We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived as a family of 3 in the Casa Ducales area to a very warm and personal welcome! Unfortunately the room we were shown was a huge disappointment for me as this was quite dark and smelt a little stale with a very small box balcony, not only high up but the balcony rail seemed very low and a little wobbly! After all we had booked a junior suite for the extra space. After going straight back down to reception I was assured that they would do all they could to get us moved and to their credit they moved us the following morning to a very nice room indeed on the ground floor and still with a sea view. We particularly appreciated the fresh fruit, cheese etc brought to our room daily! Even our daughter had her own toiletries, milk and cookies brought to the room, own little robe and slippers!!

We went half board and I would definitely recommend this as you have 8 restaurants to choose from...albeit you may have to supplement more expensive dishes outside of the buffet restaurant which is fair enough. Much more economical doing it this way if you intend on staying on the resort. Las Aguas was delicious, the Italian good particularly as you can see the kids from the terrace and the brasserie very good too. Breakfast is fab with an array of choice. If you are staying in the Casa area you also have the choice of having a more personal and peaceful breakfast...in fact on the two occasions we chose this we were the only people there!! Casa area also has a complimentary bar and tea and cake at 4pm every day which was a nice touch.

Pools very clean and nice temperature...although a little sharp around the rocks. Our daughter loved the kids club but equally enjoyed making friends in the pools. This brings me on to the subject of kids...yes there are lots of them and I think you need to appreciated that if you book through term time you are not going to avoid them, you will experience lots of pre-schoolers. You also need to remember that the north of England break up as early as June so you have to understand that they will be unavoidable! There are areas for adults only but not that many. We obviously have a little one but equally get irritated by them screaming through your meal while parents sit there doing nothing to prevent this!

Evening entertainment good with very attentive waiters.

All in all a fabulous hotel with equally fabulous staff who really aim to meet every need. Thank you to all in Casa ducales, particularly Marianna and we are already looking to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: Sea view in Casa ducales area. Standard rooms do seem on the small side so if you can, opt for a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samashytffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your confidence choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.
The Casas Ducales team and especially Marianna will be very proud to read your nice comments.

It will be a pleasure to welcoming you next year.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    364
    119
    61
    33
See reviews for
777
848
38
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel was really lovely top points :
The buffet , really high quality food , this is difficult to do with such large numbers but the food was delicious every night
The staff were genuinely lovely and really wanted to help and give the customers the best experience possible
The pools , these were great and gave a really relaxing and invigorating experience

On the negative , despite as other reviewers have said it was in term time there were loads of English kids , which beggars the question how their parents managed to avoid a whopping fine , but they were quite dominant and as a couple who deliberately take our leave when there are no school holidays this was disappointing , obviously this isn't the hotels fault but couples who want a quiet romantic break really need to look somewhere else as this is in the main a family centric hotel .

The second negative was the noise , the rooms have tiled floors and we had the stampers from hell above us , thank god for ear plugs , please pack some for your own sanity and also if you are facing the central plaza expect noisy music until at least 11.30

So if you don't mind kids and don't mind noise then this is a great place but it's not for couples and peace lovers !

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms facing the main plaza if you are noise averse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times before but this time we took my parents both in their 80's for their first foreign holiday in a very long time. It was to be a special event, taking them into an exciting and supportive environment to help rehabilitate them following a major change in their lives. They of course had their own anxieties about what to expect so we had to make sure that any fears they had were unjustified.
The hospitality business is about many things but the dimension that singles out the very best is the quality of their people. The Bahia has a formula that delivers people who listen to the customer, take pride in their profession and have a humility that means you never come up against any behaviours that feel like they are based on a commercial formula.You are treated like family and that is a rare experience.
My parents loved the Bahia and all the people they met, including the lovely member of housekeeping staff who ran around their bedroom hunting down a poor bug who had the misfortune to fly into their bedroom. It was a really wonderful experience for them and us that led to noticeable improvement in their health and well being.
Delivering this level of experience is no easy feat so it is a big thank you to Cristina de Juan, the Resort Manager and her team for making two elderly people such big fans of the Bahia. I am sure they will be back and so will we.
David & Kully

Room Tip: The Casas Ducales sea view rooms are best and offer privacy and a premium service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidPBarr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a 5-star review!!

It is a great pleasure to read that your stay with us was excellent, particularly taking into account that this was a special holiday for you and your parents.
The best feedback is to know that you felt treated like family. Thank you for this!!

We sincerely hope we can exceed your expectations even more on your next visit to the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a brilliant stay. Hotel was more than i expected. Gasped when the bus pulled up outside. Could not have expected more. 100% will be back to stay again. Pools were very clean and comfortable, not too crowded. We stayed B&B, the breakfast catered for everyones need. Make sure and book in for a massage in the spa, well worth it.

Room Tip: Pool and sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

In a way, it was like coming home having visited once before a few years ago. Reception was just the same and very friendly with the offer of a glass of chilled cava while we waited to be processed. I had sent an email ahead of our arrival and Noelia, at reception, called it up and listed our wishes and then detailed how the hotel had responded to them - very impressive! The room was bigger than our previous one, this time on the fifth floor just round the corner from Reception and overlooking the piazza opposite the Brasserie restaurant, and over the pools to the sea beyond. New flatscreen television on the wall, sofa, table and a welcome plate of macaroons which was a nice touch. The bathroom is a little cramped but at least has a separate shower and high quality soaps and lotions. We were well pleased.

Dining
We were half-board so dined around all week. First night was the Hacienda which is a more casual restaurant with terrific staff and a good menu. Calamari followed by confit duck, then chocolate brownie with hot fudge sauce, to share, far too much for one!

Breakfast is buffet style in the Bernegal Restaurant, and it has lots to offer including cava or red wine, pastries, hot food, cold food, a chocolate fountain (at breakfast, really?!). A white chocolate fountain was added towards the end of the week too! I usually eat smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast on holiday, and so I did here, but the lady egg chefs were rude and reluctant to make scambled eggs because, they indicated, we should use the pan of scrambled eggs round the corner. These pans of scrambled eggs are never worth eating for a variety of reasons- too runny, too hard, been picked over, just not appetising. The male egg chefs, on the other hand, were delighted to fulfil the order with charm and panache! Similarly, the lady who cut the fruit on the fruit counter, rolled her eyes and sighed when a request was made for a kiwi with it's skin on. Not difficult! When the male chef was on duty he got me two nectarines, apologised that they were the best he could find, then washed them and handed them to me with a smile. Ladies, take note! The introduction of fresh orange juice machines and Nespresso coffee was really good!

The Brasserie was generally fine except on one night when they said they had held a particular table for a regular couple so we couldn't sit there, only to be told half way through the meal that WE were that couple! Laugh? I nearly spilt my gin and tonic, priced at £13! And which appears on the bill separately for gin and then tonic! Curious. Creme brulee is always good at La Brasserie, except when they forget the brulee bit! it was still delicious though. Sole Muerniere also delicious as were the prawn starters. Less good was the absence of much in the way of vegetables. The mush of sliced carrots and onions masquerading as 'julliene' was simply lazy cooking, in my opinion.

La Tasca was a hoot too. I ordered a starter which said something about eggs and potatoes with prawns. The waiter brought it, and it was 2 fried eggs, covered in fries with a few bits of prawn dotted about. Much to my surprise and amusement, he then proceeded to attack it with a knife and fork until he had pretty much destroyed it. He then handed it to be with a smile saying 'Bon appetito!' It was delicious, but so reminded me of when I was 7 and had egg and chips at my friends house. The lamb shank which follwed was unfortunately well overcooked and much was left uneaten, it was solid.

La Trattoria was next with the surliest waitress in the resort. The first time we ate there, she was simply offhand. The second time she was downright rude and kept us standing waiting for a table, of which there were plenty, and we had booked, and, to add insult to injury instructed her colleague to ignore us as well. (Need to note that there are three entrances to La Trattoria and I think she was trying to making a point). Being an Italian restaurant, you would think they could make Lasagne - they can't. It came as a Bolognese sauce and Bechemel sauce in the plate with pasta slices with tomato sauce in between sitting in it. Unlike any Lasagne I have seen or eaten, anywhere.

Pools
Where's the fountain gone I didn't ask until day3! But the water was cold and salty which I didn't mind but it did chiil on first entering the pool. That's when we weren't being splashed by young kids - I know, don't sit next to the pool! But they were everywhere, and UK school hadn't broken up, but clearly others had! On little angel climbed out of the pool and blew her nose on my partners towel much to the embarrassment of her mother - who did nothing to stop her! I note on another review the manager suggests that there are 'adult areas' and mentions the Moet section - this has about 8 loungers only and is opposite the pool bar kithchens and is very noisy and smelly. There are pools specifically for children up the hill with plenty of room, but I cannot deny, if I were a child, I would want to play in the big pool! Cool fruit at 11.30 on the dot was welcome. But where were the lifeguards around this very large amorphous pool? Answer there are none. given the number of (small) children, and the not so small, diving and bombing off the rocks, this is someone's tragedy in the making.

Gym
Early morning workouts were great, if a little lonely since I was the only one there most mornings but I either let myself in, turned on the lights, got my own towel, helped myself to water and fruit, said hola to the cleaner when she turned up, then left it as I had found it an hour later. Never saw a member of staff in there the whole ten days, either in the early morning, or during the day, as we passed on our way to the pool or room.

I think we had a good holiday, but not a great one, because of some of the issues above. Probably wouldn't return because of them. But the hotel is spectacular and its location is good, being within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view although you'll pay extra for it. Note too that the hotel is on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PJT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this lovely hotel. This is the fourth visit and yet again the menus had been revised and refreshed. On this visit I particularly enjoyed the addition of the new wine bar located around the central square. Extensive wine list and tapas available to enjoy early evening until midnight. The Asian, Spanish and French restaurants were really tip top!
In July there is live music by the lower pool and this is always pleasant. Can't fault the service and food quality at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our week. Our first visit but we will return. The size of the site means there are plenty of places to go. Pools were all excellent - some heated, some sea water.

Breakfast buffet had something for everyone.

Room quite small with an additional bed for our 7 year old, but it was lovely that she was treated as a proper guest - her own towels, bath robe, slippers etc. Made her feel really special

Service was thoroughly excellent. Friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Kids club was simply fab - she had a lovely time and was so well looked after. They were very happy for her to drop in and out and cherry pick activities as she wanted. The rest of the time we all just relaxed together.

Many thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Property: Bahia del Duque
Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing