We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property Service Is Perfection”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Amazing Property Service Is Perfection”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Home away from home. It's as good as having your own villa with a private swimming pool and lounge area. Very attentive staff and great amenities. Nearly full kitchen with microwave and fridge. Complimentary bottles of wine, fruit plate and chocolate dipped strawberries. Soft drinks, beers and water are restocked every day. Furnishings are tasteful and elegant. A giant bathroom consists of a large sunken bath tub and walk in closets. Toiletries are standard size (not the small travel size). Housekeeping staff was exceptional, we enjoyed special goodies that they left every day (plush toy for kids, milk and cookies..etc). Breakfast was superb, with a full menu to order from. Afternoon tea every day.

It's a family friendly place. It's a big plus if you're traveling with children, but something to consider if you're aiming for a romantic getaway as the ground and pool area could get noisy and crowed with young visitors. We ordered room service for dinner and the service was prompt and food was excellent. It truly is a slice of heaven.

Room Tip: The villa is situated near the entrance away from all main activities, so need to call for a buggy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a 5-star review!

Undoubtedly, we feel honored that you consider the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort “home away from home” and a “slice of heaven”.

We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed the Villas and we really hope to welcome you in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    381
    123
    64
    38
See reviews for
831
890
40
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our family of 4 had a week at the Abama, which was quite decent, for the cost. We decided to try the Del Duque for a night on the way home, to see whether it was a contender for a future vacation.

We took a villa with pool, for something over €1,000 per night, and have to say the standard was exceptional, as was the quality of design and construction of the whole hotel.

However, that is where the praise has to end. Pretty much from the minute we arrived we seemed be struggling with a 3 star service.

We discovered a lethal 20 foot fall at the side of our private garden, which we had fenced off, as we have 2 small kids. The beds were not of good quality and the thin cotton blankets were very Travelodge.

The standard of food in the Brasserie was really poor, and they could not seem to get the order right, the breakfast was even worse, compounded by some really poor staff attitude.

The room service lunch was appalling, and the reception could not get most requests for assistance actioned in less than 2 hours, without being reminded, the checkout experience went the same way.

It seemed that we spent the whole 24 hours there struggling with a totally inept regime, which left us quite irritated, far from relaxed and wondering why we had invested €1k on such a disappointment.

The biggest disappointment, however, was yet to come; several points of complaint were made to the general manager, Santiago Cabre, who initially responded with the usual mix of mitigation, denial and PR waffle, but when pressed to answer more specifically, his tone became almost abusive. He eventually shared his findings, supplied by several members of staff, who had been way short of honest in their recollections.

If you check out the PR flavoured responses that have been made by the hotel management to many of the other 1 & 2 star reviews here, you will get a good impression of Mr Cabre’s stance, all gratitude for being told of shortcomings, whilst failing to validate any complaints. He even had the cheek to refer to my request for a 50% refund in damages for clear breach of contract as "Blackmail".

I’m sure he will be adding his flannel to this review, but don’t pay him any attention… we will not be returning, even if offered a free stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RA_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Once again we thank you for your feedback about your 24 hours stay.

This Resort considers online reviews to be a valuable tool and we highly appreciate the time and trouble taken by our guests to express their opinions and experiences with us.

As mentioned in our previous correspondence, this establishment has not accepted and will not accept any kind of agreement for a menace made by a customer for publishing a critic in TripAdvisor, certainly not in the way proposed by you in which you detail the economic value expected in exchange.

Please know that this Hotel has never offered and will never offer any type of agreement for posting positive reviews, neither have we agreed any sort of compensation to avoid negative publishing. This is certainly not the philosophy and policy of the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just returned (sadly) from a brilliant week at this fab hotel.We were lucky we had lovely weather which always helps especially as we had 3 children our twin grand daughters age 20months and Olivia age 5.We travelled as a family with our daughter and husband.We requested 2 rooms on ground level as the twins are rather active.We got exactly that very pleasant overlooking a small kiddies play area(we didnt even know it was there) and we have been 4 previous times both with and without the kiddies.The entertainment both for the kids and adults just flowed in the evenings the junior disco was a great hit with the kids they love it.The hotel has so much to offer and although very full there is loads of room (except round kids pool) but there were rather a lot of kiddies Our room maids service was excellent the ladies are charming. Our welcome drink was appreciated.The kiddies club kept ours occupied for an hour each morning and is so well run.The restaurants very good and as always the breakfast for me
rate amoung the best breakfasts buffets i have attended so much of everything and always plenty of choice hot cold and even a glass of champagne should you desire.
.I would often stroll around the grounds for an hour at night trying to get the babies asleep and just have to say the hotel grounds and views to sea and over the pools are breathtaking busy hotel but an air of tranquility.If i could change anything it would be increase the size of the kiddies pool by joining with the adults pool maybe put a pirate ship in the centre or something as the kids pool is always full and the surrounding area but hardly anybody uses the adjacent adults pool and also use one of the restaurants to cater for kids meals from 5.00pm-7pm as young kids need to be fed a little before adults and the restaurants dont open before 7pm maybe have character dinning.!! These suggestions only applies to families with young kiddies My husband and i come to the hotel at least once a year by ourselves and wouldnt even think of the fore mentioned . All in all we love this hotel and are always planning our next visit before we even vacate

Room Tip: seaview rooms outside the maid block are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurapooEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a week here, had standard room which was very quiet and well equiped, the whole place is outstanding with lovely areas to sit and relax, never had a problem with getting sunbeds and the staff are very friendly and obliging.

We ate in La Trattoria, Las Tasco, The Brasserie and Haicienda restaurants and had lovely meal in all of them with the prices being resonable for 5* resort we also ate in a lovely Italian just outside the resort.

Visited the Piano bar every evening for the live music some nights they had better quality artists than others but on the whole very good, nice place to sit and enjoy a cocktail.

We very much enjoyed our holiday and will return in the future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reader21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

Our goal is to deliver the best service to our guests so they can experience a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Reviews like yours let us know we are on the right way.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed some of our à la carte restaurants. Our Resort offers a huge range of options to please all tastes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to this hotel and we still love it but there are some improving’s
that has to be done:

Last time ( 7-21/4 2013) we visit the Hotel it was school holidays in UK and there were a lot of young people occupying the heated pool, even when we had aqua gym, diving and screaming.

Read what an another guest wrote on Tripadviser this March,

I suggest that you make the pool besides the children’s pool a heated one and make the pool by the Brasserie an ADOLTS ONLY pool.

I think it is very common that parents have both babies and youngsters and they could
check them better if there were two pools near each other.

I think, as you can see on Tripadviser, a lot of your ordinary guests choose this hotel to have a relaxing time and that is impossible with this youngster all over the place, to solve this problem you should have two heated pools.

Best regards
Stig Blomberg
Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mr. Blomberg,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

As well, we wish to thank you for publishing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We have taken good note of your concerns in relation to the pools. Following our aim to provide our guests the best facilities, we have a future project regarding a children area in the Resort.
At the same time, we wish to inform that the Spa area in only for adults.

Mr. Blomberg, it is our hope to welcome you back in the near future and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've been three times in this hotel and personally it is my favorite in the Canarias Island. Service is great and the breakfast is just ideal with plenty of choices and fresh fruit. You have many magical places in the hotel and the beach is good. The room allocation is great, however, I think they should improve their system to identify guest recognition because I have been there three times and they did not know that.
However is beautiful and people are very charming!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiegoLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I think this hotel tries to be all things to all people which works in some areas and not others. We arrived and had booked 2 doubles with balcony for both rooms and we strongly requested they be sunny. We ended up with a twin and a double with only one having a dark, teeny weeney balcony. We asked to move and were shown some pretty awful rooms, one backing onto the main buffet restaurant and another with no balcony again! To cut a long story short we upgraded to the Villas which we had stayed in when first opened. The villas are very nice and we had our own pool and this was definitely a good move. The main hotel was full and people were packed in like sardines with some quite unruly children. We like children, don't get me wrong, but they are allowed to run wild disturbing others with their parents totally ignoring them. Even at the villas they were noisy and running wild. We know this isn't the hotels fault but they should have more adult areas to suit those people that want a peaceful holiday. We found refuge in the spa pool, but you have to pay for this and we had already paid enough to stay in the villas!! Food was a mixed bag too but then when running at full capacity I suppose the kitchens are stretched. Also you had to book quite a bit in advance to get a table in most of their restaurants. Would we go back? Probably, but out of season and to the villas only. The main hotel would be a no go for us as would school holiday periods! PLEASE hotel Gran Baia Del Duque, give more consideration to those holiday makers that don't have small children!!!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony or terrace in the main hotel, make sure you ask for one as not all rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Client,

First of all, thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

While we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your days in Las Villas, it is disappointing that the different rooms shown in the Resort were not of your liking.

The Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort is a family Hotel, where only adults areas are also offered: Spa, Moët & Chandon area, restaurant Las Aguas,…

For a future stay, we would be so pleased to inform you about the most quiet periods in the Resort. We stay at your disposal at gm@bahia-duque.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 59 in Costa Adeje
5,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
1.5 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#4 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Property: Bahia del Duque
Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing