little piece of heaven'
Our hosts Rachael and Louis were so warm and welcoming, and the cottages beautifully designed and very cosy. We could have all moved in permanently!!!
Every little detail has been thought of, it was faultless.
The beds were soo comfortable that we have gone ahead and bought the same toppers that Rachael recommended.
We are all trying to find an excuse to return sooner rather than later. xx

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley761...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband and I have had a very upsetting, stressful time this past 6 months and needed to find a peaceful retreat to recharge our batteries and simply get away from it all. We did not mind what part of the country we visited, it was purely down to finding the right accommodation for our needs. We did not want a soulless hotel room.

After covering pretty much the whole country on booking.com, I discovered Cheshire Boutique Barns and knew this was exactly the place we were looking for.

I added on the option to have candles and fire lit for our arrival and I am so pleased I did. I strongly recommend this add-on.

No pictures do this beautiful retreat justice, we were literally blown away! Rachael has literally thought of everything! The cosy, country cottage decor both inside and in the entrance porch, the handwritten notes on the dainty pots with tea, coffee etc, toothbrush charger, cotton wool & buds, the White Company bathing products, the country style milk and water bottles filled - everything is so well thought out!

You are located centrally between snowdonia and the Peak District and we intended to visit both. But when we were actually there we didn't want to leave!! We did have a fabulous day exploring the Peak District, visiting the beautiful village of Bakewell. Other days we chose to stay closer to home visiting Nantwich and Chester, both very lovely.

Rachael is always on hand, should you need her but also allows the greatest privacy to you. We received a text from Rachael on the Friday to say that she will be cooking a breakfast on the Saturday morning if we were interested, we were and it was fabulous! Again, even with this the smallest detail was considered with dainty butter dish and hot baked bread rolls, amazing!

We are already plotting our next visit and have no doubt that this is somewhere we will visit time and time again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Dear Lesley, What a beautiful review. Thank you so much. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and the Bakewell Tart you left us (so so kind of you!) was delicious! Really looking forward to welcoming you back soon I hope and I am so glad the Garden Room Barn got a chance to work a little of it's magic in helping you feel relaxed and recharged after the very tough time you've been through.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathewgil...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just come back from a wonderful weekend. It was our best friends wedding anniversary and we wanted something special and we were not disappointed. The old parlour is fantastic and is cleverly set out to maximise the space. Lots of nice touches which really add to the whole experience. Rachel (the owner) could not have been friendlier and her recommendations were spot on. The only issue we now have is trying to find somewhere as nice in the future but it's probably easier just to go back.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
It was fantastic to meet you all and I am delighted you had such a lovely time. Thank you for writing a review and dont you dare go anywhere else (hee hee!) there's three more (very different and unique) barns to try out first not to mention a few more awesome G&T's to be had in The Cholmondeley Arms!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katiemast...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the nest for 2 nights and had the most amazing time. I'm desperate to go back. The setting and barn were stunning and we instantly felt relaxed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Please do follow us on our facebook page cheshire boutique barns for details of our last minute and special offers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry E
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second visit to Heald House but our first to The Nest. and we were not disappointed. On our arrival there was a bottle of Prosecco waiting for on ice which had been arranged by Rachael at the request of our son and daughter in law. The Nest is small and intimate equipt with everything you could possibly want. Fabulous place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
I am so sorry I didn't get to see you both this time! I am so glad you enjoyed The Nest though - thats two of the four barns you've tried now so at least two more reasons to see if we can tempt you back again! Give my love to Pat. Best wishes, Rachael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing