We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed at this Hotel in March 2014 for a week. Having decided not to pay extra for sea view opted for a garden view junior suite. Our room was on the fifth floor and very quiet, but we were almost the furthest room and our view was a wall or the next door hotel's repair area where they were spray painting tables. I wasn't happy with this but accepted it. The bed was a little hard but that wasn't a problem because as soon as I mentioned this the staff added a mattress topper which was perfect. The room was a good size with a seating area, tv that did have uk channels as it said, a huge bathroom, a separate closet with door and safe. Bar of course. The only thing missing for me was the no tea/coffee/kettle in the rooms which for a 5* is very surprising. Small but good balcony.
We had breakfast included, which I have to say was a delight, with fizz available every morning should you fancy it. The lattes were lovely and other coffee was plentiful. The staff were all extremely helpful, full of smiles and would do anything for you.
As an adult hotel it was very quiet and we enjoyed that, there was a majority of over 60s at the hotel, with the rest a mix of ages. If you are looking for peace and quiet it's the hotel for you, but if you expect nightclub entertainment you are int the wrong place!
The gym, which someone earlier commented on being old and horrible is now all brand new Technogym equipment.
It was my birthday whilst at the Hotel, and we came back to our room to find cake and chocolates with a card from the management, and nice touch and appreciated.
This hotel is definitely at the better end of Costa Adeje with the best beach Del Duque.
I would return here for another stay definitely.
We had no hire car and walked in both directions from the hotel to see what there was. We ate in the close by restaurants which were a little expensive, but good and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mollyandsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Having read a lot of the reviews we were dreading this holiday as it was supposed to be special for our 50th Anniversary year. From check in to check out there was nothing we could fault. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and varied and the situation is superb.We liked the fact that this was an adults only hotel and, for Tenerife, quite small if you are looking for full on entertainment this isn't for you but if you want to be pampered and relax this is the place.
One bit of advice ask for a suite on the second floor, they have larger balcony areas and loungers, we didn't find out until too late but our suite was spacious and had everything you could need, a comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and plenty of storage..

Room Tip: As for a suite on the second floor, bigger outside area for sunning and relaxing with a sundowner.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harryboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador to celebrate such a special occasion as your 50th Anniversary and are delighted to hear we were able to meet your expectations of a relaxing and pampering holiday experience under the sun of Tenerife.

We are also very pleased to read that you felt well looked after from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed by our genuinely kind and highly qualified staff and that you appreciated the quality of our restaurants.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the comfort of our accommodations and our location affording lovely views over the ocean and within an easy distance to the wide array of leisure and dining options of the lively Costa Adeje.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel for this special occasion and for the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

normally l wait to the end of my holiday to make a review, but l am so disappointed with this holiday l had to write it early so at least the mangers can take note read it from a disgruntled guest.
First off the hotel is first class, the staff make this hotel what it is, very friendly they cant do enough for you nothing is too much trouble. rooms are excellent, and cleaned and turned down extremely well.
The food is about the best we have had in a 5 star hotel, getting hot food seems a problem but here they are prepared to make it hot for you if you ask.

The pool is clean and water temp acceptable, l have swam everyday which is unusual for me, the grounds are well kept, and pleasant to sunbathe in.

Now the crux of the problem for a non smoker there is no where to sit or sunbathe without smokers around you, you cant eat outside for breakfast or evening meal without smokers around you, why a hotel of this quality cant make a space for non smokers to sit, eat or sunbathe is beyond me, even in third world Cuba hotels there segregated the smokers from the non smokers.
Unfortunately l doubt l will return to a Iberostar hotel again due to lack of understanding from management, When l asked reception about there smoking policy they were unsympathetic .

Room Tip: chose a room that has not got a shared balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Paul,

We appreciate you reaching out to us through TripAdvisor to notify us of your disappointment related to your ongoing stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service.

We sincerely regret reading that you found our reception staff “unsympathetic” when enquiring about our smoking policy, however we would like to take the opportunity to point out that we apply the Spanish law which bans totally smoking in any indoor public area but allows smoking anywhere outdoors including hotel’s terraces, room balconies and pool areas with the only exceptions being close to children playgrounds and hospitals’ entrances.

On the other hand, we are grateful for your praising comments on the professionalism, genuine kindness and attentiveness of our staff; as you well say, they are our main strength and we will certainly not fail to congratulate them on your behalf.

Furthermore , we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read we were able to conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for highlighting the beauty, comfort and cleanliness of our luxury accommodations and facilities that are designed to make our guests ‘stay as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time; we wish you a very pleasant continuation among us.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights from 14th March and thought everything about the Hotel was great.
The Staff were particularly helpful and the food was very good.
Tasters of the Cocktails around the pool (free) were a nice surprise !
We had a nice room on the 3rd floor with a lovely view of the Sea
The Hotel is situated in a nice area and we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank clubpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel situated in excellent position very comfortable unfortunately very windy and cool some days some heat in the room would have been appreciated. Food good waiting staff very pleasant. The most surprising thing was the staff's poor communication in English. The hotel is not value for the cost charged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank gcs322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We lament reading that some days you were cold in your room and not being informed about it immediately as we would have been able to provide you with a portable heater in no time; for future occasions please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk for anything you may need to fully enjoy your holidays among us.

Moreover, we took good note of your comment on our staff’ s knowledge of English and would like to take the opportunity to point out that apart from our housekeeping staff, all our personnel has a very good level of English in order to assist our international clientele.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out our prime location affording breathtaking views over the Ocean as well as the beauty and comfort of our hotel and the high levels of service provided by our waiting staff.

Last but not least, we are glad you appreciated our buffets, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; it is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a lovely holiday! Beautifully maintained hotel. Friendly ,efficient staff.Excellent choice of food. We didn't take advantage of the a la carte restaurants because we were so impressed with the selection on offer in the buffet.

If pushed to find a negative point I would say that I would have liked the spa desk to have been manned more consistently. I was unable to get a reply when I tried to phone and had to book an appointment by leaving a note on the desk. My time in the spa and masseuse were great but I felt a little awkward as there was nobody on the desk (or anyone else in the spa) when I arrived. It would have been nice to have had someone to show me round and explain procedure. Also felt a bit uncomfortable from a "health and safety" perspective swimming and using the steam room un-supervised. Picky maybe, but we have a family rule which we maintain even now our children have grown up...nobody ever swims without someone else present!
Super holiday, thank you. I hope we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Heathermay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

During your stay, our therapists were all attending a training onsite and were also extremely busy with many requests of treatments, this is why, even though they were present at our Spa, the desk had at times no one available to give information and show the area around as per our usual standards; please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the genuine friendliness and attentiveness of our staff as well as the beauty of our hotel and the quality of our buffets; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to offer a wide array of both local and international delights in order to please the most demanding palates, it is very rewarding to read we were able to conquer yours.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a safe and comfortable journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Recently returned from a 7 night stay in this hotel with my husband. Our first time in Tenerife and the hotel really made the holiday. We got a taxi from the airport - cost 27 euros and took about 20 minutes. By car you arrive on a lower level than the road outside. The lobby/reception area is large but nicely done with lots of marble and little water pools. The receptionist greeted us as we entered and offered us a glass of cava as she went through the registration and information details. We had booked a junior suite with a sea view and were not disappointed with it.
The room - we were in room 1308 which is on the third floor. It had a small walk in wardrobe area with safe, a large bathroom with two sinks, a bath, separate shower and toilet. The rest of the room was split into the bed area and down a step to the sitting area which had a sofa and two armchairs, as well as a large unit which held the TV and minibar. Then there was a large balcony with a table and two chairs with a lovely view over the hotel grounds down to the Costa Adeje beach. We had no problem with getting a wifi signal either in the room or the balcony.
Food and drink - we were on a bed and breakfast deal and the breakfast buffet was served in the main restaurant. The buffet was extensive with a large variety of both hot and cold dishes along with cava if you wanted it. The choice was varied enough that you do not have to have the same thing every day. One tip, if you prefer tea to coffee it may be better to make it yourself. There is a station just as you enter the restaurant with a variety of teas and an urn of hot water.
This restaurant also serves meals every evening, again buffet style for starters and desserts with the main course from a menu choice served to the table. We only ate there one evening and it was OK. We did not eat in the other restaurant which is only open Thursday to Sunday evenings. We did however have a light lunch in the La Pergola restaurant on two occasions. The food was very good - I would recommend the gazpacho - and it is in a lovely courtyard setting beside the pool.
We also had several meals in nearby La Nonna which we really liked and also La Torre del Mirador - see separate reviews.
The bar area is split in two. The inside bar area is part of the lobby and we felt that it lacked atmosphere because it is in such a large space. However the outside bar is a lovely area, partly covered, which looks onto the pool and gardens. We found it especially nice late afternoon. Unfortunately when we were there in early March we felt it a bit cold to sit out at night even though they have heaters.
Pool and gardens - this is definitely the best bit of this hotel. This area is beautifully landscaped and feels like an oasis away from the hundreds of people who are constantly walking along the coastal path just outside. Even though there are so many people walking you do not see nor hear them when you are sitting in the gardens. The sunbeds are very comfortable and the pool assistants are happy to move them to anywhere you want to sit. No serried ranks of beds here and although the hotel was pretty full the pool area never seemed overcrowded and because it is an adults only hotel it was quiet. The only minor complaint we had was the temperature of the water in the pool was quite cold but I believe they may have been having a problem with this. As mentioned in other reviews the pool towels are left in a bag in your room so that you take them out with you and then take them back in to be replaced when the evening turn down service is done. It seemed to work quite well.
Staff and service - we found all the staff that we encountered very friendly and helpful. On our first morning we asked at reception if we could have softer pillows as we found the ones on the bed rather hard, and when we returned to the room after it had been serviced the alternative pillows had been supplied. Also we settled our bill the evening before departure as we had an early start in the morning and the receptionist offered to have coffee and pastries set up for us on a table in the lobby which we thought was a very thoughtful gesture.
Surrounding area - as I mentioned there is a coastal path which runs past the hotel, towards Playa de Las Americas in one direction and towards La Caleta in the other, although the path itself does not go all the way to La Caleta. There is a bus service which also runs in both directions with stops just about 5 mins walk from the hotel on the main road. We took the bus to La Caleta one day. It cost 1.45 euros each and only took minutes. There are quite a few restaurants there, most with nice views out to sea. We walked back which took 20 - 25 minutes part of it across a sandy beach are before getting back onto the road and then the coastal path. There is also a small supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel (turn left and opposite the Hotel Riu) and there are also a couple 5 - 10 mins away on the right.
If you are looking for a relaxing break in a nice hotel then this has to be one of the best choices on this stretch of the coast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patricia186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Patricia,

We sincerely thank you for the time and effort spent to share your impressions about your stay at our IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador and for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; reading that our hotel made your holiday is undoubtedly a source of great pride for us all.

We are very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the suite we accommodated you in, as well as with the quality of our gastronomy offer.

Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Tenerife; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 59 in Costa Adeje
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £205 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing holiday experience in Costa Adeje awaits at the IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador hotel. Whether it’s going shopping at the best shops, practicing your golf swing, or sampling amazing cuisine with the flair of the Canary Islands, this 5-star hotel in Costa Adeje offers you the best. The 124 suites of the Grand Hotel El Mirador offer an excellent opportunity to fall a little more in love with your partner. They’re a mixture of a warm ambiance, exclusive services and details such as a canopy bed, dressing room, and living room, while nearly every room has views of Playa del Duque. La Balconada also allows you to enjoy a VIP zone with a pool and solarium for just a select few. Discover a hotel that’s only for guests 16 years of age and up and that includes: SPA Sensations, fitness room, free Wi-Fi, water sports, an impressive outdoor pool, meeting rooms, doorman service, three restaurants and two bars, among other select services and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing