We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel which was part of a business trip.

The hotel is stunning and absolutely full of character. The service was outstanding from all the staff from reception and housekeeping to bar and waiting staff.

The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean, with housekeeping visiting twice a day to change towels where necessary and a turndown service is also offered. There are L'Occitane toiletries in the room which were appreciated.

We ate breakfast in the hotel every day and having stayed in a few 5 star hotels, I think think I would say this one had the most extensive breakfast options, including Freixenet Cava or a choice of red or white wines and the surprise of a chocolate fountain or ice cream (yes, at breakfast!).

My only small complaints and they are very small, are that I found it quite difficult to get pool towels at times and also waiter service by the pool, someone would always turn up eventually though.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have walking difficulties. It is terraced over several levels with some very steep steps and cobbled pathways. Not great fun I imagine if you are an older guest or just like wearing high heels of an evening.

The hotel has direct access to a beautiful beach and the coastal promenade towards Playa Fanabe & Torviscas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishmum31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review.

Great to read that you found our Resort stunning and full of character!

While we appreciate your kind comments, we give more much value to the non positive aspects. There are two points where clients can pickup the pool towels: La Placita and Beach Club. As well, waiter service is provided by the pools. We will check our standards and protocols in order to guarantee the excellent service we are used to provide. It is thank to your comments that we can keep improving.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort, whether it be for business or pleasure!

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Have just come back from a business trip and what can't I say about this place
It is amazing from start to finish
If your looking for something 5*plus I would def recommend this hotel!
The staff are amazing and the rooms are too!
There are lots of sun bathing area'a and at least 4 swimming pools
The beach is within a stone throw away!
Chambermaid treated you with the upmost respect and gave you wonderful chocolates every night!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nix1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay.

As well, we wish to thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Del Duque has a Disneyesque type look about it with its towers and bright colours, as soon as you get there the experience of a five star hotel begins, very, very polite and attentive staff, The jaw dropping reception/main building area, the wonderful cascading landscaped manicured gardens and the pools drop down to the sea road, spotlessly clean and oodles of wow factor.....so why the but?
When we got there just over a week ago the hotel; had a mixture of well healed Europeans staying, mature and quiet, happy we were very to say the least, but by Tuesday the place started to become a lot more noisy with unruly children, this slowly got worse as the week progressed, the screaming, the dive bombing in the pools and running around without any supervision, they ruined the evenings in the buffet restaurant by buzzing around and dodging waiters and dinners as they finger dipped the food on display, as a father of 3 and a grandfather of 3, I love kids, but not at a 5 star hotel of this standing, we stayed at an adults only hotel last year and the difference was very noticeable and how peaceful it was there.
What the Del Duque should do is have specific enforced adult/ children only areas, such as in the buffet restaurant, and the sun bathing and swimming pool areas, I know they have a children only pool, but this is purely for toddlers, some regulars at the hotel told us that we should never go in the summer as it is even worse with the noisy children and parents that didn't care and really at these prices adults should not have to put up with this disturbance.
Will we go again, in principle yes, in reality probably not , the thought of those screaming noisy kids puts me right off.....but other than that it is a beautiful place that is almost perfect in every respect.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are excellent and well serviced, though the hotel can be noisy as there are no ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lawrence13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited this hotel recently for a week, having stayed there on a previous occasion. The hotel is lovely & the staff very obliging.
However, this was not as relaxing as I had hoped, for a hotel of this standard.
There were a lot of young children, which was particularly noticeable in the dining room, which was extremely busy. Children seemed to be wandering around, often unsupervised by parents. I noticed on several occasions that children were putting their fingers in food on the buffet. There did not appear to be any staff supervising the buffet.
If you are a couple, wanting a quiet relaxing holiday, this isn't the place for you!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday. SO sad to come home. This hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in ( I have travelled all over the world). My 3 year old daughter was in tears when we left. She went to the kids club a couple of times, Gemma the lady who runs the club could not have been nicer and made my daughter feel safe and combatable about being left. The food 10 star, the staff 10 star.. Going to book up for a short break in June this week and also October half term....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Client,

Great to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back in June for a short break and also in October!

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I first visited The Bahia del Duque a few weeks after it opened in the 90's. At the time, my then 7 year old daughter described it as a "wonderland of dreams". We have since visited twice and the Bahia remains one of our favourite resort hotels. It is fair to say that the property has been kept in good condition, although we realised when we were allocated a different room to "freshen up" in before our evening departure that some of the rooms were in need of refurbishment, and the entry level rooms are quite compact. The sea view rooms that we had stayed in for the duration of our stay were fabulous - spacious with very well furnished bathrooms and plenty of wardrobe space. I would recommend making direct contact with the hotel regarding the room that you will be allocated to ensure that you have a refurbished room. It is also worth noting that rooms close to the staff service elevators can be quite noisy as breakfasts and room service are delivered. I would recommend taking a half board option, as the restaurants are all of a high quality and it is not easy to match the culinary experience provided by the hotel in nearby restaurants. The architecture of the Bahia remains one of it's strong points - you do not feel that you are in a large resort. It has a feel more akin to an Canarian village. We have always found the service to be very good. In all of our stays we have had no difficulty in finding a sunbed, and the beach being so accessible make a pleasant change if you fancy a different setting. The hotel is set on a hillside, so the walk to the beach may be a little arduous for anyone with walking issues, but for most people the walk is no more than a minor challenge. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Bahia del Duque to friends and family, and indeed have done so on several occasions. Since the Bahia opened, there are other hotels that claim a similar standard of accommodation and environment, but I have not yet found one that has tempted me enough to give up the established quality and elegance of the Bahia.

Room Tip: Make direct contact with the hotel a day or so before your arrival and talk about the room features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discount D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do so in your case and hope to do so again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just returned from spending seven nights at this absolutely wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived to the day we departed we were made to feel very special. It is a very large hotel & even though it was full to capacity, you would never have known it. Plenty of sun beds with pool staff always on hand to assist. The spa is divine & if you go you must have at least one treatment to appreciate it's wonderful ambience. It has several international restaurants, most of which we tried & l have to say the food was exquisite & of an extremely high standard, never a duff meal! The breakfasts were something to behold an amazing banquet of just about anything & as much as you could ever want. But it was the staff that took the trophy. Each & everyone of them just could not do enough for you. The service that was provided by each & everyone of them was simply impeccable.
I have visited many five star hotels in my time but this hotel is very definitely top of my list. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We had a standard sea view room also overlooking the pools & gardens. Fabulous views & the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hek45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are thrilled to read about your exceptional stay. We appreciate your endorsement and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £227 - £836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing