We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel, shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed in the Jardines de Nivaria in October. On first impressions we were very impressed, the reception area was quiet plush and we looked forward to our stay. Our room was lovely and big, complimentary 1/2 bottle of wine & basket of fruit which was a lovely gesture. We went on a half board basis. We had breakfast only once which was very nice (being irish we prefer our lie ins!), but the evening meal was very bland. You had a great choice but everything tasted the same. One day we had lunch by the pool restaurant (soup & sandwich), I had the tomato soup which was lovely and that night tomato soup was on the menu for the evening meal and was totally different, pale in colour and very very bland. The salad buffet was good, but ALL Main courses were the same, from roasts, to curries to fish. It must be the oil that they cooked the food in. Dessets were fab. Overall I would recomend the hotel but just go b&b and eat out at night. Be warned the hotel seems to attract a lot of the older cliental (I am 37 and hubby 42) so night life is obviously non existant in the hotel itself. Would recommend a bar at the end of the "strip" where they have a rock/heavy metal band every night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Radi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

This was our third stay at the Jardines de Nivaria and had an excellent holiday yet agian.
We stayed in a superior suite which has the bigger balcony and the views of the sea, it was a good choice. For breakfast we chose to eat a la carte which was a really good way to start your day with a huge selection of food to choose from served to your table.
The staff at the hotel were really friendly, nothing too much trouble to help you and the maid service was exceptional.
All in all, well worth a five star rating and plan to go back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I have just returned from a 5 day holiday with my mum and sister to the Hotel Jardines de Nivaria. I think because of all the reviews we had read before our trip, we thought it was going to be quite something, and were disappointed when the taxi dropped us off at the front of the hotel, which seemed to be plonked in the middle of a busy street.
The reception was clean and spacious, but lacked the grandeur we were expecting.
We had booked a junior suite and although the location was good - ground floor, next to pool - it was much smaller than we expected and after the settee had been pulled down to a bed, there wasn't much room for 3 adults.
The room was cleaned well every day, but we were asked to remove our wine and water from the mini fridge, which I felt was a bit off. Also, the airconditioning system was poor and the room never really felt cool.
However, the bathroom was spacious with 2 basins, a seperate toilet and a great power shower.
Also, the room was fairly near the outside nighttime entertainment, and was a bit noisy when we went to bed.
The pool area was lovely though, and the pool service excellent, but expensive. A coffee was 4Euros, so cheaper to drink beer!
The heated pool was bliss, but did get busy with teenagers throwing balls to each other by afternoon, so probably best avoided in the height of the summer months!
On the negative, the hotel is perched quite high up, next to a steep busy road and overlooks a busy promenade which is filled with restaurants, and a pervading "foody" smell tends to dominate at lunchtime.
The view from the terrace is basically one of restaurant rooftops, with the sea as a backdrop, so not really what you're looking for when you want to get away from it all for a few days!
The buffet restaurant was nice, and I would recommend eating the food from the "show cooking" area, but do tell the chef when to turn your steak, otherwise it will be burnt to a cinder! Lots of choice at breakfast - and look out for the delicious pastries!
Again although the foods was good, it wasn't as exotic as we would have liked but still plenty of choice.
If you walk to the left when you leave the hotel from the beach front exit, you are right next to a real tourist area, filled with T-shirst, airbeds and cheap jewellery - a bit like the sea front at Benalmadena. However, if you go to your right, then the area suddenly becomes much more glamerous and upmaket (think Puerto Banus), with lovely little restaurants, coffee shops and gorgeous courtyards surrouded by expensive shops. There really is a different feel to this part of the resort and we decided that the Sheraton hotel would have been a better bet.
Overall, the hotel was good, but just not as luxurious as we were expecting. We did enjoy our break, the weather was fabulous and the hotel good, but not great. I would recommend it to a friend, but I would give them realistic expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scansiascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Having read all the reviews prior to booking, I do wonder how some people can be so picky!! We booked a last minute deal through Thomsons, getting a good deal and we were certainly not disappointed by our room. Check-in was extremely efficient and our room was delightful - large double room overlooking the pool and exceptionally clean with the comfiest hotel bed I've ever slept in.
The pool was very clean and refreshing (although it seemed quite salty or heavily chlorinated) and had plenty of sunbeds, although you needed to get up early to get the best spot. The hotel had a policy of removing towels that had been placed on sunbeds and not used within an hour, but this was not enforced which was a little irritating on occasion as some people would "reserve" sunbeds by 9am and not actually lay on them till late afternoon.
The breakfast buffet had everything you could ever want to eat for breakfast and catered for all tastes; we never had trouble getting a table between 0830 and 0930 and waiter service was incredibly attentive. The pool restaurant served excellent food (can highly recommend the tapas and salt-crusted sea bass) and the head waiter / maitre d was extremely friendly, polite and attentive.
The evening entertainment was good and varied, but come 11pm it ground to a halt and there wasn't much else to do except keep drinking or go to bed which could sometimes kill the evening a bit.
Whilst the hotel is technically located in Costa Adeje, the hotel is right on the edge of Playa de Las Americas and the immediate vicinity is full of tacky shops and "Brit" bars and pubs - not our cup of tea, but it may well appeal to others. There is a lift within the hotel grounds which takes you to the beach front - if you turn right outside the hotel, a 10 minute stroll takes you into a much more pleasant area with some nicer restaurants and bars, as opposed to KFC and McDonalds.
At check-in you have the option of leaving your credit card details so you can charge meals / drinks to your room and then just sign a receipt when you are served in the restaurants / bars; this is fine, but could be inconsistent on occasion - sometimes you were required to sign, sometimes you had to pay cash, so it could be easy to lose track of what you're spending if you're not careful.
I used the spa a couple of times and can highly recommend it - especially the chocolate bath!
All in all, we had a fantastic holiday - all the staff were extremely professional, attentive and courteous; the hotel, its rooms, the pool etc were exceptionally clean & tidy; the food was excellent. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHeadTraveller-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This hotel was as good as most reviews have detailed. I would just like to add for any travellers 50 years or under that it is very quiet. No music or anything around the pool during the day, and at night the entertainment would finish with older couples dancing. Not knocking this in anyway but just think people should know before the make a choice. gran hotel adeje just up the road is less expensive, just as comfortable but generally more fun.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed for a week early september. After reading reveiws on TA was expecting something out of this world. Hotel and grounds were very nice especially the pool area, room and cleanliness of the grounds very good, and overall a similar standard to other Hotels I have stayed in for a similar price (eg Annabelle Cyprus). I found the breakfast a bit of a cattle market to be honest and would have thought there would be a bit more organisation ie someone showing you to a free table.Sitting on the terrace would have been nice as well had it not been for the Germans hovering over you waiting for you to vacate your table. Food and drinks were about an average price for a hotel of this standard abd again were nothing particularly special.
Biggest disapointment was the resort itself. The area on the Las Americas side of the hotel was devoid of decent restaurants and was full of rundown bars with owners / touts trying to railroad you into their place. One or two decent places to eat around Del Durque Beach (opposite direction). We opted for Tenerife as we could only go for a week and our usual wintersun destination Mexico is a bit far to travel for a week. In my opinion for standard of hotel / service / value for money there are far better options than Adeje and Tenerife and I won't be rushing back to be honest.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred_Carno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I would endorse all the good reviews for this hotel, particularly the level of sevice.
Also agree with the many comments about eating out in the area as opposed to the hotel. The best options, being towards playa del duque such as Torre del Mirador restaurant. Or go a bit further west to Calleta for several good fish restaurants like Rosso sul Mare for great views out over the ocean. Go early or book in advance.
Avoid the hotel's La Cupola a la carte restaurant unless you are into tiny nouvelle cuisine portions.
The negative comments elswhere are all just a bit too picky !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimactoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.5 mi away
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
Hotel Suite Villa Maria
#3 of 60 in Costa Adeje
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,752 reviews
9.9 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#4 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles

Address: Calle Paris | Playa Fanabe, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £167 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines De Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles Hotel Costa Adeje
Jardines De Nivaria Hotel
Jardines De Nivaria Adeje
Hotel Jardines De Nivaria
Jardines Nivaria
Jardines De Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing