We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Madera

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven C
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NO NO”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Spent 5 days at this what we thought beautiful luxury Villa, disappointment is a understatement, dirty floors, dirty pool, stains on curtains pillows, sockets hanging out of walls, no sockets at all working in dining area and bedroom so many bulbs in lamps and ceiling lights not working, we found a lamp that did work and had to put it on landing as there was no lights on landing bathroom, one bedroom had no curtains or shutters and was totally over looked by neighbour's, the bbq area was filthy and even rubbish left on side, paint & mould falling of wall in a walk in wardrobe area which smelt musty & damp, Windows were filthy, sunbeds on patio filthy, the smallest & oldest towels I've ever seen, single quilt on a double bed with a small child's pillow, the only room we couldn't fault was kitchen, the staircase from balcony down to pool is a accident waiting to happen young children or elderly people need to be very carefull, it's a large villa and has a lovely view as it's on a large hill!! This villa has obviously been neglected for a long time, we complained while we was there someone came and put a few light bulbs in, and took the bbq away we didn't go in pool at all as we was worried it would make us ill due to uncleanliness, we booked with booking.com which have not been very helpful up to yet such a disappointing stay ☹

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
The ratings are not true! We had a group of 6 women. Each of these women writes a separate (almost identical) rating.
We have lodged a complaint with tripadvisor and request the deletion and blocking of these guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottishd...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs......and its costly!”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We booked a luxurious 5 day stay for 6 friends to celebrate a 50th birthday.
The pool was filthy; we reported this however it remained filthy for the duration of our stay.
The pool area and BBQ were filthy, the pool area was swept and the BBQ grill and tray were removed by the operative and never returned.
There were numerous missing bulbs throughout the property, mainly in one of the bathrooms at the top floor. The bathroom bulbs were fitted on the 4th day, however no others.
There was no electricity/bulbs on the dining area & bedroom on the 1st floor, this was reported yet never rectified.
One of the bedrooms had no blind/nor shutters and other properties could see straight in (no privacy), reported and not rectified as Sven argued there were shutters.
The beds, all 6 of them were doubles, 4 of them had single duvets and all duvet covers and sheets were mis-matched bedding, one of the under sheets were stained with … unknown! We are all adults and not children and the beds were beautifully presented on Booking.com.
We only had 1 bath towel each (not very big ones either) and plenty of hand towels, but no extras bath towels.
The shower on the 1st floor did not work, only water came out the bottom for bath fill, however it was a half bath and we were all adults.
The windows were all filthy.
A blind in one of the bedrooms had a brown stain on it not unlike faeces.
The ground floor bathroom’s stunk of sewers.
The storage room for child’s bedding etc on ground floor was mouldy and had peeling pasterwork.
General poor cleanliness was noted throughout the property and because of this we carried out our own clean.
Sven Muller was the agent that dealt with the booking, however he was based in Germany, therefore all the contact that could be made with him was via email. He kept in touch with Julio who lived in Adeje who was the odd-job man and between the two of them the messages were conflicting! Stefan dropped keys off.
We waited in a whole morning for Julio to arrive to advise him of the things we thought were wrong. Then further to this after much of what we advised was not rectified, he was then sent in with keys to put bulbs in but without our knowledge nor consent.
After many emails, we decided to try Booking.com to voice our concerns and they offered us compensation, but no figure. When we asked what figure, it took them 10 hours to reply and they then changed the wording from “compensation” to a “gesture” of 25Euro. In our eyes we paid £1,580 for a 5 day hire. On top of that (which wasn’t quoted previously) was 250 Euro for cleaning the property on our exit, therefore for the 3 days we constantly asked for things to be rectified we should have been refunded around £1,000. Therefore 25 Euro was a total insult.!
We booked luxury and got sub-standard! Such a shame as this is a stunning property which is not being cleaned nor cared for properly, however they are charging prime rates and ripping off the customer and the owner! Shame on the agents and Booking.com.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
The ratings are not true! We had a group of 6 women. Each of these women writes a separate (almost identical) rating.
We have lodged a complaint with tripadvisor and request the deletion and blocking of these guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does not what it says on the tin - very poor - would avoid!”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
5
people found this review helpful

We came here on our holiday to celebrate my friend's birthday and the first thing I noticed when entering the apartment was the dirty BBQ area and the filthy pool. I asked the gentleman who was showing me around why the pool was dirty and he laughed and said that someone would be coming along in the morning. Upon further inspection it seemed OK on sight but once he had left we had a thorough look and found that most of the light bulbs in the downstairs quarters did not work. There were 6 of us staying and we were delighted because it meant we could all have our own rooms but the owners had decided that we should be kept in the downstairs quarters and share a room with each other which is not what we wanted. There was no adequate bedding and the toilet seat was broken on the upstairs floor, also there were no blinds in my bedroom giving everyone a full view of my room. The coffee machine was broken, the windows were absolutely filthy and we were appalled. We spoke to Booking.Com who informed the owner who claimed to have sent someone to sort the problems but he came on the second day in the afternoon after waiting in all morning for him and when we returned all that had been done was the patio area but they cleaned it and took away the BBQ facilities which meant we could not have a BBQ around the filthy pool. They again visited yesterday - an unconfirmed visit which resulted in them fitting the missing light bulbs but only replaced 5 of them not the 15 that were missing. Booking.Com offered us 25 Euros for the problem and implied that we should not have booked it because it only has 6.3 rating on their website and usually would not encourage people to book for less than a 7 rating which begs the question, why is it still on their website. They wanted to charge us 250 euros for the cleaning when we left but we would not be paying that. Also they wanted 250 euros to heat the pool and we are glad we did not pay it because we would not have been able to go in the pool anyway!

The owners and Booking.com have made out that we are making a big fuss over a few minor issues but we have not (photos included).

Avoid Avoid Avoid this villa do not waste your £1882 Euros it is not worth it!

Best.

Joy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Thank you for your feedback. However, I would like to take this opportunity to correct a few things:
These guests (6 women) have booked with 6 persons. The main booker (Debi) arrived 2 days later than the others on Tenerife.
She hasn't been to Tenerife herself yet and has already written me 8 (!) e-mails on the first day and 4 mails on the second day with alleged deficiencies. And every email from her ended with the words: we want a refund! Unfortunately, we sometimes have guests who know that they will be flying back with more money than they had before they started their flight to Tenerife!! It's a disgrace!

The alleged issues were that she could only use one pillow and blanket per person. We calculate our prices (like a hotel) according to the number of persons. It is clear that the price increases when I need more bed linen and pillows (everything has to be washed and ironed afterwards by our cleaning team).
Debi wanted to have two pillows and two blankets for each person.
We rejected that. There are additional pillows in the cupboards. Of course, these pillows have no covers that match the bed linen of the beds. However, these cushions have protective covers which are also regularly washed.
For Debi this was not enough. Things went on like this. Of the 3 floors in the villa, one floor had a problem with securing the power supply at the first day. This problem was fixed by our electrician on the first day. Nevertheless, the guests wanted a refund!
When they noticed that this didn't work, they claimed the house was not clean! I have sent my colleague there twice, who has spoken to the other guests and he wanted to have shown the dirty things and they have confirmed that everything is fine. Nevertheless, we sent another cleaning woman for 5 hours who cleaned everything again 2 days later. When Debi arrived in the evening, she immediately demanded a refund.
We will not offer reimbursement because there were no defects. The 6 people apparently argued among themselves and confirmed to my colleague that it is only a question of reimbursement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
3
people found this review helpful

the pool heater did not work and was broken, we were not informed of this before out stay, the washing machine was broken and despite us asking it was not fixed until the last day of our stay, the barbeque was broken and unusable, the drains to the ground floor were blocked and stunk, the plaster was falling off the walls in the ground floor shower room, the villa was generally dirty and not very well maintained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
collingsy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

First time booking a villa and couldn't of asked for better,super Mario let us in at villa at midnight nice old retired Spanish guy,we had use of all 3 floors main kitchen was huge and modern had all kitchen facilities needed to cook any meal even a Sunday roast, bbq area was great too,pool is bigger than what it looks in the photos,if your english take your kodi box or iptv box as only has sky news on tv, so we could watch sports and movies when needed,we hired a car so travelled the whole island,nearest beach is about 25-30 Min walk down hill and taxi back is about 5 euros from playa fanabe beach,busy beach with water sports and mcdonalds ect ,exchange rate over there is €1.10 And a tip if you hire a car use easy jet website picked it up from europcar cost us 78 Euro for 8 days And you don't have to fly with them to get the 20 percent discount, best beach we visited was la tejita near airport didn't realise it was a naturest beach until we got there and people walking past naked but was great views lol,was peacful and and sea was the best out of everyone we went to in our two weeks,drove to volcano day and night roads are spot on to drive there and not like the french mountains,if you like waterparks use siam park over aquapark slides are ten times better been twice this year voted best in the world, Only down side to villa is the sliding door needs new lock replacing as was faulty from us getting there so unable to lock door each day when we went out but had enjoyable holiday with wife and two teenage girls, thanks for our stay Sven much appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Many thanks for the perfect and nice review! We are glad, that you had a fantastic time and you are welcome to come back to our villa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Many thanks for the nice review. We are glad, that you had a great time on Tenerife and you like the villa. You are welcome if you decide to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarika G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Property sufficiently furnished for large groups. Very welcoming home away from home”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Visited in April Easter weekend in a group of 20. 5 families with two children each. Owner Sven was very prompt all through the booking process and delivered all he promised. We needed additional beds and cots. To my surprise he actually bought new beds and cots to look after us.

Swimming pool was neat and clean. Numerous towels and linen provided. All electronics in working state like washer, dishwasher, coffee machine, hair dryer etc. house was tidy and arranged to provide enough social space to large parties such as us. We were cordially escorted to property and explained at arrival. Had a fabulous stay for 6 days with nothing really missing.

The only thing to note is it's up on a hill and bit away from taxi stand so keep the calling number handy. Shop is available if you go down the hill which 12-15 minutes walk but prefer taking a cab back if you have hands full of bags.

Very close to beach - el duque about 5€ taxi. We pre booked coach for taking us to Loro parque and teidi volcano. Both were 1 hour trip one side by bus. Book your tickets in advance as they stop taking people after midday as they run super busy apr- sep.

Hope you enjoy the trip as much as we did. Would do again if given a chance!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you for this nice feedback. We are very happy that you had a fantastic time and you felt well. You are welcome at any time if you want to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;