We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed two weeks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Princess Hotel
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed two weeks”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We have recently returned from staying for a week at this hotel 10th-17th May. We did email the hotel before we went to request a pool/sea view and that was what we where given (they do not reply to your email but do take note of your request).

The food was really good and the waiters where the best that I have come across, The reception staff where also really helpful and spoke excellent English again the best Reception staff that I have come across.

We did not really need much from the reps, but it was a nice touch that thompson supplied two reps Penny and Ben, who we saw regually around the hotel and where both very friendly and helpful.

It is true that he hotel is in need of an external paint job, but that does not reflect upon the internal decor.

We did have a drink at the bar when we first arrived in the piano bar, the bar staff were really friendly and the setting was lovely, but 12 euro for a Martini and Lemonaide and a Gin and Tonic, explained why there was barely anyone else in the bar. (we went out every night after that). There is a happy hour but it did not appear to be at the piano bar.

We chose to go out at night, there is so much variety and better value out there, We usually had our last drink in the Wigan Pier Bar over the road (where we usually have our lat drink in our hotel bar), which was both busy with nice atmosphere and good value for money. We would also recomend Harleys bar for cocktails, the bar staff entertaining and friendly.

There are plenty of sunbeds and we managed to find one when we needed one, dispite the large amount of towels put out in the morning by people reserving the one that they want. (amazingly we never saw anyone doing it but when you turned around there where more towels there).

We chose to go to Del Duke beach, expensive for loungers but where really comfortable. (more comfortabel than the hotel beds) But beware when swimming here on days when the waves are high, it is not as much fun as some people make it look unless you are a good swimmer. Children would have to be supervised as there did not appear to be a lifegard.

I will definatley return to this hotel or try out the sister hotel in front.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    778
    253
    61
    38
See reviews for
498
1,199
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Returned yesterday after 1 weeks stay, the weather was fabulous. The room could not have been better sea view and pool view. The service at the hotel was the best i have ever had, nothing was a bother to the staff and with a smile! Plenty of relaxing walks and a very clean and modern resort.
The drinks at the hotel were expensive, 12 Euros for x2 vodkas and cokes. Wine for a half bottle was 7 euros 30....however we hired a fridge for our room which was great for cool drinks.The cost of this was 4 Euros daily with a returnable 5 euro deposit.
The salesmen were out in force trying to sell everything from teas to sunglasses to timeshares and did wear you down a bit. Other reviews are correct walk right at the bottom of the hill not left Although...... the timeshare guys are now invading this road also,at least in part. The holiday was more expensive with the cost of sterling however i did love this hotel and it did not spoil it for me. Also if you are buying perfumes they are cheaper in resort than what they are at the airport , almost double in some cases around 41 Euros for 100mls same perfume only getting 50mls in the airport. Costa Adeje is a lovely resort and ideal location. Went to Los Gigantes on the bus which was 7 Euros each. Not much to see quaint little fishing village. Bus stops right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The Bahia Princess is a lovely hotel but the surrounding area is grotty. The pavements were broken, skips overflowing as well as dustbins. Men with parrots wanting our daughter to pose with it. One tried to sell us a ring, it was too dodgy and we felt uneasy. Shops were poor too. I cannot comment on any bars as we just didnt like the area & so chose to stay & drink at the Hotel (good job it was so nice). Surprisingly we spent almost £60 within 5 minutes of checking in, just by renting a fridge and safe, which we felt for a 4 star hotel the safe should have been free. Drinks are very expensive over £7 for one beer and one small wine. The Hotel is very clean (I have an exceptionally high level of cleanliness). There was a excellent choice of food although we found the quality of some things only average. Bacon was fatty and undercooked, bananas were battered and bruised, deserts all tasted the same. We had no problems obtaining sunbeds, and almost all of them had a parasol per every 2 beds. The staff were very helpful & polite. We would most probably stay here again but it would need to be in a different location. I would reommend the hotel but not the resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2009

My adult daughter and I went for a week to chill out and rest, and the hotel was absolutely ideal. Good room size, good pools, excellent food, excellent service from all members of staff. We have been to tenerife before, but this is by far the best hotel. Had room overlooking pool with double balcony. It was quiet and peaceful - no noise late at night or early mornings, so you could sleep in!!! - as long as you didnt miss the yummy breakfast. The choice of food was excellent and catered for all tastes and fussy eaters certainly would have had a choice. I must confess to having 5 scoops of ice cream on the last night as I couldn't decide what flavour to have as they were all scrummy!!! You couldnt find fault with this Hotel even if you wanted too, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you Bahia Princess

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirateparents2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We are just back after a week staying at the Bahia Princess (12-19 May 2009). The hotel was excellent. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. We had a room which looked out onto the pool area at the top of the steps (I had read previous reviews about the rooms facing onto the road being quite noisy, so I emailed the hotel via the Bahia Princess website and requested a pool facing room). When we arrived, we had to wait half an hour for the room, but were given a free drink and asked to wait by the poolside bar...which wasn't a hardship! The rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed and bed sheets changed/beds made. There was also air conditioning in the room, so it was never too hot at night, and was always cool during the day. We were up really early one morning to go on an excursion, and there were two cleaners out cleaning every single sunbed thoroughly with soapy water then rinsing them. The hotel was spotless.

The hotel is very central and the local bus service could be boarded from a stop across the road, with buses taking you regularly back and forward to Los Gigantes, Los Christianos, etc.

The restaurant was the star of the show. Breakfast had everything you could possibly think of, including a chef who stood and made omelettes (tortillas) to order! Evening meals were also a treat, again a wonderful range of food......I am a vegetarian and always found plenty to eat....... there was also a chef cooking fish and a chef cooking meat every night. The restaurant staff were also very good, very efficient and always made you feel welcome. It was often a struggle to get back up the steps after a meal at night!!!!!

I can't really comment on the entertainment, as we always went out at night. The drink was very expensive in the hotel, but there is a happy hour from 10.45 - 11.45 pm when all drinks are half price. You also have to hire the safe in room, but we knew that before we went so it wasn't a problem. To hire the fridge was 4 euros daily, but we didn't hire it, and we didn't really need to.

I have read comments about the steps being a problem, but there are lifts available for anyone who can't manage them.

I could not fault this hotel, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneBroonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We spent New Year (08-09) at the Bahia Princess, and had a lovely week. The hotel is impressive, and its strongest point is the service - they couldn't do enough for you. The gala New Year dinner was great fun, and the hotel entertainment was generally very good (particularly if you don't mind the 1970's styled "Euro-pop" warm up act!).

The hotel sits on the cusp of the two halves of this resort. If you walk down the hill from the hotel, on your left is the old 1960s resort with peely restaurants, tacky market-quality shops and karoake bars. On your right (if you walk towards it) is the smart developed new resort, with upmarket apartments, designer shopping and 4*+ hotels. Keep walking along the waterfront path, round the headland, and you will soon come to a beautiful secluded beach with a brilliant beachfront ice cream bar and restaurants.

We wanted a quiet, relaxing week in the sun, with quality food and occasional dips in the pool, and that's exactly what we got.

If you want a hotel with a spa, gym etc, then you will look elsewhere though. Although the gym at the sister hotel next door is available to you, it is barely worthy of the name "gym" - just a couple of basic exercise bikes.

Final point: this resort seems to welcome Daily Mail and Sun readers, as no other newspaper was available, not a single broadsheet!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Stayed here for a week between 21st-28th April. Had never been to the Canaries before and was hoping for good weather at this time of year. Weather was good but a lot of thick cloud at times. We had debated between the Guayarmina and the Bahia but opted for the Bahia as the reviews were better and Thomson rated it as a 5*.

After the first drop off at the Guayarmina I thought we may have made the wrong choice as the Bahia looked like it needed a coat of paint and was not as grand as it had appeared in the photos. The reception area was lovely but we were disppointed to find that our room was at the back of the hotel overloooking the busy road. I asked immediately to be moved, but there was no other room in a better location available until 3 days later but we decided to change after 3 days. Our new room overlooked the pools and we could just about see the sea so it was worth moving.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and were kept spotlessly clean. Previous reviews have mentioned problems with electrical points but there was one in the bathroom that we used. The restaurant was also a plus as there was a massive selection of food which was well cooked and different choices each night.

Drinks are very expensive at the hotel due to the Euro. In the day and night a bottle of water, very small glass bottle of sprite or coke was 2 euros 50 and in the evening a lot of the cocktails were about 7 or 8 euros. They also ask you only to consume food/drink purchased from the hotel, but we bought water and snacks from the local supermarket and a bottle of water there worked out at about 20p.

This hotel is not suitable for those who have walking difficulties as there are so many steps and everything is on a hill. The trek back from the beach is difficult and the pavements are very slippy. The beach is not the greatest, it has black sands (which I was aware of) and people pester you to buy their items. You also have to pay for loungers and sun umbrellas.

We stayed in the hotel area most time. There were not enough loungers round the pool so we often had to sunbathe up on the patio area and walk down to the pool. Very little day entertainment going on but was a variety of evening entertainment. This hotel appears to attract mainly older couples and I would not bring children here.

The fact that everything was on a hill, the number of steps, beach wasn't great and the cost with the Euro means that I would not be in a rush to come back here. For the price that we paid I would prefer to spend a bit more and go to the Caribean. However, it was a nice hotel, excellent food with lovely staff and if someone really wants to go to Tenerife then this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#32 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Princess Hotel

Property: Bahia Princess Hotel
Address: Avenida Bruselas, no 1 | Princess Hotels Resorts, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel is located in the Costa Adeje resort. The Fañabe beach, shopping malls, bars and restaurants are all nearby. Located in the south of Tenerife the hotel is ideal for those looking for rest and relaxation, prefer a central location, value a personalized service and wanting to have the beach just around the corner. Built like an ancient palace the Bahía Princess features tall pillars, a gigantic glass dome in the entrance area, light marble and a magnificent staircase that leads down to the main pool. The Bahía Princess has 275 rooms located in a main and annex building, all featuring bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, satellite-tv (flat screen) and air conditioning. In addition to the large outdoor pool there is also a children's pool and two swimming pools with further areas to soak up the sun. Two pool bars offer cool drinks and tasty snacks. The main restaurant boasts an art-deco-style interior and a terrace overlooking the pool. The entertainment options include shows and live-music in the evening and fitness activities during the day. Furthermore two theme parks are just a stone's throw away from the Bahía Princess: Siam Park and Aqualand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Costa Adeje
Bahia Hotel Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bahia Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Hotel Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing