We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Easter weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Step off the world for a few days
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Step off the world for a few days
Bedroom one with double bed and antique bedspread Bedroom One
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Step off the world for a few days
Bedroom one with double bed and antique bedspread
Bedroom One
Bedroom 2 with seating
Bedroom 2 with screen
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with big roll top bath and water heated by woodburner
Our new lovely cooking/firepit
Relax in a hammock
Woodland Ping pong
Lakes to walk around or fish
Blue bell woods
Make some art with nature
Create
Whitewell church walk
Tucked away in a woodland setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitchurch, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neiljohnb...
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Easter weekend getaway”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We just got back from a lovely weekend at the Engine House. Dan, Angie and Louie we all helpful and friendly. We loved the back to nature charm of this place and walking our dog in the woods.
Hope to return again in the summer months

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you. This is exactly what we want our guests to experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, cosy cottage and SO peaceful!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved The Engine House. We were blessed with mild weather so spent the evenings sat round the fire pit looking at the stars. The woodland walks were great and loads of things to do and see in the area. There was plenty of information in the cottage.

We had my 19 year old and 23 year old with us and both enjoyed making fires and coped without internet for 3 days....hurrah! THere is a phone signal at the end of the path so they werent completely cut off !

would definitely recommend to others and feel sure we will be booking again. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Small kitchen and maybe slightly more utensils and lids for pans? Didnt detract from our stay though! Will bring my own next time and also couple of comfy garden chairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thank you. That's lovely to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully a chat about vintage motorbikes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restorative retreat from the 21st century”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say, both a soulful candlelit idyll and a woodland adventure which begs one to let loose their inner 12 year old!

We played board games by candlelight, cooked like cavemen on the fire pit, made dens, swung on homemade swings and even tried out the resident zip lines!

The dog was in seventh heaven too!

A wholesome and restorative location

An awesome holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation of the property and no electricity
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you Emma exactly what we hope people get out of the experience. It's good for our souls too, to hear it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelros...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing venue very cute and quaint”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place. So beautiful and perfect if you just want to get away from everything! No electric or gas and internet is great. It makes you switch off from the stress of day to day living.

We would certainly recommend this place it is great for walking with dogs, the hosts are very welcoming and 5* service!

We will certainly be going for a mini break great for the outdoors and the little touches bottle of bubbles and marshmallows to toast on the fire pit are great little touches to make you feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No electric or internet
Liked least: The bed was squeaky! :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
So pleased you managed to switch off and enjoy nature. Exactly what we hope for our guests. Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlFreem...
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat from the daily grind”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived very late at the cottage (00.30) but still our hosts (Dan and Angie) welcomed us on arrival with a candle lit wonderland, for me it was like returning home, I felt so at peace to tend to the fire in the evening while surrounded by candle light. I certainly didn´t miss the outside world of fast pace technology. I thought the four of us might struggle to live off grid for 2 weeks but actually it was harder to return to the "normal world" I would highly recommend this cottage, our hosts couldn't have done more to accommodate our needs. I dare you to step outside our fast paced society away from social media, you never know what you might discover...........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: off grid living
Liked least: booking problems
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Carl it was great to have you and your family submerge yourselves in the off grid lifestyle for a whole two weeks and thank you so much for the lovely gift of home made cider. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
U6769LSma...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time here, very relaxing and peaceful. Cottage was great, setting was idyllic, owners very welcoming and accommodating. We read books, went for walks, tended to fires/stoves, pottered about, relaxed by candlelight – didn't miss electricity at all and left completely refreshed. Looking forward to returning soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you, you are very much welcome again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing