We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hotel, deserving of its 5 star rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel, with my husband, from 21 August- 31 August 2012 and could not fault the service,cleanliness,food or facilities. The best way to arrive at this hotel is by taxi, as unlike other resort hotels there is a private entrance down a sweeping drive, inaccessible to coaches.You arrive at a tranquil entrance hall decorated with palms and small ponds and furnished with comfortable chairs and are greeted by the first of the many attentive staff you will meet and are ushered to a small reception where you are invited to sit, rather than stand to check in. As you check in, you are offered a drink of your choice.We were shown to room 1508, a junior suite, ocean view, sole use, on the 5th floor. A covered walkway leads to these rooms, with views of the surrounding mountains, including volcano Teide.The room consists of a small dressing/storage room; a large bathroom, with bath, seperate toliet and bidet, seperate shower cubicle, and two basins;supesize half canopied bed, which we found comfortable, being firmer rather than soft; screen and step to sitting area, with 2 seater sofa and 2 charis, TV and coffee table;patio doors to private balcony overlooking shopping centre, promenade and beach.The room is decorated in a colonial style with ample storage space and plenty of mirrors, power points and lights. The air conditioning was effective and we found we could sleep with it on its first setting. The room would benefit from a fresh coat of paint but was spotlessly clean, with daily maid service and regular "turn down" service. Another nice touch was daily complementary bottled water.The El Mirador (meaning viewpoint) has, as the name suggests an advantageous position overlooking the Playa del Duque, renown as the premier beach in the Costa Adeje. The beach is a mixture of black volcanic sand and imported blond sand and may not be to everyones' taste, but is clean and safe to swim in. The hotel itself sits in an elevated position, so from the small garden area you have an uninterrupted view of the ocean from your day bed. The pool area is extremely peaceful, with plenty of beds, parosols and free towels. The pool attendant, Angelo,is happy to move parosols and day beds into your preferred position and was around the pool area every day of our 10 day stay.We preferred to move our beds onto the grass, using the shade of the palm trees, as the patio area reflected the heat.The lagoon style pool is warm and shallow, inviting you to relax rather than swim. It is very clean, with regular water checks being completed by the maintanence team. There were a few young people at this hotel, although we had booked it as being adults only, however they were quiet and respectful.We were on half board and ate at all three restaurants. Breakfast is buffet style, with extensive hot and cold selection, catering for the needs of guests from Russia, Germany, Holland, France and Italy, as well as UK.Cava is on offer as well as the more usual tea(including herbal), coffee and juice.Dinner is buffet starter,choice from a menu for main, and self service desert. In our 10 day stay the main menu was different each day.The food was cooked well and the cold buffet was on cold fed marble plinths.The chef offered special starters or sweets daily and occasionally there was complementary honey rum.The wine list was good but there was no problem with ordering just water or beer.We had a complementary meal in the La Pergola restaurant, overlooking the pool, where the food was excellent and another in the El Cenador al a carte restaurant, where the food was of high quality.We found all the staff in this hotel attentive and friendly.There are a couple of things I would suggest to improve the guest experience: the shower could be more powerful; there could be better lighting in the bathroom, so you can use the magnifying mirror more effectively; and we would have preferred it if smoking was prohibited from the outside resataurant area as well as the inside. I wish I could take this hotel to wherever I decide to travel to next!

Room Tip: Book "sole use" as this means you get your own balcony:rooms in Balconada(VIP) area share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lilbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel, and could not fault it in anyway.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we sadly checked out, everything was perfect.
Travelled with a friend, and we know the area well as we stay in Adeje 3 -4 times a year. Have stayed at many of the 5* hotels in this area - ie Sheraton, vinnci plantacion del sur, anthelia, tacande, but have to say this was luxury on a different level.
On arrival through the underground passage which incidently I thought was stunning, we were welcomed with a glass of cava whilst we were quickly and proffesionally checked in by Daniel.Escorted to our room, which was 1409, and shown where everything was located. The view from our balcony was beautiful.
Thought that the furnishings were delightful, and not in anyway shabby. the beds were extremely comfortable and i slept better here than in my own bed at home
we were only staying on a bed and breakfast basis, so cannot comment on the quality or service of the evening dining, but thought the choice at breakfast was excellent, and the staff, friendly, polite and courteous , overseen by davide, but was an absoulute star, assisting guests, but not in an intrusive manner.
it was wonderful to sit outside, and linger over breakfast, enjoying a glass or two of cava.
I know you can only go off your own personal experience, but cannot undertand how anyone can find fault with this hotel on any level.
To say that one of the problems encountered was that the hotel was full of russian guests!!!
Yes there were russian guests there, as well as french, spanish, and of course us brits, but surely they are entitled to holiday there as much as anyone else.
I would say ignore the negative reviews, and see for yourself.
we cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: think most rooms have a sea view but request a high floor for the most uninterupted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank risingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 on a half board basis.
Hotel staff very friendly, varied choice of food from breakfast buffet. Dinners were amazing, every night different menu, with varied choice of main courses like rabbit, local fish, octopus veil and many others, plus hot and cold buffet, lovely desserts and great choice of wine (drinks not included in the half board). Everything well presented and of a great taste. Hotel grounds, swimming pool and lobby fabulous. Unfortunately we haven't had the chance to use the swimming pool area, as by the time when we finished breakfast and headed to the pool all the sun loungers were reserved by more competitive guests. A tip for this occasion would be to get up early, got to the pool, grab a towel and reserve a lounger. Leave your book and sun lotion to make the statement. If you are not so bothered by staying at the pool, the beach is only 5 min away. Hotel provides beach towels for free, so you can grab one or two from the pool area and head to the beach. Sun loungers on the beach are €19.50 for two beds and the parasol. We stayed in a second floor junior suite with a decent size terrace and sun loungers, which was a very nice addition. Rooms great, decorated in an oriental style, just as you would see on the pictures., safe, bathrobes and sleepers. Nice, big bathroom with separate bath and shower, separate walk-in closet. The downside was the double bed that was made of two twin beds and the constant smell of cigarettes in the room, which could be coming through the air-conditioning system. For non-smokers like us it was quite noticeable. Also the air-conditioning unit was pretty loud at night. Earplugs are a must if you are a light sleeper. The hotel was very quiet and the whole are was as well. There are few bars in the area that provide some night live music but that is it, so if you looking for something more you will have to get in a cab and venture somewhere further. Overall very pleasant stay, great and always smiling hotel staff, great food. We had a great time. And would go back again.

Room Tip: If you are non-smoker ask for a room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty_13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Management at this hotel are pathetic, they pay no attention to what is going on. I can only agree with some of the previous comments and for the hotel management to respond to negative reviews by saying they are sorry - what about the 4000 Euros they have just taken from me??

1. the rooms are very poorly furnished, i.e. dated and worn
2. the bath/shower room was smelly (but clean) and no door on the wc.
3. breakfast was very poor, little choice and buffet poorly presented with refridgeration a problem
4. dinner was repetetive (main corse being brought to your table) i.e. repeatedly not good with the same commets applying to the buffet as above
5. pool area beautiful but suffering from lack of supervision

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.


We feel sad and disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, and we regret that the room was not of your liking. One awakes admiring the beauty of the Atlantic Ocean from one of the 120 rooms of this hotel: 18 Junior suites, 70 Superior junior suites, 22 Deluxe suites with living area and terrace, 8 ultra-luxurious suites, the lush Presidential Suite and another Royal with large terraces and private Jacuzzi, and in the case of the Royal Suite, a large living room as well. The rooms include four-poster beds, separate dressing rooms, bathroom accessories and linen, safe, satellite TV, personalized mini-bar and internet access subject to availability. We even have a space for the privileged; the ‘Balconada’ is the name of the hotel’s 'reserved area' for VIP’s. With private gardens, swimming pool with restricted access, solarium ... there are 2 suites and 7 Junior deluxe suites available in this area where you can enjoy special and attentive hospitality throughout your stay, early and late check-out subject to availability, linen and pillow menu, DVD player and film menu, traditional ‘Tea & Coffee Time’ service, fruit selection, champagne service and free access to the Thai Zen SPAce. Maybe the room type you booked was not the one that best fits your preferences, therefore we would like to kindly suggest you to contact our call center before booking your next Iberostar holiday in order to assist and guide you in a personalized and individual way to assure you become exactly the type of accommodation that you are wishing for.
Regarding our gastronomical performance, we would like to point out that we attempt to offer exquisite taste, no matter if it is regarding our tapas, seafood or paellas, or even the haute cuisine of the Canary Islands. As a gastronomy hotel, the Grand Mirador, offers its guests not only three restaurants with national and international menus, but also the choice of the Iberostar Grand Hotel Antelias, coupled with the Bar La Tosca with all kinds of drinks and a variety of delicious teas and coffees. We find it very unfortunate none of these seem to have pleased you and we passed your constructive critics to the responsible persons of the culinary department to make sure they are attentive to the continuous meeting of our demanding quality standards.

Further we are pleased to see that you did find that the pool area is very beautiful and the cleaning was done in a way it satisfied your needs. In Iberostar we always strive to surpass the expectations of our guests and therefore in our daily labors we attempt to offer a closely and personalized service, it would be a pleasure to may receive you again in the near future to demonstrate that it is our wish and our goal to make you feel comfortable and to provide you with the optimal conditions to enjoy a sublime holiday. Once again, we are sorry that this time we haven´t been successful in achieving our target which is maximum customer satisfaction.

With friendly regards we stay at your disposal,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I have just returned from a stay at this hotel and was appalled at the standards I encountered at this so called 5 star resort. Despite raising my concerns on arrival to the manager and in writing to the travel agent - nothing was done to improve the situation. I have outlined just SOME of the problems we encountered.....

1. buffet breakfast and dinner was not refrigerated meaning the food was a stomach upset waiting to happen and in one instance my mother opened a sealed cheese triangle to find it was rotten inside!!

2. The hotel was full of Russian guests.

3. The evening menu each night consisted of 3 main course choices - chicken (which was served partially cooked and raw in the middle!!), fish or rabbit - covered in a variety of sauces to disguise how badly cooked and tasting they were.

4. The pool was dirty

5. They have a severe problem with the drains at this hotel which smelt revolting

6. The beds were ROCK hard - its like sleeping on metal - i had to steal a sun lounger cushion to put on my bed. I say steal because I asked the manager to provide me with one and instead they put 2 dirty baby changing mats on my bed!!!! This in a 5 star resort.... disgusting!

7. the airconditioning in the rooms didnt work

I would not advise anyone go to this hotel - it has to be one of the worst I have been to. The view and location is lovely and the staff generally are great but they are working with poor facilities and the hotel is desperately in need of renovation or upgrade.

I voiced all my concerns to the manager of the hotel who said that the lack of refrigeration for meats and salads was fine and that it was normal in their country not to keep meat cool!!! what??? the meat looked awful and had flies circling it - even the chef at the hot meal counter was cooking eggs and then dripping raw egg on the cooked food.... I was just totally aghast at this.

Next time I will go to the 4 Seasons which actually costs less and is fabulous in every way.

Iberostar has really disappointed me on this trip and it will be unlikely that I will ever stay in another one again - they have just lost a good customer.

I don't understand why people rate this hotel so highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JaneYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Jane,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations, and we are grateful that you shared your experience, as this will guide us to adapt our services to achieve maximum customer satisfaction.

Nevertheless we would like to make a few remarks on some of your observations.

First of all it is our pleasure to restore your confidence on the conditions of our buffet. We regularly pass a health inspection and our facilities are always rated within Spanish legislation, therefore we can absolutely guarantee that what must be refrigerated is kept cool at all times. Nevertheless once more we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for the incident with the sealed cheese triangle. Like we explained right after the occurrence, there was a failure in the party delivered by our provider and we immediately complaint about it.

Regarding the evening meals we deeply regret that our daily efforts to prepare them accordingly to your particular culinary wishes, couldn´t satisfy you.

In relation to our pool we are very sorry not to have been informed about any dissatisfaction during your stay. It would have been a pleasure to immediately correct any situation that is not meeting our demanding quality standards. Exactly our recently repainted pool is one of our installations we are more proud about and it makes us feel sad you could not fully enjoy it.

To continue please permit us to explain that the origin of the smell you mention is completely independent of our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador and that is why we can only apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that this will be solvent by the city hall services as soon as possible as this affects all the area and establishments localized within it.

Finally we would like to express our disappointment about your discomfort regarding the bed. As you informed us about this after your first night rest and then confirmed that after changing the mattress you were comfortable, we rest reassured that the inconvenience was solved. If we would have known you weren´t completely satisfied we would have searched until finding a matching solution.

Before saying goodbye, we want to thank you for letting us know that the fabulous location and the precious views were of your liking and that you could enjoy the prime pillar of our establishment, being the excellence in the treat of our customers by our staff. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is an important factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction. This is why all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. It strengthens our determination to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed their work at our hotel and we will take in consideration all your constructive comments to learn how we can still improve some of our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future and surprise you positively by achieving your complete satisfaction.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

this is not an adults only hotel
reception informed me they accept children over 14.
we have just got back from ten nights and there was at least three children under 14.
when you want peace and quiet around the pool and have to listen to ball games , water guns,
it is not what you expect.we have been twice before in last 18 months and not encountered anything like this on previous visits
there is now a scrum every morning just to get a towel plenty of sun beds no towels.
The complimentary glass of cava at 12 oclock no longer arrives .
there is a strange smell that seems to come and go around the hotel .
last comment did anybody else notice the ignorant russian man constantly shouting down his phone .thats the last straw for my wife and i will not return to this what used to be only three months ago fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room 1503 not at smelly end of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 1Duncf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are very sad not to have been able to do so on this occasion.

Nevertheless we would like to point out that in our hotel “adults only” the entrance is only permitted to persons of an age over 14 years. To guarantee this we have different procedures. One of them is the surveillance of our lifeguard by the pool. As he notices inappropriate behavior of adolescents playing with airbeds, balls or other articles that might disturb the quietness in this area, he immediately removes the disturbing items assuring like this that no one is bothered and everyone can enjoy the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

Regarding the smell you mention, our technical department is been informed and our technicians are trying to solve the inconvenience.

We are very sorry to hear that you have no intention to return, as for us the lost of a repeating guest is tragic and we would be delighted to may serve you again to make a definitive and lasting good impression on you. This is why we would be honored to receive you once more, assuring in advance our utmost care and attention in order to satisfy all your expectation.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a hotel !!!
Nice reception. Very nice swimming pool area. No children aloud. So if you want a quiet holiday, this is the place to be. The rooms were beautiful, but they are getting a little bit old. I think some of them need a refreshment. Our shower faucet broke down and my lavabo was broken, there was a problem with the mattress of my bed. But i have to say, that they have solved the problems immediatly!!!The food in the restaurant was very, very good. You can choose between the main restaurant or 2 a la carte restaurants. The staff was very friendly, especially in the restaurants and the bar. I think this is one of the best hotels on the island.
We will certainly go back !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with see view. I think most of the rooms have see view. When you want a good see vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davylavreysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 61 in Costa Adeje
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#3 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#1 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#1 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £215 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing holiday experience in Costa Adeje awaits at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. Whether it's going shopping at the best shops, practicing your golf swing, or sampling amazing cuisine with the flair of the Canary Islands, this 5-star hotel in Costa Adeje offers you the best. The 124 suites of the Grand Hotel El Mirador offer an excellent opportunity to fall a little more in love with your partner. They're a mixture of a warm ambiance, exclusive services and details such as a canopy bed, dressing room, and living room, while nearly every room has views of Playa del Duque. La Balconada also allows you to enjoy a VIP zone with a pool and solarium for just a select few. Discover a hotel that's only for guests 16 years of age and up and that includes: SPA Sensations, fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, an impressive outdoor pool, meeting rooms, doorman service, three restaurants and two bars, among other select services and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing