We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went before......can't wait to get back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Went before......can't wait to get back”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a great stay here in September 2012. Upon arrival we were offered complimentary drinks whilst we checked in. We found we had been upgraded! Brilliant! This has never happened before.
The room was outstanding! The views! Well we couldn't believe the standard of service. We have stayed in 5 star hotels many times before but this is something else! I would suggest you spend a little more money and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    254
    76
    27
    12
See reviews for
129
1,116
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I just spent our first holiday together without the kids! at this wonderful hotel. Staff superb,room superb,food superb,view superb, pool absolutely superb! I've now ran out of superbs. Please don't all book next June because thats when we will return and will need a room! Steve and Kath

Room Tip: Junior suite is fine, as all rooms have spectacular seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from spending a week in the El Mirador, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and were treated like we were the only guests in the place. Checking in was done quickly, helped by a complementary drink from the bar during the process. The room we were allocated was rm 1309 on 3rd floor, very spacious and well presented, a beautiful balcony with great views of the sea.
Breakfast at the El Mirador was great, with a choice of hot or cold dishes. I was impressed with the choice laid out, this even included Caviar. My partner and I had booked a couple of trips, which required us to be up and out early each morning, breakfast was between 07.30 - 10.30 however they opened the dinning room at 07.00 in order for us to have an early breakfast.
The pool area was great, even though the hotel was full we were able to get a sunbed with mattress each morning without having to run down early and place your towels on the bed. Because this is a child free hotel, the pool area was really peaceful and a relaxing place just to lounge around doing nothing.
On our last day we had to check out at 12.00 noon, we weren't leaving until 18.00hrs and were worried about what we would do to fill in the time. Not a problem, the Hotel offered us a Courtesy room at 16.00 for 45 mins free of charge, we were able to spend our day around the pool relaxing after which we were able to shower and change ready for our journey home.
This is a brilliant hotel where the guest is King. I never saw one member of staff without a smile on their face and if you asked for anything, they would have it done within minutes. I will have no hesitiation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
The only negative point of our stay was leaving.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Well this was our fourth year in a row spending 10 nights in the El Mirador and this year again we had a fantastic relaxing holiday. From arrival to departure it was a really wonderful experience, the staff, the maids, the food, the room, everything about this hotel makes it hard for us to go anywhere else on holiday it's just paradise. Special thanks to Elizabeth and Irene for their attention and helpfulness and their warm personalities, and to Davide in the restaurant making sure everything runs smoothly. You will have gathered i really recommend this hotel if your looking a bit of a pampering and a relaxing holiday in luxurious surroundings then this is it.

Room Tip: Any of the superior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miradorfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Arriving from the airport in a private transfer we drove down the private drive to the underground Foyer of the El Mirador. If first impressions count for anything this was a great start..Right from beginning the staff were professional, efficient and friendly.We were infomed at Reception that we had been upgraded, very nice. The room was pleasant and met our expectations.The view from the balcony over the sea was fantastic.The hotel is part of the Iberostar Grand Collection and we belive it desrves that rating. Food in the restaurants was reasonably priced and of a high standard. The Waiters service was excellent and friendly and added to our experience.In the immediate vicinity of the hotel is lovely little mirade of Courtyards with shops.The nearby beach is very pleasant but the sunlounger rental was slightly expensibe . The Del Duque beach area had a number of small restaurants which were all worth a visit. Further a field ( 5 minute walk) was the Playa Del Duque shopping centre , which consisted of a number of higher class shops. The main area of Costa Adeje was about a 15 minute walk, which we did on a couple of occasions but the class of the Del Duque area was a stronger draw

Room Tip: Ask for a high sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Good:

Great Location with garden and pool area enjoying an elevated position overlooking the beach. Close enough to for a quick swim in the sea but far enough away to mask the noise,

Adults only so the hotel and pool area are always quiet and relaxing.

Walking distance to many bars/restaurants of various quality and price. Also 2 supermarkets close by.

Cleanliness. Hotel is spotless. Everywhere. If you go to breakfast very early, you often see the staff on hands and knees scrubbing the floors. Our room was always cleaned early and to a high standard. Same with turn down.

The Staff. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Standard rooms are a decent size with large bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

Free underground parking is great if you have a hire car and prevents a baking hot car.

The Bar know how to mix a good cocktail.

The Bad:

Food is a mixed bag. Breakfast is very good both in variety and quality. Lunch and dinner offerings are overpriced and lacking in quality. We tried the buffet on the first night and that was enough. The starters and desserts are buffet style but the main course is ordered and bought to the table complete with cloches and grand reveal. Starter buffet is very limited and protein free, lots of salad and that's about it. For our main course, my wife chose a steak, and I had roast beef. The beef was tender but the sauce was stodgy and the mustard sauce devoid of any hint of mustard. My wife's steak had a hint of fish about it like it had been seared in the same pan with some fish. Both dishes reminded me of a Tesco Finest Ready Meal. Perfectly edible but overpriced, a little dull, and totally undeserving of the dramatic cloche reveal. If your idea of gastronomic excellence is excessive use of gold leaf, you'll love it. If you're looking for clean, fresh, well balanced flavour, you might want to pass although the desserts are very good.

Also to note is that the restaurant is a little pretentious. I was asked to change out of dress shorts into long trousers yet the guy ordering lots of champagne was permitted to wear scruffy jean shorts. A true 5* puts guest comfort first above arbitrary dress codes and is the difference between say a Four Seasons and a pseudo 5* like this hotel.



Pool Service. Not good. Most days we were offered a drink once at about 11:30 and after that, no sign of anyone taking drink orders. Often had to resort to waving our arms around to attract attention. Drinks were well made and arrived promptly but had the service been better, we could easily have spent 10 times as much on drinks by the pool so the hotel is missing out here.

Information. It would be nice to have a nightly information sheet detailing which restaurants are open the next day and what the menus are.

Check In. We arrived around 1PM. Check in is at 12 and yet our room wasn't ready nor was a bell boy available to help with our case which we had to drag up some stairs from the car park. Not a great start.

Spa, totally overpriced and probably why I never say a single guest in it all week.

WiFi. Terrible. Usable in room but by the pool so slow as to be unusable for anything but very light web browsing. Anything like Spotify, Skype, YouTube, or Netflix will not work at all. no option to pay for higher bandwidth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Arrived for a weeks break,and from arriving to our departure, we were spoilt by amazing staff throughout our stay. This is our second visit, and feel that the second visit was better than the first, which seemed impossible after our first. Elisabeth Melian greeted us at reception, and advised that we had been upgraded to a superior suite. This suite was very beautiful with amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean, and Los Cristianos in the distance, and views of hotel el duque from the other side of the balcony.

Whilst the previous writer advises children in the pool, this is incorrect. One of the special reasons that this hotel is so perfect- there are no children allowed. There is tranquility around the pool and garden areas at all time.

There is a small boutique shopping area at the front entrance of the hotel which is reached by a few sets of steps. The beach is across a small pedestrian area. This is a good quality beach.

Choice of restaurants on site is good, with el Cenador our favourite. Two young female chefs create beautiful Canarian food with flavour and taste only found in quality restaurants. The El Mirador restaurant provides a large, selective range for breakfast, and it is a delight to sit outside on the terrace for breakfast. In the evening, this same restaurant provides a large selection of foods, and we sampled lobster, king prawns, steak and other lovely dishes.

If you are on b&b, there are at least 4 quality restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel, and for the more adventurous, at La Caleta, a 20 minute walk, or taxi ride, there are many small fish restaurants, with good reputations. However, the food is good in the hotel, and you may not want to stray too far.

Light entertainment at night, with individual acts every night, but in the background, whilst you enjoy a few drinks in the lounge bar, which is partly inside and partly outside. The young lady who looks after this area is Kristina, who is a delight and a national treasure. A warm welcome and a beautiful smile every time you visit the bar. We met numerous nice people at the bar, and in particular Hans and Hilda from Belgium, and Mark and Tracey from South Wales. Many good laughs had by all.

The cleanliness of all aspects this hotel is second to none, and you cannot fault any member of staff, who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Just ask if it is not there, and they will provide.

The hotel is set in the best area of Costa Adeje, with many pleasant walks, beautiful scenery, and a shopping arcade a few hundred metres away, which is outstanding for quality goods.

If you require a relaxing, chilled out holiday, El Mirador is the hotel for you. Thank you Elisabeth and all your lovely for this wonderful holiday. We will be back

Room Tip: High rooms have best views, but all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 57 in Costa Adeje
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Property: IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden of Eden comes to life at the Grand Hotel El Mirador in Costa Adeje. We’re sure that if Adam and Eve were around today, they would choose the best 5-star spa hotel in south Tenerife as their holiday destination. Find out why you should give into temptation and choose a hotel for adults just one minute’s walk from the beach: Paradise on earth.Views of the crystal-clear waters of Playa del Duque beach surround this beautiful, charming hotel. Plus, it’s only 5 minutes away, so you can feel the fine sand between your toes in no time at all. 1,000 m² of sensations. Try volcanic hot stone massages, chromotherapy or the sensations shower in our SPA Sensations. Relaxation guaranteed! Luxury cuisine and authentic Canarian flavours go hand in hand at our hotel. You can’t leave Tenerife without trying the spicy mojo sauce or fish fresh from the market with potatoes. Just suites and nothing but suites is what you will find at the Grand Hotel El Mirador. They are all spacious and feature a terrace for you to enjoy the 22ºC temperatures that the Fortunate Isles offer you. Silence, the sound of peace and tranquillity. The waves lapping the shore and the notes from the piano while you sip your drink are the only sounds you will hear during your break. 13 is the lucky number.At least in this hotel it is, because there are 13 rooms with access to La Balconada, the most exclusive area in this resort. It boasts a swimming pool with sea views and a luxury sun terrace where you can soak up the Tenerife sunshine. Improve your swing. Try your technique at the top 5 golf courses in Tenerife, which are all in the vicinity of this luxury hotel in Costa Adeje. Clubs at the ready, it’s the perfect chance to perfect your shot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing