We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday !”
Review of Bahia del Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia del Duque
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely 1 week family holiday at the Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque in July. Visually the hotel is very interesting, pretty bridges, attractive pools, seating areas, lounge areas etc. There is direct access to the beach through a security gate which is very well managed. The beach is very clean with a turquoise sea and charming blue/white stripe change huts. The standard of cleanliness generally throughout the hotel is very high. The staff are very helpful and engaging. Thanks to the duty manager Allessandro (thanks for accommodating our needs). The mini club is fantastic, our son loved it, in fact he didn't want to leave. Gemma, Kai and the team were 'excellent' and we felt very reassured leaving. We were on the half board option and ate regularly at the buffet as we found it easier with our son who liked to look and choose what he wanted in particular the ice cream! All excellent. Breakfast too was great, lots of choice and more than you could wish for. The staff serving through breakfast and evening dinner were all excellent, welcoming and keen to help. The spa was bliss we visited twice and left feeling totally relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel had a very international guest base and we met some very nice families. We would return and recommend this hotel for a great family holiday!

Room Tip: Recommend pool or sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyRH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort and for publishing such motivating words on Tripadvisor. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Your kind words about the team are highly appreciated and will be shared with them.
We are proud to know that you recommend our Resort for a great holiday!

We will be very pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
There are newer reviews for Bahia del Duque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights for our honeymoon July 2013. Everything from the staff and room to the food and cleanliness was just perfect. The breakfast was the best I've ever had. This is supposedly one of Spain's finest hotels, and I don't doubt it. Hope to go back one day.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank tinajosefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your honeymoon and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort on a future visit.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was overall a wonderful week in a great resort.
The beach is nice and clean. Territory green and beautiful, richly decorated and well treated.
Inside the resort there are several big pools but the sun-beds are very close and crowded, no intimacy there.

Good for us we stayed in the villa, so had our own spacious inside and outside, also good for suntan and a small pool.

Villas are very beautiful! big beautiful bath inside, spacious living- and bedroom, big nice own patio outside, where you could probably drop a small party if you wish..
Compliments during the day and evening - sweets, bruschettas, flowers, fruits, bottle of Moet&Chandon on arrival and same for villas breakfast every day (because villas have separate reception and separate breakfast, but last days we went to a big buffet, where everything displayed better and you eat facing the ocean).

Good restaurants! we tried the spanish, italian, mexican and evening buffet (were halfboard) -all of a good quality and choice. Mexican - La Hacienda - is a special experience to have wine facing the ocean :) staff - very kind and heplpful. Some of them speak english not very good, but understand You every way :)

SPA - has a good choice and attentive tendet therapists. But a bit overpriced, it seems. And the isolation is not ok at all! It is fine to hear the birds and the waves, but not machines working, people shouting and doors slamming, when ou are on a therapy!
Outstanding thing is a Thalasso SPA - set of the pools with warm salty water and different kindes of bubbles and jacuzzi, sauna and hammam. Free if you order some therapy, if not - 35 Euro (not limited time). One free invitation for villas!
WiFi in villas very good!

The thing I did not like much is Villas reception. Staff is very helpful and active, but in high season You have to wait untill one lady speaks with many people in front of You. No exlusiveness at all. And boring. Other point - I know, that different companies, offering tours and services, are not flexible to change something. But when I book a private taxi tour, I would not like to hear "they can not change/do/help". I would like to know, that we can deal with it and maybe change the price. Reception could be probably also better in solving different questions.

Impression of stay is very positive. And this is true one of places where you can both stay all the week inside the resort, or find many different things to do!

Room Tip: Villas are realy good!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we wish to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your holidays.

We also appreciate the time taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor. It is of great importance to us to receive your valuable opinion in regards to your stay.

While we are pleased to know that your overall stay was great, it is disappointing to read your comments about the Villas reception. However, it is thanks to honest feedback, that we can keep improving and maintain the level of expectancies of our guests.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to cater to your needs in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had reservations about taking a holiday in tenerife, but we were pleasantly suprised! The hotel is stunning and the staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. My only fault would be the service around the pools could be a bit better. The villas are beautiful and the hotel itself is nice, standard rooms are quite small so if travelling with a family, I would recommend a suite.
We travelled with our 7 month old son and the hotel were more than helpful, we had a cot, highchair and steriliser loaned to us and in our room when we checked in.
If you are looking for a hotel in Tenerife where you dont need to leave the resort - then this is it!
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The architecture makes the hotel look like a small Spanish village. The selection of restaurants was brilliant, but even if you didn't go to the al a carte restaurants then the buffet was superb and a great selection of food. The pools were lovely and the sun loungers were very comfortable. The resort is also located near a supermarket and some lovely restaurants and a few nice boutique shops. There is also a new and very big shopping mall about 5 mins walk away from the hotel. Overall we had a superb stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but ones with sea views are extra special.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank i_love_obergurgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review. We wish to take the opportunity to inform other travellers that the architecture of our Resort is inspired in the traditional Canary Island architecture of the 19th Century. It covers a surface area of 100,000 m², and more than 63,000 m² of this area are tropical gardens. The different plant species contrast with the hotel’s location beside El Duque beach, bathed by the Atlantic Ocean.

We would be pleased to welcome you in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel! My partner and I went for quick get away and we were not disappointed! The hotel is absolutely stunning and the service was magnificent. The hotel has a number of restaurants to choose from, all of an extremely high standard...my favourite was the tapas bar! The croquetas are a must try!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LitaEedz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My 10th visit to this remarkable 5* resort. This time 10 days half board in a junior suite, room 407. The room allocated was the top of a 3 story block to the rear of the property. Whilst not a sea view it had beautiful panoramic vista over the excellent well manicured gardens to the mountains beyond. We now choose half board as it allows us to use the Bernigal Buffet or any of the other restaurants within the complex. Say when using the Hacienda restaurant which has a slight Mexican theme and sits on the edge of the property fronting on to the beach. The choice on the half board menu is comprehensive, there is a slight 2 or 3 euros supplement for the more exotic dishes. Back to the Bernigal Buffet restaurant, the choice is tremendous as well as day to day specials like suckling pig, salt roasted fish and a full grilled fish and steak bar. Breakfast should not be missed as there is even a white chocolate fountain to compliment the milk chocolate fountain. The waiting staff and management made me feel like one of the family. So don't forget, tip them. One of the jewels in this resort is the kids club. I am dreading the day when my 9 year old starts to loose interest, at present he leaves the dining table prompt at 10 to 10 and we don't normally see him again until 6pm. Gemma the kids club manager is one of the longest serving employees having worked since day 1. The above average day could include football, mini golf, bouncy slide in the swimming pool, pony riding, parrot show with kids buffet, birds of prey, drawing and craft etc. Simple pleasures like feeding the ducks or lunch with the rest of the kids posse. The kids club team make it really special. The resort is built on a hill, there are lots of steps but the hotel provides a buggy service which is almost instantaneous. It's a safe environment, clean and focused on giving clients a superb experience. The beaches in front of the hotel are public but the hotel seems to maintain them to a very high standard. The beach bar cafe is another Hotel service which again provides superb drinks and snacks. One of our highlights is a night visit to the observatory on the hill above the Bernigal. It opens from around 9pm until late. The enthusiast who runs it makes viewing the stars, planets and the moon very informative. Even though i am late in life to see the rings of Saturn was an absolute experience. Even after our 10 visits there are still things to experience. We have still to stay in the villa's to the rear and the restaurant which overlooks the villa complex. The spa which my partner uses frequently is still a mystery to me etc. This time we chartered the Hotel boat, the 40ft Pamploma for 3 hours to go whale and dolphin spotting, snorkeling and a sandwich lunch. Super luxury.
Surely you say, he either works for the hotel or he is being paid, none of the above. I travel the world, staying at some of the best hotels on Business, each one i choose with the up most care, the Ritz Carlton Hong Kong for views and pure luxury, the Atlantis Dubai for the water park and unique experience but no hotel comes close to the warm welcome i receive each time i visit the Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque resort Tenerife.

Room Tip: The Ducal rooms are like club rooms with all the usual extra facilities. The Hotel is working on imp...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHBDR, Gerente at Bahia del Duque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I wish to thank you for your continued loyalty to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque all these years. We feel honoured and proud of having welcomed you and hope you will continue visiting us in the future.

We also thank you for taking the time to share your amazing comments in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure of us to know that the Resort team makes you and your family feel like one of the Bahia del Duque family.

Your kind comments will be shared with the team, who will be encouraged by your remarks.
We all are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Certainly we will rise to the occasion then.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.6 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#4 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Duque

Address: Avenida de Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £247 - £800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bahia del Duque 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bahia del Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Bahia Del Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing