We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quiet" Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa Adeje
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Altamira Apartments
Ranked #53 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“"Quiet" Location”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently returned from a stay here (our second).

Located towards the end of Adeje enjoying the quieter side of this lively area! Easy to get to livelier area's by taxi or bus however this was exactly what we wanted.

We found the apartments on both of our stays clean and well equipped. I have seen mention of cockroaches in some of the reviews, we saw only 1 during our stay and that was very small. The apartments both had sprays available which we used - I guess it is something to consider however for us it posed no issue. Staff at the hotel/apartments are all very helpful and friendly. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds (although not too sure this is the case during busier times). A sports bar has recently been opened providing TV and food/drinks.

Next door is a new Chill out bar which looked really attractive however waiting time for anyone to come and take an order was too long for us and we decided to move on.

The area has some really attractive walks especially along the coast to Puerto Colon however it can be challenging, due to the steepness of the hills, if you venture up and away from the coast (don't forget to take a bottle of water!).

Whilst we wanted to be away from the busy part of the island we did however find entertainment at Tiggy's Bar really enjoyable. Live entertainment available many evenings (highlight was the Eagles Tribute which is most Thursday evenings). A really funny Monday quiz night with Play Your Cards Right later! Prices for drinks and food also made it very attractive!

Room Tip: Given a choice apartments/rooms facing out to sea or the pool clearly have better views than some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DenCorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay in Altamira, good location right at the end of Adeje, if you're looking for something more lively it's leisurely half hour stroll into the area around Puerto Colon, we preferred this location to being in the centre of Las Americas. Staff were very helpful especially the Italian barman Daniel, nothing was too much bother to him, they have a true gem in him !l We had an apartment on the first floor, although it was the first floor it was straight onto the garden area but there is no sea view here you would need to be on a higher floor. Pool area was excellent with plenty of sun beds, only complaint however is that you have to pay 2 euros a day for a mat for the sun bed, I have been to various RCI complexes and have never before had to pay for these mats ! Excellent local restaurants across the road, Smugglers do a great 3 tapas for under 10 euros, well worth a visit, also Taberna Lorenzo just downstairs from Smugglers also serves some excellent food and very reasonably priced too! Food in the Brasserie Bar & Grill within Altamira was very good too but check your bill, we were over-charged twice! There is also Cup Café right at the entrance to Altamira serving great cocktails, food and coffee, would definitely recommend visiting it ! Our apartment didn't have A/C, there weas a ceiling fan in the living room but none in the bedroom, we stayed in April when temp averaged 24 - 28 I imagine it would be very difficult to sleep in the height of summer! All in all I would certainly recommend staying at Altamira !

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 1st floor for a sea/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is my 4th time to the Altamira, it is a lovely quiet complex in a perfect location, pool is great, everywhere is very clean including the toilets! It could do with a pool snack bar as the atmosphere is kind of flat without one and it is nice to have somewhere to grab a cocktail from whilst by the pool! Reception staff are really lovely and v helpful, My only problem with this place is the beds! Obviously not all the beds are the same as different people own different apartments but the beds we had were by far the worst beds I have ever slept on in my life. Please look at changing the mattresses as it almost ruined my holiday having to go back to sleep on them each night! :(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joeyjojojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have just returned from a week at Altamira. We booked through RCI and our appartment was ok, but the furniture seemed very cheap, Other appartments were privately owned and varied in quality. The best thing about the resort is the wonderful views over the pool, sea and La Gomera in the distance. The location was great with a few restautants and supermarkets near the hotel entrance, and also a friendly English bar showing Sky football! (Lorenzo's was good for steaks and fish and Duquessa for something a bit more up market, we also had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant). We liked the fact that it was possible to walk from the hotel along the sea front to Los Cristianos in one direction and to the little village of La Calleta in the other. There is free parking outside the hotel and the reception staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The biggest annoyance was the petty 2E charge for mattresses for the plastic sunbeds by the pool. If we stayed there again we would buy our own from the local shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ness90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Super appartment located on the Altimira complex, right on the sea front at Costa Adeje, on the lovely Island of Tenerife. Lots of super restaurants all within easy reach of the complex. The complex has its own outdoor pool with sections for the kiddies as well, the only drawback with that was, although there were signs saying no reserving of the beds in 4 languages, everybody was out by 8.00 in the morning reserving !!!but that's a minor niggle, the rest of it was good. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy, so no real complaints, we even had UK TV, so the wife was happy to see Eastenders ! The Island is well worth visiting , lots to visit, although not as busy as the other areas of Los Christianos, and Los Americas, Costa Adeje, is a very acceptable slightly more upmarket, but all said were going back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

arrived to dirty room, no bedding for the spare bed, no kettle, the hob trips all the power out, not enough towells, very dated decor, 2 cockroaches in the apartment, patio door doesnt lock and were only on our 2nd day!!!!!! very noisy at night. NO AIR CON even tho it was once working they just havent bothered to fix it. staff are unfreindly. some one has been in our room today whilst we were out and swapped our tv for some reason!!! i wouldnt stop here again!!! maybe the private rooms are better i dont no.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Altamira apartments the last 2 weeks in May. The apartment was booked privately. The apartments are a mixture of privately owned and commercial properties. They vary in size, decor and equipment.

PLUSSES - The complex is set in a premium position in Costa Adeje, close to the pristine El Duque beach area. All areas are extremely clean and the pool area is excellent for a 3 star. Access to the beach is via a back gate and only a couple of minutes walk. There is a free wi-fi area, a nice cafe near reception and an excellent restaurant at ground level. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The big plus for us is the location. If you enjoy laid back,relaxing holidays in hassle free pleasant surroundings, this will suit you. If you are looking for late night bars, music and dance, turn left at the back gate and keep walking for 30 minutes.

NEGATIVES - Our apartment,whilst equipped with fans did not have air conditioning. The rooms were pleasant enough, but some basic updating would make the experience even better.
The pool cafe and bar opening and closing times seemed arbitrary, but this may change in busier times of the year.
You will pay premium prices for food,drink and usage of beach facilities (18 euros for 2 beds and large parasol). This is the compromise you have to accept for staying in what we regard as one of the classier areas of Teneriffe.

We normally stay at hotels but decided on a more relaxed and independent approach this holiday. We would certainly consider these apartments again. As a base they fitted the bill really well.

We won't recommend any bars or restaurants as trip advisor reviews are quite comprehensive and surprisingly accurate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Widneswoolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Club El Beril Tenerife
Club El Beril Tenerife
#2 of 2 in La Caleta
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 80 in Adeje
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Salome
Iberostar Grand Hotel Salome
#18 of 57 in Costa Adeje
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamira Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamira Apartments

Property: Altamira Apartments
Address: Calle Viera y Clavijo 3 38002, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Number of rooms: 288
Also Known As:
Altamira Apartments Hotel Costa Adeje
Altamira Apartments Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing