We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages
Ranked #4 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warm welcome guaranteed”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

What a beautiful setting and charming host she could not do enough for us. Our room was lovely full of character with windows looking out over stunning countryside. The breakfast was first class and thats coming from a from a sausage connoisseur. I would recommend this B&B to anybody wanting to explore the Cheshire countryside or as we did spend the day at Bangor races.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as my son was getting married in the Chapel at Cholmondeley Castle.

When we drove up to the farmhouse my breath was taken away. It is in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and acres of countryside surrounding. A herd of cows in the field. Young goslings on the pond and the chickens clucking whilst making their pretty blue and brown eggs for breakfast. The building itself is gorgeous and houses a huge collection of lovely ornaments - all meticulously dusted and clean!

We had a lovely comfy 4-poster bed and a big flat screen tv. Bathroom was exceptionally clean and spacious.

Jan and her son Tim are extremely friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. I was even able to select a rose from the garden for my wedding corsage!

Breakfast was terrific. A choice of cereals and orange juice, followed by Egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomato, followed by toast and a huge range of jamsand marmalades. Fresh coffee and tea to finish off!

We were in a party of 8 people and Jan remembered all our names straight off after introductions. Such a personal touch.

If I were to fault the place at all I would mention that the tv in my brother's room did not work and there was no full length mirror, or dressing table mirror in our room. But it would be churlish to let you think that this in any way spoiled our stay.

We would definitely go back there and hope that we may do so in the future. Our stay with Jan and Tim definitely enhanced our trip to the Cholmondeley Estate for the fantastic wedding of my son and new daughter-in-law!

Room Tip: It's all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Being retired and inclined to touring quietly and economically around the UK, we found Manor Farm just about as good a B and B as one has a right to expect. A very tranquil environment, plenty of convenient parking, a clean and discerningly furnished room with 'en suite', a comfortable bed, an excellent breakfast and a garden for guests to use which has in microcosm some of the qualities of more august addresses in Cheshire. Cholmondeley Castle is just down the road. As for the hosts, one is unlikely to meet kinder and more gentle people anywhere. If all B and Bs were as good as this, even good hotels would go out of business.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

After finding ourselves with our holiday abroad cancelled due to the ash cloud from Iceland this week, we discovered this absolute gem of a B & B hiding in the Cheshire countryside. We're so glad to have found this place and very much hope to return in the future!

Jan, the hostess and her son are so kind, accomodating, and welcoming that you instantly feel at home. They were quick to provide us with whatever we needed, and Jan cooks an amazing breakfast!

The scenery is wonderful - rolling green fields giving way to the hills in the distance, and the buildings themselves are stunning. A wonderful old farmhouse, with the prettiest landscaped garden you could spend hours wandering through and basking in, sits just back from the road - barely noticeable as you drive past but for the sign. Its very peaceful and private here - there's no sound except for nature, and the animals kept by Jan - chickens, some golden pheasants and tiny doves, and the local duck/goose populations!

The farmhouse itself is full of quirky little ornaments and furniture, and very traditionally done out, with diamond paned windows and wooden beams in the ceilings. We stayed in part of their converted barn and could not have asked for a more cosy, comfortable, traditional and yet modernly kitted out room. Our room came with a front door, and rear patio doors leading onto a little terrace so we could sit outside whenever we liked.

I really couldnt recommend this highly enough. Its an absolutely wonderful place to stay; we will definitely be recommending it to anyone we can and hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg_and_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I stayed in one of the Manor Farm self catering units during the Easter holidays with my two young daughters, Hannah (10) and Molly (8) whilst we visited Grandparents and friends. Prior to arrival and also from the moment we arrived we could not have experienced a more wonderful welcome from Jan and Tim. The cottage itself was delightful: well equipped, comfortable, quiet and clean with views out across fields. Chickens and ducks provided the girls with plenty to see and do and Jan was just lovely showing us around and letting the girls see the young chicks.

The location and facilities are great and the B & B looked really wonderful too. I suspect that what really makes Manor Farm so special though is the fact that Tim and Jan really are excellent hosts who made the stay so memorable and a place we will definitely return. Have already recommended to several friends!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martineCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This B & B is as good as anything that we have visited in the last 40 years. The owner and her son provide excellent accommodation which is spotlessly clean and very comfortable in a modernised refurbished farmhouse. The breakfast was first class, it couldn't have been bettered in a five star hotel. There is plenty of good car parking space in what is a quiet rural location. We shall be going again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windywoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Definitely recommend a stay at Manor Farm Cottages. The cottages are extremely well equipped and beautifully furnished. The grounds and gardens are delightful with ducks, moorhens and numerous wild birds. There is plenty of parking. Although I do not have a dog it pleased me to know that Jan and Tim Dilworth allow dogs to be taken.
A mile up the road is Cholomondeley Castle and Estate which is well worth visiting and also the Castle Farm Shop stocking everyything from general groceries to locally brewed ale, Cheshire Cheese and wonderful pies. For anyone wanting to explore Cheshire and North Wales then Manor Farm is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilhelminaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malpas
3.7 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
6.3 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
10.8 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton House Farm
Hampton House Farm
#2 of 7 in Malpas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages

Property: Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages
Address: Egerton, Malpas SY14 8AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming farmhouse set in lovely grounds close to the Bickerton Hills, Cholmondeley Castle and the Sandstone Trail. Convenient for Chester and North Wales, Fishing available nearby. En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Farm B&B And Holiday Cottages Malpas, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing