We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good friendly and clean Hotel - disabled and children friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Jardines del Teide
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good friendly and clean Hotel - disabled and children friendly”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just returned from this hotel and we had a lovely stay. 9 nights a family of 7. I am the slightly disabled passenger I hope this review helps from that point of view! I emailed hotel in advance to ask for disability friendly room and had a quick and helpful response a brilliant start they recommended floor 5 which was spot on for me. I use crutches but occasionally wheelchair. They also sent champagne and chocolates to my daughter and husbands rooms on their birthdays with a handwritten note which was touching and a nice surprise - champagne tasted good too! Good clean reception area and bars, staff constantly remove glasses and rubbish so always looks neat and tidy. Modern comfortable furniture in all areas with cushions so you can support your back this was much appreciated by me! Rooms are very large and comfortable with sofa and comfy grandad style chair in our standard room. Beds however were too hard for me and my husband. Wifi in our room 516 only worked sitting on the chair at the patio doors and I only worked this out on day 5! You also need to keep logging in so keep your wifi ticket! They work for 1 or 2 days then you will need a new one. Ladies no need to lug your hair dryer along the bathrooms all have them and they are really good! Fast strong speed and hot or cold settings to set your style best hair dryer I experienced. Bathroom also very nice. Sun loungers also fantastic!! they are multi adjustable. I have a back condition and found the under knee adjustment (that takes the strain off your back) a real treat, the back upper section also has 3 different adjust settings so you will be super comfortable. Towels are good quality for the pool again leave yours at home no need to waste your luggage allowance. Bathroom towels also changed daily abit scratchy but you can't really complain as they are immaculate and changed daily. Now the beds! I'm obviously a bit fussy and react badly to a change of bed as my back condition doesn't adjust well, these beds were too hard for me and my husband. I really struggled with them but put the thick blanket from the wardrobe on mine to help, I got used to it after 4 days but not very comfortable - the pillows are good 1 hard 1 soft and I ordered extra to put under my legs and again it was no problem for the staff, they were immediately delivered. Cleaning staff in rooms very courtesious alway saying hello and fold your clothes if left strewn over your bed as I left it one morning which was much appreciated. There are a lot of steps but As I'd emailed in advance they happily allocated me a ground floor - which is level 5 as it's built into a hill- room where reception and the restaurant and bar are all located - also the smaller pool (perfect for young children as shallow mostly little kids used it) is on this level, but we preferred the bigger beautiful -1 level pool as the bar is more accessible from there and the snacks and food service also more selection from here - try the toasted cheese and ham sandwiches, it isn't obvious they are available in English as there is a full constant buffet in front of you and they are in a glass cabinet but once you ask they are cooked on a griddle right in front of you and are lovely, the snack bar to us was just as good as the main lunchtime restaurant to us and we happily stayed down at the pool all day and eat lunch there. There is tea and coffee fizzy drinks and ice creams / lollies all self service so immediately accessible which is good. 2 lots of toilets and a changing room so no need to go back your to your room. The main evening buffets they provide is ok selection of food not the best we have had though, my husband didn't like the selections, we've had a lot better in costa adeje hotels before. Also the all inclusive wine is a bit weak I missed the 12.5/13% we have in the UK it's 11/11.5% and a bit bland. You can upgrade though for 15euro for better drinks stronger wines and fresh orange juice at breakfast if wanted. The entrainment for the hotel is a mixed bag - the children's looked fabulous lots of fun - watching the kids attempting the huge inflatable pool assault course was great fun as was the running pool mat game, they also played pirates around the pool and the kids looked really happy as did the energetic staff! The adult entertainment however was not great, it's badly advertised with the only way of knowing what's going on being a smallish TV screen at the level 5 lifts. We went to watch grease the musical but it was mimed which I hate! It could have done with some karaoke or something real to watch! There was a good magic show that my nephew watched but I'd given up by then. Access to other amenities at the resort was easy with a gate at the main -1 level pool to a short walk away upmarket shopping centre, prada, dior, gucci, Burberry as well as mango, high street brands, a chemists and supermarket, there is a local market also Wednesdays and Saturdays which is good for gifts and tat that you buy on holidays. There is a beautiful walkable distance beach here that is georgous! Overall good hotel, beautiful views! Perfect for families with young children, if just me and hubby I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D1171YCmaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    1,434
    555
    163
    76
See reviews for
1,401
1,704
87
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Easter. We are a young family with two children (6 and 4). Whilst we had an enjoyable holiday, we would not return to this hotel and I couldn't wholeheartedly recommend it.

We have stayed in a number of good quality, similarly priced all inclusive hotels (four and five star) in Majorca and throughout the Greek islands and I have to say that this hotel compares particularly unfavourably.

I don't wish to be unduly pessimistic as there are some very good points about this accommodation.

The setting is fabulous and the views are stunning. The hotel was very clean generally very well kept.

The large, main swimming pool was very attractively laid out, surrounded by an abundant supply of very comfortable sun loungers. Whilst there is small splash pool beside the main pool, I do feel it necessary to point out that the main pool is very DEEP, in that it is 1.6m at the shallowest point so is not brilliant for children to play in or for inexperienced swimmers. There is another, shallower pool at Reception level, but this is a rather unattractive setting, more akin to what I would imagine a 2 star budget hotel pool to look like!

We stayed in a Junior Suite. Whilst the room was clean and very spacious and we had a large private terrace with amazing views, the room was tired and needed some updating and some money spending. To call the decor basic is something on an understatement!

The entertainment team worked really very hard under the direction of Domvinik, who was extremely cheerful. Our girls really enjoyed taking part in some of the day time activities and his staff were all very friendly. The foam party was a huge success!! NIght time entertainment was also pretty good with mini disco, balloons and face painting for the children followed by a show each night.

For us, the worst aspect of this hotel and an area in which it really does need to improve is the hospitality, food and drink. There is a real lack of direction in the main restaurant in that unusually there is no apparent head waiter or any one in charge. Unfortunately, we found some of the waiting staff in the main restaurant very rude and abrupt and not at all welcoming, not just to us but to others around us. I do feel that some training and supervision is urgently required in this regard. The food was ok but we have had better on most other holidays. The self service pool side snack bar is well located but rather limited in what it offers.

The alcoholic drinks at this hotel were the worst we have encountered at any all inclusive hotel. We are not big drinkers but do enjoy a drink on holiday. The cocktails here are awful, in fact undrinkable and the wines with the all inc package are poor.

I really don't want to be unduly harsh about this hotel as we did have a good week, but for us there was a negative to every positive aspect of our stay which regrettably does mean I would struggle to recommend this hotel to a friend.

The resort of Playa del Duque was lovely with a great beach and the hotel is well located for shops and restaurants.

In short, we had a good holiday here but, on the basis of what we have encountered at other hotels, we would not return to this one due to the overall lack of quality. This hotel is more average than very good, hence I have given it three stars.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite, great private terrace with sun loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a very well run clean & tidy hotel, the staff are extremely helpful & friendly & nothing is to much trouble. The bedrooms are comfortable with excellent daily cleaning service, towel changing should you request it. The food is fabulous with a lot of choice, you can watch the fish/meat of the day being cooked four YOU. The waiters/waitresses are excellent and we cannot praise them enough.
We had a problem with the plumbing in our bathroom which could not be resolved so we were moved to another room.
The pools are absolutely wonderful clean & safe and the hotel provide towels that you can change everyday if you wish you get these from the lifeguard on duty from 10am in the morning. There are two terrace areas for adults only which offers a slightly quieter area away from children. The bar is excellent as well by the way and there are two hotel shops. The one nearest the reception is very reasonable and has clothes, jewelry & nicknaks. The lady who runs it is very helpful and her stock changes daily so always worth a second look.
My only negative comment about this hotel is its designed more for families not couples or single groups. There were a LOT of screaming kids making the environment noisy around the pool and in the restaurant. It spoiled our enjoyment & relaxation. All in all though a supper location and a 15 minuet drive from the airport..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faymondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I don't normally write negative reviews as some people seem to find fault as a hobby but I have some useful advice if you are thinking of staying here.

If you have young children or a large family then this is a good holiday for you. There is loads for the kids to do and a huge choice on the menu - most of it very good.

However, if you are a couple looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway think again.

The restaurant is like a massive canteen and struggled to cope with the crowds when we went in April. I can't imagine what it would be like in high season. For some reason, buffet style dining seems to bring out the worst in people. They push and shove and cut queues, leave tables in a tip and let their kids run around screaming putting fingers in the food.

The waiting staff are lovely and work tirelessly to turn tables around so there is room for everyone but all of these factors make eating here a stressful experience.

Maybe I am just not cut out for all inclusive holidays but I have another major problem with this hotel. The accommodation is definitely not 4*.

Our room was sparsely furnished and the beds were rickety cot beds topped with an extra mattress. There was chewing gum stuck behind furniture and a leaky ceiling in the bathroom with vestigial fittings left sticking out of walls and grotty grout.

The plaster by the bathroom was pealing away due to damp and there were holes in the sheets and ciggie burns in the curtains.

The only entrance to our room was through the sliding glass door on the terrace. There were no other doors or windows so you could not even leave the window open at night for a cool breeze as people were constantly walking past on the not-so-private terrace. This not only made the room feel very claustrophobic but meant you had to rely on the ancient air conditioning system which made about as much difference as an Eskimo's fart. The chambermaids were also very friendly but the reception staff were downright rude.

Good points - Good menu, plenty for kids, mostly helpful staff, great for families on a budget.

Bad points - Unpleasant atmosphere in restaurant, terrible rooms and unhelpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaxMC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. Staff really went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday. Food was great, rooms had lots of space, pool and amenities were fab. A lovely hotel for kids too. Would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank feefee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been at the Meliá Jardines del Teide in April 2014 for four days. I got a corner room in the fifth floor, quite close to reception. The views from the room's terrace are awesome. I found both the room and bathroom spotlessly clean. You will find a comprehensive set of amenities in the bathroom, besides hairdryer and an adjustable make-up mirror. The room floor is tiled which makes it easier to clean for the maids and feels definitely more hygienic than a carpeted floor.
The food was surprisingly good considering it is an all-inclusive resort. The food variety and quality were remarkable, wether for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
As mentioned in many other reviews, I agree about the very friendly and helpful hotel staff. Most of them went out of their way to make you feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if walking or climbing steps is an issue. Since the hotel is bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulogne-billancourt, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Melia Jardines del Teide is a great 4-star hotel located on the heights of Costa Adeje, all-inclusive, the juinio suite rooms with ocean view are probably the best rooms, suitable for up to 2 kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Califusa_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.2 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
9.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tagoro Family & Fun Costa Adeje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Jardines del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Jardines del Teide

Property: Melia Jardines del Teide
Address: Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#27 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Jardines del Teide 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 9 minutes walk from the beach. Melia Jardines del Teide is built around a huge pool complex and 12,000m² of tropical gardens. It has wonderful views of the coast and mountains, including Mount Teide. Rooms at the hotel are bright and spacious. They all have air conditioning and satellite TV. Each room has a balcony or terrace, with views of the pool, sea or mountains. Free WiFi is available throughout. Adults-only The Level services are available in some rooms, including a private lounge with free coffee and tea, private check-in area and daily cocktail hour, as well as private pool and rooms with Nespresso machine, pillow menu and designer toiletries. The Meliá Jardines del Teide offers 2 adult swimming pools, one being exclusive for The Level guests. There is also a children's pool. The hotel has a kids' club, as well as a full family entertainment programme. Dining options includes a buffet restaurant, an a la carte restaurant, the lobby bar and a restaurant serving snacks. The hotel is set just 9 minutes' walk from Playa del Duque beach, in southern Tenerife. Costa Adeje Golf Club is 1.5 km away. There is also a free shuttle service to a nearby shopping centre. There are also several shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Jardines del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Jardines Del Teide Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Costa Adeje
Melia Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Jardines Del Teide Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing