We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel”
Review of Geser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geser Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ulan-Ude
Atherton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This appeared to be a very good hotel but had very few guests. Breakfast was adequate but basic. Rooms were very clean. Hotel was in a garden setting with little traffic so would be ideal for young families.
Central to all land marks.
Wi-Fi was very good and TV had English programs which is more than can be said for other Russian cities like St Petersburg.
We spent 2 nights there as a break on the Trans Siberian. We had a guide who picked us up each day. I am not sure about the location without a local driver.

Room Tip: Surrounded by garden so does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    33
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
13
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Geser while spending a couple of days touring Ulan-Ude second half of May 2014. We found our room very clean and pleasant. Wifi was very strong throughout the hotel and free. Better than most in the USA. The staff was very friendly and spoke English when it counted. It is in a great location. It is within walking distance of the train station however beware of having to carry your luggage up over a pretty steep overwalk. Great access to downtown Ulan-Ude. Only a 5-10 minute walk down a pedestrian path to the main plaza and main drag. Within walking distance of indoor museums. Breakfasts at the hotel were very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ulan-Ude and who would like a comfortable room with shower and breakfast and easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina T, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Geser Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your comment.
We appreciate your opinion and we are glad that your staying in Geser Hotel was comfortable.
Waiting for you in Ulan-Ude again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel has got nothing spectacular, but it's a good place to stop and relax between a trip to Siberia/Baikal and a trip to Mongolia.
The room as was large and comfortable.
The staff we met however was disappointing as they did not speak any English or French.
Decent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I spent just one night here on a tour through the Trans-Siberian. Very decent hotel, very soviet- russian style, good location - very central ,free wifi everywhere and with a very helpful staff... ok, my room was not good! I heard good things on the new rooms of the hotel from my tour fellows...I was not the lucky one. The breakfast was also very good, and despite my room I really recommend Geser Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the room 328... It was my one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We started our November Siberia trip in Ulan Ude and the Geser Hotel was the first stop. During two days in the hotel, I believe we were one of the handful of guests staying at this hotel. The room we stayed at reminded me of my old student house; a large water boiler and exposed plumbing in the bathroom, a squeaky bed and noisy minibar fridge. The water stains in the carpet finished the memory.
Nonetheless, the hotel, as noted in other reviews has much going for it; great location in Ulan Ude, free Wifi, friendly staff and breakfast is pretty good. I still rate this hotel 'very good'; after all, it's Ulan Ude you are at, not the Four Seasons in Moscow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zandbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here as part of our Trans-Manchurian train trip.
Close to the railway station (which is handy when you're trying to walk in snow and ice), and nice warm rooms that were comfortable and warm.
The staff were professional, and helpful.
I was very impressed with the room, it was a bit tired but perfectly adequate and clean with a lovely bed, I would definitely stay here again.
The hotel staff were very good with giving us tourist information about the local town, Ulan Ude and directions.
Breakfast was included in the price and was traditional Russian fare for breakfast, with some fruit, nice and filling and hearty... Just what you need when the temperature outside is -30c!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is only a hop, step and jump from the railway station and is handy for Ulan-Ude town centre.
The hotel has a gym and the breakfasts are pretty good. The wifi works everywhere in the hotel (not something that always happens in Russia).
The staff are pretty clued up about helping tourists. All-in-all its a value for money place to stay.
I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brycephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulan-Ude hotels
0.4 mi away
Buryatia Hotel
Buryatia Hotel
#3 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mergen Bator Hotel
Mergen Bator Hotel
#1 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sagaan Morin Hotel
Sagaan Morin Hotel
#4 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Reston Hotel & Spa
Reston Hotel & Spa
#5 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
17 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hutorok
Hutorok
#8 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barguzin
Barguzin
#14 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geser Hotel

Property: Geser Hotel
Address: Ranzhurova St., 11, Ulan-Ude 670000, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Republic of Buryatia > Ulan-Ude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ulan-Ude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Geser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Geser is located in a quiet area of the city center, close to Soviet Square, Government House, Opera and Ballet Theatre and museums. Almost a third of our guests – our permanent clients that trust our service for more than 10 years. The hotel is named after the Buryat Folk Epic Geser. The hotel complex offers our guests 63 comfortable single and double rooms of various categories – from standard rooms to apartments / suites, with a capacity of 103 guests. Rooms are equipped with all conveniences, which let you relax in a comfortable atmosphere or do your work in the silence. At our guests service there is a restaurant Geser in the hotel which is designed for 100 people. Here you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also you can have a great time with your friends and colleagues, have a romantic date, celebrate your birthday or another important event. Attentive staff will offer you all the best: a big variety of European, Russian and Buryat cuisine dishes, wide choice of wines (including elite ones). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Geser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing