We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best ever holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“My best ever holiday hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

My key test for a hotel rests in the quality of staff they employ and the training they give them; on that basis El Mirador is superb.

From the ebulliently cheerful welcome from the bellman, to the huge smile and "hola" from the maintenance man as he interrupted his work to step aside to let us pass, to the smiling "good morning" from the housekeepers and the restaurant staff, to the gracious smiling welcome from the hotel manager .... the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the hotel. And they capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest.

Grand Hotel El Mirador is indeed grand. The architecture resembles a Moorish palace and the atmosphere is that of staying as a guest in exactly such a place. It's an adults-only hotel and combined with the rambling layout of the hotel and its grounds that results in a gloriously quiet and relaxing environment. The area around the pool is a particular delight with huge lawn a and paved areas casually, almost randomly, divided into smaller private areas with shrubs and palm trees in abundance. I suspect 200 people could lay and wander around the pool and still retain a feeling of peacefulness and solitude. The pool itself is a long, thin, meandering affair at the side looking almost like a natural rock lake. The sunbeds, by the way, are unusually comfortable and covered with mattress and towelling mattress cover. I have to mention the main "chair and towel" man - Angelo - who never waited to be asked if we needed help and always greeted his guests with a huge smile.

Our room was, I suspect, the cheapest in the hotel and it was no better than wonderfully spacious and comfortable. It was a long, thin suite consisting of walk-in closet, bathroom/toilet with stand-ip shower as well as in-bath shower, bedroom with a vast double bed (two large singles pushed together actually, but very comfortable), an open plan sitting area with 2-seater sofa, 2 small armchairs and TV, and a small terrace with two chairs and a table. The room had a largely mountain view with a side view (just) of the sea.

We were on the top (sixth) floor of the hotel and right at the southern end of the hotel, and I think that our room and that next door (numbers 1601 and 1602) were the only rooms without sea view. The access to the room was along a quirkily zig-zag outdoor balcony, and all the other rooms (in fact this is an all-suite hotel) were along one side. An occasional glance inside those rooms showed them to be much bigger than ours, and some had full private terraces and pergolas.

We used the main restaurant for breakfast every day, and a few times for dinner. The variety and quality of the food was excellent, and the 3-course dinner (buffet starter and dessert with a choice of 6 mains served at your table) was fantastic value at 35 Euros. The staff were uniformly cheerful, helpful and efficient but again I need to mention two people who were absolutely determined to ensure that we had everything exactly as we would lime it - Head Chef Pascal Bautes and senior waiter Juan - who helkped to make every meal a pleasure!

We also had lunch a few times at one of the two a la carte restaurants - La Pergola - which demonstrated an equally high standard.

When this hotel was built into the steep hillside behind the beach someone had a clever idea! They also built a small shopping centre to "connect" the hotel to the promenade, so that access to the promenade is down a few sets of enclosed wooden staircases through the multilevel shops. This area also contains three very good restaurants and a lively music bar which provide excellent alternatives to the hotel restaurants. I can recommend Soba (a Thai style restaurant with a limited menu) and Acanto (the music bar) which serves very good snacks for lunch and then becomes a night-time cocktail bar with live music. Torre del Mirador is also good but more of the "home-cooking" style and quite expensive for what it provides.

A few minutes south along the promenade are more restaurants and a small shopping mall (Centro Comerciale Paris) and then 5 minutes further up the hill is the ultra-smart and very new Centro Comerciale del Duque which is full of boutiques and expensive shops.

I started by saying how wonderful the staff are at this hotel, and having already mentioned a few by name I cannot end without mentioning two of the Reception staff - Tom and Paola - who worked so hard to make sure that I had everything they could provide. By very bad planning I was at the hotel on the day of NFL Superbowl, and I asked them if the match was being shown on Spanish TV. They found that it was, and arranged to have it shown in their public TV room JUST FOR ME from 11pm until the early hours. Wow! And at every turn they were so helpful with information, advice and assistance.

And that leads me to the one bad thing I have to say about the hotel, the one problem that all the efforts of Tom and Paola could not resolve. Internet access is AWFUL. The signal was so weak in my room that although my laptop connected it could not achieve access. This may have been because my room was at the furthest possible location from the router (extreme end of top floor) but I doubt that. When I took my laptop to the ground floor lounge, the signal strength was excellent but connection was sloooow and very patchy. Simple site access would often take several minutes, and it seemed that evry ten minutes or so the access simp,y dropped out. The hotel really does need to take technical steps to correct this problem - and that means spending some money on equipment!

El Mirador is a great place for a peaceful holiday, in a great location. It is without doubt the best holiday hotel (for my needs) that I have stayed at anywhere in the world, and I am already planning a return trip as soon as I possibly can!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Marty,

What a delight to read your extensive review full of wonderful comments on our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. We always strive to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

Regarding the incidence with the internet connections, we want to apologies once more for the inconvenience during the update of the software to make it faster. This uncomfortable situation is now largely solved and we are happy to be able to offer a smooth and quick connection.

On the other hand, we are delighted and we want to thank you for highlighting the comfort and spotlessness of our rooms, the lovely pool area, the beautiful location, and the quality of our culinary performances as also the first class attention received from our outstanding staff. We see that you enjoyed what for us is basic: a stay where you can feel as at home with the great advantage of benefiting from a wide range of services to fully enjoy your holiday.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    245
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
122
1,075
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just returned from a five day break with a friend and stayed at this beautiful hotel. Everything about it was lovely - the building itself is stunning and very spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble - special thanks to the guys who move the sunbeds and umbrellas around - you do a great job ! We had a fifth floor room with sea view which was just lovely. We had bed and breakfast - so much choice for the breakfast - and had lunch sometimes in the hotel which was good and also visited the nearby bars and restaurants. Our favourites were La Torre del Mirador in the evening - great atmosphere/food and music and also Restaurant Manantial de la Caleta - an unpretentious restaurant serving excellent food. Both are very near the hotel. This is just a perfect place to relax - beautiful grounds with plenty of space for everyone Would we go back ? Absolutely !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Janie,
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We also thank you for letting us know that our breakfast could largely satisfy you. The gastronomy is an important pillar of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquest yours.

Further, we would like to thank you for highlighting how tasteful our rooms are decorated. We find it most important to offer comfortable and attractive accommodation and it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the pleasant décor, the marvelous setting and the wonderful surroundings and views.
Last but not least, we are grateful for the nice comments related to our staff, it is satisfying to see that we achieved our main goal, being that you feel welcome and enjoy our desire to serve you.

In name of all of the staff, we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us and we would be honored to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just returned from a week in this hotel.
Everything about this hotel was excellent with one small exception.
On odd occasions the served main course in the buffet restaraunt was not up to the high standard of the rest of the experience.
Bill H

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear William,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. Therefore, we shared your constructive critics regarding our culinary offer with our chefs who committed to continue dedicating their finest attention to detail when it comes to remarkably prepared food.

Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your week holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tenerife.

Yours sincerely,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We just came back from celebrating our wedding anniversary in this lovely hotel where we spent five unforgettable days. The whole staff to name a few (assistant manager Yara, the restaurant managers Francisco and Javier, Plamen and his colleague chefs, Mercedes from the spa) more than exceeded our expectations. We were spoiled with special treats and attention from the moment we arrived at the hotel. Thank you everybody for making our stay an unforgettable experience
Regarding the hotel and facilitates I fully agree with all other positive reviews –beautifully decorated rooms, breathtaking views, lavish gardens, lovely pools and fine sandy beach across form the hotel. The spa and the treatments are great as well. Mercedes and her colleges are doing a fantastic job☺
There are great running conditions which can easily guarantee a 10km run along the scenic coast.
No negatives at all. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.
And here’s a tip- if by chance a fish bone gets stuck in your throat just eat some soft bread and don’t make a big noise about it…. unless of course you want to be treated with free dinner at the fabulous La Pergola ☺
Grateful thanks to the hotel management and the whole staff once more.
We will definitely go back there again

Room Tip: Take a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vesi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear guest,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to receive such a fantastic response to our efforts of being there for our guests, pampering them with the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. All our team is focused on the developing of an authentic culture of luxury service and your praising comments are the best reward for our daily work.

We look forward to receiving you again at your earliest convenience to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Enjoy some early sun in April. This part of Tenerife is just right for this time of year. The hotel is beautifully done. Excellent service and excellent food with a choice of restaurants. Remember to book though! On the slightly expensive side but well worth it for some luxury and a 'kid free' zone! Beautiful location/view too if you want to nip out to the sea front (2mins walk) or just hang around the pool. The two smartly dressed ladies in charge/on duty at times throughout, added to the service with their welcoming smiles, humour and concern for ensuring our stay was as it should be.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Gary,

Thank you for describing with so much details our complete services and facilities. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador. It is very pleasant to see that with you we have made our goal to offer a really good and relaxing holiday.

We are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff and gastronomical delights are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

We look forward to receiving you again soon and we assure you that we will go the extra mile to provide you with another authentic Iberostar experience.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Really enjoyed a week at this excellent hotel. Liked it from the word go. Great check in with a welcome drink; lovely and efficient staff everywhere; rooms more like suites, very spacious and comfortable. Great breakfast and restaurants. Stylish, lovely pool and beach nearby. No negatives at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Not all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 342Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Patrick,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador pretends to be a true paradise of relaxation, for adults only. Therefore we are delighted to read that our environment and fantastic gardens, exclusive rooms with ocean views and exquisite cuisine has transported you to an unequalled world of sensations. Our outstanding staff goes the extra mile to turn your stay into an unforgettable experience and we will certainly congratulate them for the praising words you used to describe their service, characterized by its proximity and personalization.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and we send you our best regards,

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is an amazing resort hotel. We spent a fantastic 10 days enjoying the luxury. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you go half board as we did, the breakfast is excellent but the dinner buffet can gat a bit tiresome. The a la carte restaurants are good and local alternatives make a pleasant change. Smoking in restaurants still bugs me and Continental Europeans just don't seem to understand how times have moved on.

All rooms have a sea view but go for one with the larger balcony where its nice to have the occasional sundowner.

There's no air conditioning!! Despite what he brochure tells you, it's a fan and the thermostat does nothing. Whether that changes in summer I don't know but January was unusually warm and the rooms get hot - we had to sleep with patio doors and curtains wide open.

Room Tip: Always the best you can afford but the big balconies are a definite plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing your recent stay with so much praise. We are delighted to read that you felt welcome in our Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, as it is very pleasant to see that with you we have made our goal to offer a really good and relaxing holiday.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff very nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Creta Grand Hotel El Mirador and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden of Eden comes to life at the Grand Hotel El Mirador in Costa Adeje. We’re sure that if Adam and Eve were around today, they would choose the best 5 star spa hotel in south Tenerife as their holiday destination. Find out why you should give into temptation and choose a hotel for adults: ● Paradise on earth.Views of the crystal-clear waters of Playa del Duque beach surround this beautiful, charming hotel. Plus, it’s only 5 minutes away, so you can feel the fine sand between your toes in no time at all. ● 1,000 m² of sensations. Try volcanic hot stone massages, chromotherapy or the sensations shower in our SPA Sensations. Relaxation guaranteed! ● Luxury cuisine and authentic Canarian flavours go hand in hand at our hotel. You can’t leave Tenerife without trying the spicy mojo sauce or fish fresh from the market with potatoes. ● Just suites and nothing but suites is what you will find at the Grand Hotel El Mirador. They are all spacious and feature a terrace for you to enjoy the 22ºC temperatures that the Fortunate Isles offer you. ● Silence, the sound of peace and tranquillity. The waves lapping the shore and the notes from the piano while you sip your drink are the only sounds you will hear during your break. ● 13 is the lucky number.At least in this hotel it is, because there are 13 rooms with access to La Balconada, the most exclusive area in this resort. It boasts a swimming pool with sea views and a luxury sun terrace where you can soak up the Tenerife sunshine. ● Improve your swing. Try your technique at the top 5 golf courses in Tenerife which are all in the vicinity of this luxury hotel in Costa Adeje. Clubs at the ready, it’s the perfect chance to perfect your shot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing