We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd and last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the El Mirador. We have specifically chose to return to the hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. For some weeks prior to travelling I made contact with the Hotel directly to make special arrangements for a meal in the evening along with a request to be allocated a 'nice room' . We had booked a Junior Suite Superior (We later found out these are actually Junior Suites with a Sea Room and actually are no larger than the standard Junior Suite). Having visited the hotel in 2010 we were aware of the small reception area and limited lifts. However our greeting was rushed and the room allocated was on the 5th floor with a tiny balcony and a wire mesh screen between the balconies offering no privacy at all. The hotel did provide a wonderful meal for us on the actual day of our anniversary , however I felt it was necessary to check that the table requested had been reserved, it had not , however they were able to swop things around to accomodate our request.
We found the bar and pool area service very very slow, prices were what would be expected in a 5 star hotel, which in our opinion the El Mirador certaintly isn't.
The breakfast menu we felt was good , which is more than can be said for the evening meals with the waiters bringing your selected dish to you under a cloche then standing there saying ;one , two, three before revealing your food. (I was always hoping it would turn out to be a cream type pudding like in Fawlty Towers)
On the final Sunday before coming home the entire grass sunbathing area was roped up for a Wedding - this area I would guess takes up about 50% of the available sunbathing area. No prior notice had been given, when I complained to the assistant manager about this she informed me it was not possible to inform guests of all the functions the hotel held. I pointed out that there is nothing in their literature to indicate weddings take place and that one of the main reasons the hotel is visited is to allow sunbathing activity to take place. In fairness she did provide us with access to the 'Balcony' area for 2 days free of charge.
Overall the El Mirador was always a good 4 star hotel , we believe it is now an avearge to poor 4 star with 5 star prices - we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Superior and Junior Suites are the same except Superior has a sea view, both have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank terry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear guest

First of all Congratulation! Thank you very much for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Miradoron such a special occasion. We wish you all the best,

We want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just stayed for a week at this hotel and we thought it was wonderful!. I was lucky enough to win 4 nights here through the travel trade and we added on the extra 3 to make a week and we are so glad we did. The hotel reception was very welcoming on our arrival with a glass of beer or cava whilst we were checked in, and then the porter showed us to our room. We only had the standard junior suite but we were very happy with this. the bed wasnt as comfortable as ours at home but then they never are - and was 2 singles fixed together. We had a welcome bottle of cava and fruit in the room too. It was always clean and well attended, although turn down was missed one night. You get a couple of complimentary bottles of water in your room each day which is useful, particularly as it was very hot last week. We were on half board and the food we thought was superb. Breakfast there was a big choice of different options with a chef cooking hot food so it was always freshly cooked. For dinner as others said the starters and desserts are buffet with the main course served at your table. the food at dinner could be a bit hit and miss as the waiters were stretched and on occasion you waited a little longer than you should have done, but hey your on holiday there is no rush! Some organisation and order of responsibility perhaps needed in the restaurant. For a 1 week stay we got a complimentary a la carte meal and we chose the Pergoda restuarant the food here went up a notch with excellent service from the 2 waiters- the only downside we could hear the radio in the kitchen which really we shouldnt have done! .
Around the hotel are some lovely boutiques and some great restaurants for lunch if you want it.
the hotel atmosphere is very quiet, mainly couples from their 40s upwards, no children allowed, so if this is your thing its fantastic.
Evening entertainment is not so good - they do have a singer or an instrument player for a little while but nothing more, very low key. suited us as we were there to relax.
I dont understand the bad reviews of this hotel as we were on half board, found the food to be very good together with the service. The waiters are attentive and do sometimes get it wrong but they really try. we had a standard junior suite on the 5th floor and we were very happy with it.
whilst we were there we were aware of a lady who had lost a bracelet on one evening and the support and help we were seeing from the restaurant staff and the hotel management seemed to be exemplary. We hope they find the ladies bracelet.
Lovely to not get a bad back from spending the day on uncomfortable hard sunbeds too - lovely mattresses making them very comfortable.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone, and my clients, who are looking for a quiet holiday in the nicer area of Costa Adeje with their 'significant other'. so long as you are looking for a chilled time with no children and have plenty of books to read you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I find very difficult to understand the negative reviews of this hotel,it is wonderful.On arrival our bags were taken to reception by Ryan,who was was very attentative and of service to us throughout our 7 day stay.At reception we were informed that we had been upgraded to the V.I.P.Balconade,an area shared by about 8 suites with its own pool,various terraces and free bar consisting of tea,coffee sort drinks,beers ,cava,fruit and innthe afternoon the pastries arrived,needless to say the room itself was 1st class.We tried several of the so called best restaurants in the area,all,apart from Rosso sur mare very disapointing,so we decided to give the hotel a go,bingo,the best food of our holiday.There are of course some very minor niggles,the toaster in the breakfast room is hopeless,a lick of paint here and ther would not go amiss,however if your idea of a holiday is to do very little,amidst lovely surroundings you won't go far wrong at the Mirador.Our room by the way was 1104.

Room Tip: go for the vip area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. Thank you for describing with so positive words our complete services and facilities.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us if you would like to visit us again.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing you experiences

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A Truely wonderful setting and great adult only Hotel. Breakfast was amazing, just about everything one could ask for. BUT..... do not leave anything behind on leaving. I left my ipod in our room and despite numerous phone calls, and emails they have STILL not returned it to me. I have asked them to put it in a padded envelope and post it,. It is the size of a matchbox plus the charger. over 3 months later I do not have my ipod and have not received any further communication.
Such a wonderful hotel, if only they valued their customers. Shame on you Iberostar.

Room Tip: higher floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We are here at Gran Mirador now...it is glorious! We have a lovely (upgraded!)suite on the Balconada area..with a private pool shared among about a dozen suites. The room is very spacious, lovely seaviews & sunbeds are best ever! Pools are not deep, but seem a little cool Not easy to get in and out though!! Perhaps Im getting old...steps/handrails would be good.
Breakfast buffet is great,,,we are even offered cava & chocs...it was rude to say No!
Dinner so far has been good too...huge buffet choice for starters & desserts, with a small choice of 4 mains, freshly cooked & brought to our table...last night there was grilled lobster as an additional choice. Weve not yet tried La Cenador a la carte restaurant, as it is only open Fri Sat Sundays, but have booked it for tomorrow!
Weve been lucky enough to have stayed in many top hotels around the world...this can match most of them!
Just one complaint...common to many hotels...the awful toaster at breakfast! Can Dyson invent a commercial toaster that actually works...i.e.delivers HOT toast...not warm dry bread! Or can hotels just put baskets of toast out individually to tables when tea/coffees are ordered?

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a Balconada suite...or pay the bit extra...open bar for beer cava coffee et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeshakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,

In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador for so a important moment like holidays. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome.

Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from a 14 night stay at the Iberostar Grand Hotel el Mirador and very much enjoyed our stay. I can understand a few of the comments made by a previous reviewer about the management and one of the receptionists but on the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and the few criticisms that we had in no way spoilt our holiday and we would return.

On the whole we found the receptionists to be friendly and as helpful as possible; however, on our arrival the room we had booked was not available and the receptionist on duty seemed evasive and gave us two different versions as to why (one that the room hadn’t been cleaned and then, when we persisted, that there was a problem with the room). We were given an upgrade to a full suite which was large and very nice but not in such a good position as the room booked. The following morning we went back to reception and eventually were able to move to our first choice of room; this was a beautiful Junior Suite Deluxe on the 6th floor, with a huge terrace and a shady square turret with lots of furniture.

Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, although the many artificial dust collecting plants (in both first and second suites) should be thrown away! I think the rooms are now getting a bit old fashioned with old style TVs and could do with updating but this in no way affects the quality of your stay. Our booking was made direct with Iberostar at the last minute and we had an excellent deal. On talking to other guests we found that they were paying much more than us; had we been paying their price I would fell more critical of the room.

The staff, generally, were fantastic and couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful, they all seemed very happy in their work and the overall atmosphere in the hotel was cheerful.
The position of the hotel is great. It overlooks a lovely beach and there are lots of good restaurants within a very short walk. The stand-out restaurant is the Torre del Mirador where upstairs there is a sunset view section and downstairs diners are treated to easy listening music and singing by Ged Roberts. It is also only 20 minutes walk along the coast from the pretty village, La Caleta, where there are several more good restaurants.

We loved the unusual underground-tunnel hotel entrance and the hotel reception area, which, although rather dark, had the feel of a Spanish Manor house (or at least what I imagine that to be like).

The hotel restaurants were good and we ate in the hotel 7 of 14 nights. The buffet restaurant provided an excellent choice for both breakfast and dinner and we particularly enjoyed Saturday night when a violinist was playing. The Pergola restaurant was also very good and felt quite exclusive. The A la Carte was our least favourite, although we did eat there twice, but those with a good appetite might leave feeling they had just had a starter! When we checked in to the hotel we were told that if we wanted to eat at either the Pergola or the A la Carte we must book with reception in advance; however, in reality that is not essential and each time we ate in either we just turned up and there was plenty of availability.

The main pool is fantastic although a little on the cool side and we found no problem with the steps. We were unable to try the other pool which is reserved for Balconada guests. Most days the bar staff would appear with a cocktail-of-the-day for guests in the gardens; nice touch! We loved the fact that there were no children in the hotel so the pool was always very quiet.
The hotel grounds are spacious and well kept, with plenty of sun-loungers and umbrellas for everyone; however there is the usual problem with selfish guests who, before breakfast, reserve their favourite position leaving those who come to the pool ready to sit down choosing from least popular positions. Frequently these guests don’t return to their reserved beds until lunchtime! I was so tempted to remove their towels and pile them all into one big heap!!! I wish hotels would do something about this.

Depending on the wind direction occasionally there was a smell of sewage; not the fault of the hotel, but noticeable generally in the area. We thought it might be coming from the rough ground between the El Mirador and the Del Duque but as it was sometimes not noticeable we might be wrong.

One last small criticism; we like to play table tennis and were delighted to find there was a good table; however .... the bats were in an appalling state with the rubber peeling off and the table is in a bad position so that if a shot is unreturned it is likely to be irretrievably lost outside the hotel grounds. As a consequence the only ball available was soon gone and no-one could play again!! Please move the table and purchase a box of balls and new bats!

Overall we very much enjoyed our holiday and would return. Five years ago we stayed at the nearby Sheraton La Caleta, which we also enjoyed, but the lack of children, the spacious suite and lovely grounds at the El Mirador have given this the edge for us.

Oh dear this is a long review, apologies!

Room Tip: De-luxe junior suites have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Gran Hotel El Mirador. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your motivating words with our team. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.

We would like to apologize for “any “situation under our standards” .Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Despite a bad experience the last time we visited we decided to give it another try. We were extremely disappointed, the room we were allocated was not acceptable, strange mells and restricted view. The Concierge tried to make light of the smells in the room by telling us a long story the point of which was "it could be worse". Please also note that very few of the staff were Spanish, most were English and other nationalities, not that this was a problem but they all tried to keep their nationality a secret.....why?

Our complaints were pretty much ignored and we were offered an upgrade (at our own expense). An ineresting feature of the room was that when the occupants of the floor above had a shower dirty water dripped through the ceiling of our shower. Some of the segregation between the rooms on the baloconies is none existent, not really acceptable for a 5 star hotel.

The food was pretty average and included the "bought in" pre-prepared meals that anyone with knowledge of the catering trade would recognise. The buffet display in terms of quality and quantity was heading towards pathetic (2 star standard) when one of these customer survey teams arrived, low and behold the next day it was 5 star standard. The waiter service was a bit pot luck, although at least one of the waiters was extremely helpful with wine etc. The prices were what you would expect in a 5 star.

The reason I believe why a lot of previous reviews give it full marks is because there are a handful of rooms that are superb, the rest are on a sliding scale to zero, also I don't think most of these reviewers were on half board. The best rooms are in the "central" block 4th floor and above.

We have stayed in this hotel four times and our previous stays were very good (in parts). We had nice rooms but the food was always a bit variable.

For the Iberostar on-line manager who responds to the reviews to say that he apologises that any travellers experience was not up to standard, I think that this is just a way of saying, don't come back if you are not happy, the fact that we spent £3000 seems to be of little importance. Some on site management is what is required.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations, the head departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations. We always take into our consideration any client complain. This feedback gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Concerning the view, we would like to remark that we dispose of various categories of rooms corresponding to different view ranges and prices.

Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £212 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing holiday experience in Costa Adeje awaits at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. Whether it's going shopping at the best shops, practicing your golf swing, or sampling amazing cuisine with the flair of the Canary Islands, this 5-star hotel in Costa Adeje offers you the best. The 124 suites of the Grand Hotel El Mirador offer an excellent opportunity to fall a little more in love with your partner. They're a mixture of a warm ambiance, exclusive services and details such as a canopy bed, dressing room, and living room, while nearly every room has views of Playa del Duque. La Balconada also allows you to enjoy a VIP zone with a pool and solarium for just a select few. Discover a hotel that's only for guests 16 years of age and up and that includes: SPA Sensations, fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, an impressive outdoor pool, meeting rooms, doorman service, three restaurants and two bars, among other select services and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing