We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in a good location”
Review of Geser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geser Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ulan-Ude
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly adequate with clean and bright rooms and free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SbearCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Geser Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel had no record of our booking made on a major booking site. The staff were uninterested and said they knew nothing. Eventually they said they had a room anyway.

The room was not good. Pipes on the walls and ceiling, a glass lampshade that nearly fell on my head in the night, and a very LARGE fridge against one wall which chugged away all night. There were just a couple of bottles of beer and water in it.

The shower unit was just one of those fixed to the taps in the bath. The toilet was - for some reason - placed some way from the wall with some old pipes behind it.

The internet worked though was slow, and you have to log in each time your computer goes to sleep. Also you need separate passwords for each device.

Dinner in the restaurant was cheap and ok - and the waiter was very nice. But be warned: you will wait at least 45 minutes between ordering the food and actually seeing it.

Breakfast was abysmal. A few pieces of cheese and sausage, some not-so-fresh rolls. But the worst thing was the egg, which had a black yolk. When shown to the waitress she said it was ok to eat. We told her to take it back to the kitchen. She did this but when she came out she just avoided us. We went to reception and told them that serving such food is dangerous but they were again uninterested. I asked to see the manager but was told no one was there all weekend.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. It is over-priced and the service is awful. The staff also speak only very poor English.

I have stayed in several hotels all over Russia so am well aware of general standards in the country,

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jazzjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Geser in August 2011. It was my second visit to Ulan Ude in the space of a few months. On my previous visit, I stayed at the Hotel Ayan which was less expensive than the Geser (as another reviewer has commented, Ulan Ude is not a cheap place to spend any time in). Although comfortable, the Ayan is at some walking distance from the city centre and late at night this means either taking a masrootka or negotiating the feral dogs which seem to patrol the muddy side streets. The Geser is more pricey; but then one has the benefit of being right in the city centre with all that means in terms of access to restaurants and other amenities such as the main square (home of the famous Lenin's Head) or the recently refurbished central fountains. I found the room adequately furnished. Things worked and access to the internet was free of charge. The lack of air conditioning could be a problem at the height of summer, I should imagine; though by late August, there is a nip in the air at night. I thought the breakfasts were fine: lots of cold meats, coffee, tea, fruits, nuts, yoghurts - and the staff were very happy to serve up cooked eggs on request. The little cafe mentioned by a previous reviewer was an oasis at the end of a long hot day. The waitresses were unfailingly helpful and friendly. You can nurse a cup of tea all afternoon if you want. No one hassled us. The staff on reception were also helpful and friendly. They all seemed to speak English and were willing to help out with any requests we might have, for example, calling a taxi for the airport. As another reviewer has noted, the presence of an ATM in the lobby proved very convenient. As well as the lobby, there are open public spaces on the first floor, where guests can sit in comfortable arm chairs. Downstairs, there is a small tourist shop selling maps and souvenirs. There are also hairdressing and beauty treatment facilities, but we did not make use of these. The week-end wedding parties can be a little noisy; but they don't go on way into the small hours and the guests seem to know how to enjoy themselves without getting drunk or too loud. I'd happily stay again, if my bank balance could cope.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gimlet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Four of us stayed for nine nights whilst working on a project in Ulan Ude. The rooms were of a reasonable size, the shower and bath worked . There were the odd bits of plaster or tile missing in the corners of the bathroom and the bath looked a bit tired but I don't find that unusual in Russia . The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and cleaned daily. There is no air conditioning . It was very hot when we were there in August but at least the nigths cool down quickly. Another review complained about the breakfast; standard post-Soviet ; cakes, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs , yoghurt and fruit. It may not have been presented well but it was sufficient and quite edible.
All in all the hotel is overpriced for what it is but everything in Ulan Ude is more expensive than you would expect it to be that deep into Russia. It may be because it is a long way down the Trans-Siberian railway.
Most important of all though, the staff were friendly ,helpful and not rule-bound. Very nice people. Make sure you find the little cafe at the end of the corridor past the breakfast/dining room. A cheerful bright room with cheerful staff. The waitresses and waiters in the dining room bar in the evening were happy to turn out to serve late night drinks. There is an outdoor courtyard with tables and chairs, pleasant to sit in in the evening . You reach it through the dining room. It is not obvious and took us a couple of nights to find.

Nights can be noisy if there is a wedding on but they stop by about one in the morning.
The diniing room seems occasionally to have very highly amplified singers. One night the only other people in the dining room walked out because of the decibel level. We asked the singer to turn it down a bit and she did; well, she stopped singing altogether.
There is a cash ATM in the lobby which is very useful and the hotel has no trouble taking credit cards. The Hotel Geser is also registered as a tourist agency so it can arrange tourist visa invitations if you need them.
The hotel felt safe to me .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cesta20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

It was our second trip to Ulan-Ude, and first time we stayed in their best hotel Baikal Plaza. But we didn't like it and so decided to choose another hotel for our next visit. So what can I say... The ambience, lobby and breakfasts are awful - 2 stars at best (in Baikal Plaza these were much better). But the room - it was the best Deluxe Studio room - was good. Or even very good if to remember that you are in Ulan-Ude, or to recall tiny, dull and dated suites in Baikal Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibvaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IldarAkhmetov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeserUU, Руководитель службы приема at Geser Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер на 3 этаже с окнами на обе стороны.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosia_N7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulan-Ude hotels
0.4 mi away
Buryatia Hotel
Buryatia Hotel
#3 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mergen Bator Hotel
Mergen Bator Hotel
#1 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baikal Plaza Hotel
Baikal Plaza Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Reston Hotel & Spa
Reston Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sagaan Morin Hotel
Sagaan Morin Hotel
#4 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hutorok
Hutorok
#9 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geser Hotel

Address: Ranzhurova St., 11, Ulan-Ude 670000, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Republic of Buryatia > Ulan-Ude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ulan-Ude
Price Range: £27 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Geser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Geser is located in a quiet area of the city center, close to Soviet Square, Government House, Opera and Ballet Theatre and museums. Almost a third of our guests – our permanent clients that trust our service for more than 10 years. The hotel is named after the Buryat Folk Epic Geser. The hotel complex offers our guests 63 comfortable single and double rooms of various categories – from standard rooms to apartments / suites, with a capacity of 103 guests. Rooms are equipped with all conveniences, which let you relax in a comfortable atmosphere or do your work in the silence. At our guests service there is a restaurant Geser in the hotel which is designed for 100 people. Here you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also you can have a great time with your friends and colleagues, have a romantic date, celebrate your birthday or another important event. Attentive staff will offer you all the best: a big variety of European, Russian and Buryat cuisine dishes, wide choice of wines (including elite ones). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Geser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing