We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not average, but not very good either.”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel based on the recommendations of a number of travel agents, and particularly based on the favourable tripadvisor reviews.

Whilst driving into the resort we were a little underwhelmed at the surrounding areas, it seemed very built up, with lots of other resorts close by. However, driving to reception through the resort was far more reassuring. The reception area is simply stunning, the wonderful design and architecture is extremely interesting, but, as it was so hot we didn't find it the most pleasant of places to be. Check-in was smooth although we were given a little "hard sell" on the half board package, which I didn't expect of a hotel of this calibre.

A short walk brought us to our room, which I have to say felt small, dark and quite dingy, and was a bit of a disappointment, the TV was a very nice flat screen on the wall, but reception was appalling, luckily we always bring our own media streamer so it didn't really bother us, but, if you'd of wanted to watch the in hotel channels you would have been very disappointed.

We took a golf cart to dinner at The Hacienda, which was in a very nice setting. Unfortunately I was disappointed to find that more than 30% of items on the menu attracted a premium over and above our half board supplement, whilst being told at reception only approximately 5% of the menu items did so. The food was good, and it was nice to sit down and relax in such pleasant setting.

The grounds are absolutely immaculate, with lots of pools, and piazzas, more a kin to a small village than a hotel, there are lots of swimming pools to choose from, and they're designed to look like natural parts of the landscape, the gardens and pool areas are probably one of the most interesting I've ever seen.

Breakfast is the typical buffet style affair, with has an excellent selection, everything was either in chilled closed cabinets or under muslin, probably one of the most comprehensive breakfast buffets I've seen, with plenty of quality food for all.

Unfortunately whilst at breakfast my wife spotted the main pool was closed for maintenance, after breakfast we spoke to management who explained the pool had been closed for 3 weeks, and would probably be closed for another week or so. The management then went on to explain that all the tour operators had been informed over a month ago, and appropriate arrangements had been made to compensate for this, such as free Spa passes, the use of The Villas pool etc. etc. Whist we were checking in we weren’t informed the main pool was closed, this was highly disappointing, as we wouldn’t have checked in we’d have known.

With this in mind my wife and I decide that we would check out and find another hotel, the Bahai is a nice hotel, not for everyone, and has some faults, if you are a little less mobile then getting round the hotel is a real pain, the swimming pools whilst inviting aren’t very accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We have taken good note of your comments and impressions which will be analyzed following our continuous improvement plan.

In relation to the maintenance works in the pool, we can assure that all Tour Operators were informed months in advance. We are really sorry if this information was not provided to you by your Tour Operation accordingly.

We sincerely hope we have the pleasure to welcome you in the future and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took our time when choosing a Tenerife hotel as it was our first time there, and a special time, to celebrate my husband's 40th, but I think what we found was perfect. We stayed at the Villa las Palmeras and this ideal for us, a family with young children – one of which spent most of his time in the villa's small pool, and the other, out of the sun in the air con. The villa itself was spacious, with a large sitting room where our boys had 2 single beds, separate main bedroom, a small kitchenette and an amazing giant bath that's more like a small pool...although, there is a shower in the large bathroom – filled with acqua di parma.

The resort is on a hill, and the villas are at the top of it, but staff are more then happy to drive you around in the golf buggies, but it's just as nice to stroll around the shaded gardens and take your time after breakfast – you're on holiday afterall! The breakfast buffet at the villa's are waiter service, but the hotel's breakfast is a buffet and definitely worth the walk down the hill. We tried all the restaurants, expect of course the adult only one, and enjoyed them all – Mexican, Italian, Asian and Spanish, the latter was not great for vegetarian like myself though – the food was fresh, delicious and different each restaurant, and the service was attentive. The children's menu didn't vary too much but were small versions of adult meals, rather then the food they serve in many restaurants in the UK.

We had a large private pool shared by the villas, which was very quiet as we went during term time, but there was plenty of space with shaded double sun loungers. The hotel has lots of pools to choose from but we stayed near the villa's pool and reception – well, the offer of free Moet to all the villa's residents does tend to keep you nearer. The kids club was enjoyed by both our 7 and 3 year old, the manager was lovely and great with children, and my eldest made plenty of holiday friends.

As for location, the hotel is as the website says, on a long beach, which provides plenty of seaside walking opportunities, or a day on the sand. Next door is a dated shopping centre, but a further 5 minutes up is a designer shopping centre, Plaza del Duque, where the likes of Cartier and Euro favourite designer fashion, enjoy the custom of your fellow hotel residents – mostly Russian. It's another 15 minutes further along to tourist shops and restaurants, and Costa Adeje's main seafront, which I imagine is quite lively at night...

Entertainment in the evening was family friendly, the usual dance or music shows, and a slightly bemusing magic show which produced a live rabbit. It continued later into the night at a bar inside for those without children, and not wanting over excited rugrats running around them. The spa, another adult only experience, is relaxing and tranquil with the most impressive spa pool I've seen. I tried the pilates reformer class, which is definitely worth a go, these classes are a lot more expensive in the UK, and a deep tissue massage to finish off – absolute bliss!

Overall, our stay at Bahia del Duque may have been one of the best, if not the best hotel stays we've experienced so far – the service was impeccable, friendly and sincere, the resort was spotless and the food memorable – it was faultless.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Tenerife. it has all you need for a perfect vacation. Rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, Suites are spacious and well decorated, just like all rooms at the hotel.
Different pools, some heated, and walking distance to the beach.
The spa is one of the best in Spain in my opinion (and I´ve seen many), with excellent facilities, worth trying.
They also have a more private area, called Casas Ducales, with exclusive rooms and a more personalized service. And if you want to top up your holidays, take one of their private villas with plunge pool and outdoor pool. Perfect for couples.
Definitely, one of my favorites in Tenerife.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort and for taking the time to share your experience in TripAdvisor. We are proud to be one of your favorites Hotels!

We are pleased to know that you had a great time with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 10 nights in June with husband and four year old. Firstly, have visited the hotel before around 6 years ago so was well aware of the large amount of steps and levels. Not a hotel I would recommend for elderly or those with baby's in buggys. On the plus side, you get the opportunity to work off breakfast! On arrival we were told we'd been upgraded to a sea view room. Indeed, the view was tremendous - the room however was tiny. Once they had put in the fold out bed for our daughter there was hardly room for anything. I looked at two other rooms - one was the same size, the other considerably larger but no balcony which we wanted, as otherwise once our daughter was asleep we wouldn't be able to sit out. I was disappointed with both options so we looked at upgrading to a suite but to be honest, didn't really feel they warranted the extra so we stayed in our room but got them to remove superfluous furniture.

The room was clean, however after a few days started to notice the floor by patio door could have done with a sweep. I wouldn't say they are 5* rooms by uk standard. Also, as it was interconnected to the room next door and we could hear every cough and sneeze from the couple next door - however I think they went to sleep round about same time as us so not a major problem.

The breakfasts are great, great choice and staff very accommodating. We only did bed and breakfast but ate at the buffet a couple of times which does seem pricey at almost £40per head but if you think about it, it's actually fairly good value - if you are very hungry! Again, good choice - we went on Spanish night and seafood night.

The pools are nicely laid out - could do with one extra heated pool. Always got sun beds but there seems to be a bit of confusion on the no reservations policy - it can't be one rule for one and one for another! We did know there would be work done on main pool when we were there but we were not aware there would be drilling and banging. It was only for a few hours on a couple of days, but still.....

The kids club was fantastic - Gemma and Miguel were great and my daughter has come home with a bag full of stuff she made - she loved it so much she couldn't wait to get there in the morning. It also felt very secure there as you can only get in and out by being buzzed in by staff.

Food and drink were expensive but it's a 5* hotel so not a total shock but even compared to some uk hotels it seemed pretty costly. Martin at the beach bar was also great with my daughter. Don't be afraid to venture out to eat if you're not full board - there are great restaurants in the local vicinity.

Overall verdict - The hotel itself could use updating in certain areas, some corridors with scuffed doors, chipped tiles and some rooms as well as the reception area which although large and impressive, comes across a bit faded.

The staff were phenomenal though and we agreed that it was this that has earned the hotel it's 5 stars.

Room Tip: 702 for the view but not for more than 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loulou9685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here in May. On arrival at the hotel it looked lovely and we were driven to our room on a golf buggy that run all round the resort and was impressed with size - large lounge area and spacious balcony. Big bathroom with lots of complimentary toiletries. The bed was comfy and everything you needed was available and wifi available all over the resort. The food at breakfast was great with plenty of selection for hot food/fruit/pastries etc. and also drinks with freshly squeezed orange juice, smoothies and even champagne! Good location and about 10 euro in a taxi to/from playa de las americas/los cristianos. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bathrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here in May hoping for a nice relaxing week away to just chillout, get some sun and have some nice food.

On arrival at the hotel it looked impressive and when shown to our room we thought it was a little bit dark and for the price we paid we had hoped for a better view than a see-saw – but we are not ones to complain so made do.

We enjoyed the food, fabulous breakfast with plenty of choice– one of the best I have had actually, and always plenty on offer at the half board buffet, even had such things as suckling pig, frog legs and oysters – not all on one plate I might add ! All the staff and waiters were really helpful and always had a smile on their faces.

We booked with Thomson and as part of our booking we received a free upgrade to half board. However, this wasn’t quite as it seemed. There are a number of restaurants in the complex and we understood that if you booked half board you could dine at these restaurants without extra charge. On check-in we were told that if we wanted to dine at the a la carte restaurants we would have to pay £15 supplement per person per night and commit for the whole week – we decided to give this a miss and dine in the main buffet restaurant each evening.

Only a couple of negative moans – found the mattress a little bit uncomfortable, the IPod Dock in our room didn’t work – despite telling reception they said they were sending someone round to fix this but it didn’t seem to get sorted. Also the cold water tap in one of the bathroom sinks wasn’t working – despite a ring to reception no-one came to fix this, this happened the day before we checked out, so probably wasn’t considered urgent, however, it was a bit inconvenient. Despite these two gripes, I mistakenly left my iPod on the towel down at the pool and after a quick phone call (about an hour later) it had been retrieved and handed in by by someone and was subsequently delivered to our room – anyone could have swiped that so was relieved to get it back so thank you to whoever found it.

All in all – a lovely hotel, great location - we enjoyed our morning walk along the coast path every day, would have preferred one of the sea view rooms or one with a better view, but I suppose these come at a price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NicBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have stayed at this hotel many times, it is always a pleasure to go back.
As I have said, the people make the difference, from the Director General, management team, and right the way through everyone you meet the people are superb.
The choice within the hotel is first class and the facilities excellent.
Is there any need to go out and try other restaurants and bars?No because the variety of choice will suit everyone's needs and particular taste. The buffet with a different theme every day is awesome and is not to be missed.
Overall, this hotel has everything with 5 star treatment as well. Great and look forward to returning some time again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for your awesome review! Your compliments to our team are much appreciated and we will be sure to share your comments with the,.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#4 of 60 in Costa Adeje
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#6 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £238 - £824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing