We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
GreenLeadersGold level
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Party event”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We attended a function with 220 guests on Saturday 5th May 2012.
We couldn't fault the food even with such a large number of guests and we understand the restaurant was full too.
The food was hot and beautifully presented and plenty of it. The service was also very good.
Congratulations to yor chef for a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHV, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
What a wonderful review! Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments in relation to your event here at Macdonald Hill Valley. We are very passionate about the quality of the food here at Hill Valley and we have a fantastic head chef and kitchen brigade who take enormous pride in the food that is served. We certainly hope you will return to Hill Valley for your Christmas event! Kind regards, Terence P Southward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    445
    258
    144
    74
See reviews for
217
539
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and booked dinner bed and breakfast for 2.
Hotel amenities and layout very nice but restaurant could do with a bit of a sort out.
Food was very good but the first thing you get is the menu - they are dirty and covered in food and stains though they are in a nice leather folder ! For a 4 start hotel this is poor and I wondered how the food and coffee got onto the menus as they are taken away before the food arrives. It would cost pennies to have them reprinted
Also check your bill on leaving - they tried to charge me twice for the evening meal, £50 the first time and £40 the second - all on the same bill.
Internet is painfully slow.
That all withstanding we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on golf course side of hotel have nicer views. Hotel is brand new and nothing like google sate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdocproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay with us here at Macdonald Hill Valley Spa, Hotel & Golf. I am in total agreement with you with regards to the soiled menus. This is unacceptable and it certainly not what you would come to expect from a 4 star hotel. We have recently recruited a new restaurant and bars manager here at the hotel and one of his priorities is to concentrate on improving the overall attention to detail around the food & beverage areas.

I am puzzled as to what has happened with your bill on departure, and I can only assume that this is a genuine mistake. I have spoken with my front office manager to ensure all bills are checked prior to presenting them to our guests.

I was however pleased that on the whole you did enjoy your experience here at Hill Valley, and I would urge you to re-visit the hotel to see the improvements that we have made since the re-structure within our food & beverage team. Kind regards, Terence P Southward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Excellent Hotel, very clean, spacious rooms, delicious breakfast, greenery was really amazing and the staff were really helpful. The only drawback is the internet. Well I have to admit that the hotel is located in a remote area but it's a good option if you are looking for an escape from the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

As a member of a group of twelve golfers this hotel, spa and golf complex promised to satisfy our needs. The deal was good value, two rounds of golf (one on each of the two courses) with bed, breakfast and evening meal.

Being April, I did not expect the courses to be in tip top condition but, in my opinion, of the two courses the Emerald was certainly in better condition than the Saphire course. This was a pity because this course offered golfers some interesting challenges over its shorter length. Practise facilities were also very limited with only a small putting green on offer. The nearest Driving range was about 10 miles away.

However, on the plus side the rooms were large and clean, the food adequate and the staff efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed 1 night on business. The check in experience was all good. Bedroom was large, bathroom good with a nice big seperate walk in shower. Very clean and all the amenities you'd require. The matress however had seen better days and could do with replacing- not the most comfortable bed in the world.
Ordered room service and the service was prompt and the veggie curry delicious. Far superior to most room service experiences.
The bar area was ok but looked as if it could do with a bit of a refurb. Overall a good stay but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just back from Easter weekend at Hill Valley and had a great time! Played golf and the ladies enjoyed the Spa whilst the kids loved the pool. Breakfast was good, and on theb whole the staff were very attentive. Hotel was spotless throughout.
A great spot which I am delighted we discovered, and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked an Executive King room for our 1 night stay at this hotel. Check in time was 3pm and when we arrived around 3.30pm we found that only 1 receptionist was at the desk checking the long queue of people in with no other staff members in sight to help her.

When we got to the desk the lady was very nice and did appologise for the wait, and we did feel bad for her cause she looked stressed. (We later discovered that she forgot to give us our complimentary drinks voucher to use in the bar so had to go back for that).

The room itself look great on first impressions, however it wasn't until we had settle in that we saw that there was mucky hand prints on the patio glass that ware obvouisly from a child and hadn't been cleaned off. There was also mould in the shower and orange residue on the tiles which usually come from there being too much iron in the water but can be easily cleaned off but wasn't.

The sound on the TV was bad with the sound feeding into a speaker in the bathroom being louder the the TV itself. Also the remote control's buttons were all mixed up and you had to press the sleep timer to mute the sound and the mute button to set the sleep timer!

The iron didn't heat up well and leaked any water you put into it, and the complimentary bathrobes were huge (at least an XL) and were too rough, also there is no air conditioning!

We decided to go to the lounge before we went for dinner at Peckforton Castle (Which is amazing BTW and we would of stayed there if they weren't full). We asked for a couple of drinks and just some bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. We were told that they had no olive oil and balasmic vinegar left so it was suggested that we went for a similar option (and more expensive) of bread with houmous, roasted garlic etc... when the bread came there was a bowl of olive oil and balsmaic vinegar!!

After our meal we came back to the lounge bar to use the drinks voucher to get a couple of glasses of rose... the response we got was "It's only the cheap house rose and you only get 175ml".

Wouldn't stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyjsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitchurch
15.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
24.7 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
23.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
17.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa in the heart of Shropshire, a golfer's paradise with two challenging courses to get your teeth into and a wonderful Spa with Rasul, rock sauna and eight treatment rooms for those who just want to lounge around and relax. Surrounded by peaceful grounds, it's amazing how accessible this hotel is in Whitchurch on the A49 and close to the major motorways; M53, M56, M6 and M54. Be inspired with plenty of local attractions on your doorstep including nearby Chester Zoo and the Ironbridge Museums and after a busy day, retire back to the hotel for a delicious meal produced using only the finest, quality ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Whitchurch
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel Country
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Whitchurch, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing