We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
rep of ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel is in a lovely quiet location with excellent views. We were B&B and found breakfast good. Excellent pool. The room was also nice but some of decor example lights, wood in need of repair. Its a bit of a hilly walk to shops and any restaurants outside del duque area.

At the beginning of week we got nightly turn down service and room attentions. But by end of week though this service seemed to be discontinued which is not acceptable for a five star.

Staff were friendly in general especially on check in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddyandsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    261
    78
    27
    13
See reviews for
136
1,152
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We booked this hotel through “Thomson A La Carte” staying just after the New Year break. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Breakfast was buffet style but nothing like we have experienced before. Just like everything at this hotel, breakfast service was friendly and immaculate in relaxing comfortable surroundings with a vast range of quality food.

The bedroom was a delight with a view of the garden and pool area. The room was large and well designed with a separate sitting area and plenty of storage space including a walk in cupboard near the entrance. With his and hers dressing tables it was easy to keep the room tidy.

The bathroom was large with Jack and Jill hand basins including a sunken bath and separate toilet and shower cubicles.

The pool and garden area was large with plenty of space and plenty of sun beds with nice thick mattresses. Again the pool staff were very friendly and tentative usually serving a free drink about mid morning we also enjoyed the free Tai Chi twice a week (more would have been good) and a life guard was on duty.

A big thanks to all of the staff at El Mirador you are “simply the best” and we will be back.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian190770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Tenerife is laid back. It really is. But to accept this as a 5 stars hotel can be misleading. The hotel's prime asset is its location and the panoramic views it offers. The whole Moroccan inspired building feels somehow tacky and out of place. It's something that in my view could be more appropriate in Vegas or Disneyland but certainly I was not wowed by it. The rooms, even the obnoxiously expensive ones are a confusing mix. I found my Superior Suite rather inadequate. I'll admit that terracotta is not my colour of choice but to have it in walls, ceilings, floors, bed linen and furniture can be a bit daunting even for hardcore fans of the shade. I was also unimpressed with the rooms facilities. There's large 10-years old chunky black TV, a 10 year old phone which is not cordless, a travel size hairdryer and an unnecessary amount of drawers. Most things in the rooms felt obsolete and dated. We ordered room service and left it untouched as the cocktails were terrible and the salad plain and tasteless. The La Nona restaurant was a poor choice also, the food was average and the staff slow and sometimes blatantly and knowingly rude to people. The wifi doest work in many rooms so please be aware. With regards to the staff, we found that the room cleaners/pool attendants were nice and lovely people who did their jobs in a competent and happy manner whereas the people behind the reception desk were a tad clueless and offered a slow service. That said, it's only fair to mention that the pool area is great and has panoramic views of the coast and the lobby and entrance areas are impressive. I also had the fortune to enjoy a huge, fully furnished terrace with amazing views. I do not feel however that this is a 5 star property in any way, shape or form and the rooms are fantastically overpriced given their facilities and the forgettable service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMartinih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Spent a week at the hotel and had a thoroughly
enjoyable holiday.

We stayed in a superior room with sea view.
The room was very well appointed with a small
sitting area and an excellent bathroom with walk
in shower and bath.
The room had a lot of character and a very pleasing
mediterranean colour scheme.

The food throughout the stay was excellent.Whilst
not a lover of buffets I thought the breakfast choice
was excellent.
For dinner the starter/pudding are buffet and the
main course was a choice of waiter served or
buffet. This arrangement worked very well and the
quality was very good.

The hotel staff were attentive and helpful throughout
our stay.

Although the hotel was full there is so much space
in the grounds that you would not realise it.

My one disappointment were the a la carte
restaurants.Guests on half board were allowed 2
visits during the week to the 2 a la carte restaurants.
(Only 1 was open each night).We felt that choice,
quality of food and service did not enhance the
holiday experience.The main restaurant had more
atmosphere and food quality was generally better.

Whilst Tenerife would not be our personal top choice
as a holiday destination I would have no hesitation in
revisiting the Mirador for a relaxing week in the sun....
with the bonus of no kids around .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lgd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed for a week at the El Mirador and was most impressed. This adults only Hotel is an excellently located Hotel on the Playa del Duque with a small number of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. the service was of a very good standard ( free fruit ; Cava and newspapers supplied in your room at regular intervals), the staff were friendly, available and helpful ( rang regularly to check that all was ok). We had a deluxe suite (free upgrade) which had a lounge, walk-in wardrobe, separate bathroom and bedroom with a four poster bed. Our large balcony with patio furniture had an elevated view out to sea and was a great place to relax and watch the sun go down. Breakfast was above average with a plentiul supply and choice ( including Cava again if you wanted it at that time of the day). The pool area was not amongst the largest that I have experienced but the landscaping made it feel quite private and there was never a need to 'bag' sunbeds. Whenever we had the opporunity to chat with the locals, they would often ask where we were staying and generally held that the Mirador was the best Hotel on the island, even when compared with the Bahia del Duque. Only occasional niggle was the noise caused by people walking on the tiled flooring late at night when trying to sleep. Small price to pay in all fairness.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flims, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The hotel is next to the famous Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque and looks from outside somehow similar. We stayed in all the three exklusiv hotels (Mirador, Duque, Vincci) for two nights in each hotel. Result: El Mirador is extrem special, you like it or not, check that first. The entrance to the reception is below level like you drive into the parking garage. The big lobby looks some how las vegas style. The service for the bar inside and outside is occupied from the same person and is also depot for the pool towels. It works, but you have to like that. The quality of the rooms is good. We needed to change the room, which was no problem. The staff is helpful but the service quality is not five star standard. The Hotel "Adults only" is very relaxing and you have your privat space. The breakfast area is very nice. The buffet is standard not fantastic. There were a plate with mangos and all were crumpy. Next day, the same mango were there. Nobody took them. Overall, the hotel is nice but you pay for that. Overall, we prefer to pay more and go to the Bahia del Duque or pay less and go to Vincci la Plantation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Great hotel in a lovely area. 15 mins walk to the front where the main bars are. Hotel clean and friendly , entertainment 2 star. Food always hot and fresh, half board allows you to have lunch instead of evening meals, which is great as there are loads to choose from. Ask for a room on the sunny side as sea view doesn't guarantee you one! Excellent value, most travellers were all inclusive which may be worth it as the drinks were expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 58 in Costa Adeje
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden of Eden comes to life at the Grand Hotel El Mirador in Costa Adeje. We’re sure that if Adam and Eve were around today, they would choose the best 5-star spa hotel in south Tenerife as their holiday destination. Find out why you should give into temptation and choose a hotel for adults just one minute’s walk from the beach: Paradise on earth.Views of the crystal-clear waters of Playa del Duque beach surround this beautiful, charming hotel. Plus, it’s only 5 minutes away, so you can feel the fine sand between your toes in no time at all. 1,000 m² of sensations. Try volcanic hot stone massages, chromotherapy or the sensations shower in our SPA Sensations. Relaxation guaranteed! Luxury cuisine and authentic Canarian flavours go hand in hand at our hotel. You can’t leave Tenerife without trying the spicy mojo sauce or fish fresh from the market with potatoes. Just suites and nothing but suites is what you will find at the Grand Hotel El Mirador. They are all spacious and feature a terrace for you to enjoy the 22ºC temperatures that the Fortunate Isles offer you. Silence, the sound of peace and tranquillity. The waves lapping the shore and the notes from the piano while you sip your drink are the only sounds you will hear during your break. 13 is the lucky number.At least in this hotel it is, because there are 13 rooms with access to La Balconada, the most exclusive area in this resort. It boasts a swimming pool with sea views and a luxury sun terrace where you can soak up the Tenerife sunshine. Improve your swing. Try your technique at the top 5 golf courses in Tenerife, which are all in the vicinity of this luxury hotel in Costa Adeje. Clubs at the ready, it’s the perfect chance to perfect your shot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing