We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Established Luxury Resort Hotel”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I first visited The Bahia del Duque a few weeks after it opened in the 90's. At the time, my then 7 year old daughter described it as a "wonderland of dreams". We have since visited twice and the Bahia remains one of our favourite resort hotels. It is fair to say that the property has been kept in good condition, although we realised when we were allocated a different room to "freshen up" in before our evening departure that some of the rooms were in need of refurbishment, and the entry level rooms are quite compact. The sea view rooms that we had stayed in for the duration of our stay were fabulous - spacious with very well furnished bathrooms and plenty of wardrobe space. I would recommend making direct contact with the hotel regarding the room that you will be allocated to ensure that you have a refurbished room. It is also worth noting that rooms close to the staff service elevators can be quite noisy as breakfasts and room service are delivered. I would recommend taking a half board option, as the restaurants are all of a high quality and it is not easy to match the culinary experience provided by the hotel in nearby restaurants. The architecture of the Bahia remains one of it's strong points - you do not feel that you are in a large resort. It has a feel more akin to an Canarian village. We have always found the service to be very good. In all of our stays we have had no difficulty in finding a sunbed, and the beach being so accessible make a pleasant change if you fancy a different setting. The hotel is set on a hillside, so the walk to the beach may be a little arduous for anyone with walking issues, but for most people the walk is no more than a minor challenge. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Bahia del Duque to friends and family, and indeed have done so on several occasions. Since the Bahia opened, there are other hotels that claim a similar standard of accommodation and environment, but I have not yet found one that has tempted me enough to give up the established quality and elegance of the Bahia.

Room Tip: Make direct contact with the hotel a day or so before your arrival and talk about the room features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discount D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do so in your case and hope to do so again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just returned from spending seven nights at this absolutely wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived to the day we departed we were made to feel very special. It is a very large hotel & even though it was full to capacity, you would never have known it. Plenty of sun beds with pool staff always on hand to assist. The spa is divine & if you go you must have at least one treatment to appreciate it's wonderful ambience. It has several international restaurants, most of which we tried & l have to say the food was exquisite & of an extremely high standard, never a duff meal! The breakfasts were something to behold an amazing banquet of just about anything & as much as you could ever want. But it was the staff that took the trophy. Each & everyone of them just could not do enough for you. The service that was provided by each & everyone of them was simply impeccable.
I have visited many five star hotels in my time but this hotel is very definitely top of my list. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We had a standard sea view room also overlooking the pools & gardens. Fabulous views & the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hek45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are thrilled to read about your exceptional stay. We appreciate your endorsement and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The best place we've ever been to! It's been 3 years in a row now that we go and spend a month at Bahia in the summer. Everything about that place is 5 star - rooms, food, staff, surroundings. Definitely the best place to stay in Tenerife!

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Azsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in February in one of the Standard rooms. We asked if they had any room upgrades but at the time they were full. The following day however, they informed us they did have a room should we wish to upgrade (excellent service) - we decided not to as we were more than happy with our standard room.
The service was brilliant from start to finish. The room was lovely and clean and the shower was wonderful! I found the bed slightly hard but the same evening we had a mattress topper placed on our bed which was lovely.
Previous reviews state that the rooms are noisy; my comment on this would be that the hotel is tiled throughout so naturally you will hear people walking past your room in the morning if you're not an early bird but this didn't bother us at all.
The breakfast buffet was the best I've ever experienced - everything was so fresh and the choice was unbelievable. The terrace was huge so it was great to have a leisurely breakfast in the sunshine. They'd cook eggs for you any which way you'd like.
We ate in the Spanish restaurant one night which was delicious. We also ate in the buffet restaurant for dinner another night; the food was lovely but the price was far too high.
The pool beds are extremely comfortable, the staff throughout were fantastic (i'm pregnant and on every visit to the pool bar, i was given chocolates and an extra pillow - i was immediately won over), the gym has a good amount of equipment and they also do classes for those who wish to burn off their breakfasts.
If you're looking for the best hotel to stay at in Tenerife, this has to be it.
I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room (523) which was "semi-detached" and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We strive to do all we can to exceed the expectations of every guest, and we’re pleased that we could assist with the bed confort as we know how important a great night's rest is.

We are glad you are thinking of a new visit. We look forward to welcoming you.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was my first visit to the hotel following numerous excellent recommendations from both family and friends and to be honest my expectations were very high. My partner has been several times before but not for a number of years and she was not as impressed with the place and her recollection was that it was a lot better the last time she went. Upon arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite so we were very pleased but on being shown the room our first impression was not good as not only did the room smell it was also very tired and in need of a lot of TLC. When we complained they immeadiately offered us a different room which was better but still not great. We enquired as to the possibility of paying extra for a superior/deluxe room but as the hotel was full they could not do anything for us but said that they would let us know if any other rooms became available during our stay. To give them credit 2 days later they offered us an alternative which although was just a standard room was much better than the previous two. As the hotel was totally full we found it very difficult to get sunbeds around the pool unless you came down very early to reserve them which we didn't always feel like doing. The other issue was the poor service around the pool and on many accasions we had to walk up to the bar to order food or drinks. The other problem was in respect of the buffet restaurant as most nights we ended up in a "line up" sometimes waiting outside for upto 20 minutes Having said that the food was excellent and we had no complaints in that respect it was just extremely busy inside which did effect the service for drinks etc. I just think the hotel is perhaps relying on its past reputation and in our opinion needs some major investment to not only bring the rooms up to standard with what you expect in a luxury 5 star hotel but to also improve its customer service.
But overall we didn't let it spoil our holiday although I doubt very much that we would rush back and think there are other cheaper and better alternatives in the area.

Stuart T
Ribble Valley Lancashire

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is disappointed to know that your experience at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort was not what you expected, and we sincerely wish to apologize.

In relation to the room, let us inform that we have a continuous improvement plan to update all our rooms. We are sure that these investments will be of our client’s liking.

Regarding the pool service and the buffet, we are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered. Our Food and Beverage Manager has been informed accordingly in order to take the appropriate actions to avoid any similar situation.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure for welcome you back in the future. We will do our best to make your next stay unforgettable.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Nice hotel, with great service and staff. But I have noticed some small defects. Here and there a bit sloppy in cleaning. Also the stairs are sometimes difficult, especially for elder people. The food is nice but I think there is a limited wine list. There are a lot of wines from the same producer.
Never the less, we enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertglobizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at the Bahia three times in the past 12 months and love it there. The staff are excellent and very professional. The food is great and they really make an effort in all departments. It was fully booked when we went a couple of weeks ago, half term, but it didn't feel full as there are so many facilities there. The kids club is primarily for small infants, and not for the older ones. We had a babysitter twice a day, her name is Ona; she was fantastic and we had no concerns about leaving our two year old with her. This hotel is run extremely well and the general manager is always around, which is great to see. We have stayed in the "other" only real five star hotel in Tenerife, and there is no comparison. I would always stay here. Well done and thank you.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We truly pride ourselves on trying to create memorable experiences for our guests, so we wish to thank you for your comments and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Your kind comments are highly appreciated.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to meet and even exceed your expectations.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#4 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £230 - £838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing