We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of GBT-Hostel

GBT-Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulan-Ude
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GBT-Hostel
Ranked #18 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Ulan-Ude
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We staid for 3 nights and it was great. There were three of us and we had a 6 person dorm to ourselves, even when others came to visit which was nice. They also picked us up from the train station and took us to the hostel. Very nice kitchen and facilities, very fast internet, large beds and just very cosy. We were able to do all our clothes washing here and they didn't mind us hanging it all out in our dorm on their clothes horse and taking up allot of room.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we would definitely stay here again. Thank also you for wonderful and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in a private room at this hostel for two nights. The owners were really friendly and free pick-up from the train station was great, but we arrived at around 6 pm and our room wasn't ready - there was someone else still in it. We we're told the room would be ready by 7.30 pm and it wasn't - slightly odd and irritating. The communal kitchen was cramped, pretty sparse and not very clean. There is only one bathroom (shower and toilet combined) for all guests to share. The location was around 30 minutes walk from the centre. All in all, an OK option but could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The GBT Hostel was a pleasant stay. There were only a few of us there, so it was quiet. It was more like a guesthouse or homestay, as you share the common space with the family.
The home is comfortable with a shared kitchen and one bathroom containing a toilet and shower. The kitchen has all your cooking necessities. There is just a small bar fridge, so don't expect to keep too much there. The common area has a flat screen tv and a small couch for 2 people.
We stayed in the twin room. The twin beds were comfortable. They were proper beds. The room was spacious. There are 2 dorm rooms, too. The dorm rooms appeared spacious, and the bunk beds were wooden frames with a mattress.
We arrived early and were allowed to check in. The family was friendly and kind.
The location is a bit away from the main center, but is an easy 20 or so minute walk (depending on your speed) into town. There are trolleys that run up the main road, so that is an option.

Room Tip: The twin is a good choice for a couple or friends. The beds appear more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The facilities at GBT hostel were very nice and comfortable. We arranged for a free pick up from the train station, so it wasn't a problem that it is a little difficult to find. The hostel is a bit far from the town center, but it wasn't a problem for us. There is wi fi everywhere in the hostel and the kitchen and bathroom were tidy.

The family that runs it is very nice. They are very involved in the GBT and enjoy hiking quite a bit. They even invited us to go hiking with them and their friends!

We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Ulan Ude.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

GBT hostel in Irkutsk
The hostel is a 30 minute walk from the city centre. A 25 minute walk from the train station. But it is easy to get to the place by tram 1 (from the train station) and tram 4 (from and to the city; it’s the 3th stop! Not the 4th as she will tell you). The tram is only 11 Roebels, takes about 5 minutes and leaves from 6.00 till 23.00.
The woman is very friendly and helpful. The place is very tidy, got a table in the room, the kitchen is ok (no toaster, but clean). Internet is everywhere in the hostel. There even is a computer.
The is an opportunity to do the laundry and you can hang your washing outside.
We had a good time there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed in GBT Hostel in August 2010 during my Trans-Siberian journey. The place is located in a very small residential street and was quite difficult to find at first. It´s a long-long walk there from the train station - at least it definetely seemed like that at 4 in the morning with all the backpacks.

It´s a small house with just few rooms. We stayed in 4-persons´ room. There´re 2 single and one "double" bed in that room. The double bed is just few boards nailed together with the mattress over them. The mattress was well-worn and hard, the blankets quite filty. Luckily the bed-linen was clean. The sleep quality was definetely not of my best - actually it was not relaxing at all.

The other issue was the cleanliness of the place. Although the family tried to keep the place clean there was quite dirty batrhoom, no toilet paper (no problem, just bring you own!) etc. I guess the main problem were the people staying there that time - they didn´t even cleaned their dishes after themselves.

On the bright side, there was free internet access and computer for use. The place fitted Ulan-Ude and Trans-Siberian trip perferctly. The family was helpful and I was able to use their phone to arrange my bus tickets to Ulaanbaatar. So in general it was quite nice experience - something you may not enjoy but you still like it. If ever again in Ulan Ude I´d stay there again. But they really need to signpost their place far more better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulan-Ude hotels
1.1 mi away
Buryatia Hotel
Buryatia Hotel
#3 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mergen Bator Hotel
Mergen Bator Hotel
#1 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Vertices Hostel
#13 of 131 in Ulan-Ude
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hutorok
Hutorok
#8 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ulan Ude Travelers House
Ulan Ude Travelers House
#1 of 131 in Ulan-Ude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ayan Hotel
Ayan Hotel
#9 of 15 in Ulan-Ude
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GBT-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT-Hostel

Property: GBT-Hostel
Address: Pereulok Nahimova 9-2, Ulan-Ude, Russia
Region: Russia > Siberian District > Republic of Buryatia > Ulan-Ude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Ulan-Ude
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing