We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hostel experience - but OK”
Review of GBT-Hostel

GBT-Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulan-Ude
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GBT-Hostel
Ranked #17 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Ulan-Ude
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed in GBT Hostel in August 2010 during my Trans-Siberian journey. The place is located in a very small residential street and was quite difficult to find at first. It´s a long-long walk there from the train station - at least it definetely seemed like that at 4 in the morning with all the backpacks.

It´s a small house with just few rooms. We stayed in 4-persons´ room. There´re 2 single and one "double" bed in that room. The double bed is just few boards nailed together with the mattress over them. The mattress was well-worn and hard, the blankets quite filty. Luckily the bed-linen was clean. The sleep quality was definetely not of my best - actually it was not relaxing at all.

The other issue was the cleanliness of the place. Although the family tried to keep the place clean there was quite dirty batrhoom, no toilet paper (no problem, just bring you own!) etc. I guess the main problem were the people staying there that time - they didn´t even cleaned their dishes after themselves.

On the bright side, there was free internet access and computer for use. The place fitted Ulan-Ude and Trans-Siberian trip perferctly. The family was helpful and I was able to use their phone to arrange my bus tickets to Ulaanbaatar. So in general it was quite nice experience - something you may not enjoy but you still like it. If ever again in Ulan Ude I´d stay there again. But they really need to signpost their place far more better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 226HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank van_brunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulan-Ude hotels
3.9 mi away
Boston
Boston
#14 of 62 in Ulan-Ude
1 reviews
3 mi away
Ayan Hostel
Ayan Hostel
#16 of 136 in Ulan-Ude
2 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Guest house Madagaskar
#9 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hutorok
Hutorok
#10 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
30 reviews
1 mi away
Mergen Bator Hotel
Mergen Bator Hotel
#1 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
127 reviews
3.5 mi away
Praga Hotel
Praga Hotel
#1 of 62 in Ulan-Ude
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GBT-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT-Hostel

Address: Pereulok Nahimova 9-2, Ulan-Ude, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Republic of Buryatia > Ulan-Ude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Ulan-Ude
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing