We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great service, Great location, Great food = Great holiday”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week at the luabay and could not fault it! Like most people have said on here after booking the hotel and then reading the reviews I was a bit worried about what we would find, however needn't have been concerned! From the word go I knew we were going to be looked after very well! I honestly think people were picking fault for the sake of it! Sure the shower does have a tendency of flooding, and the lifts are a bit slower than one would expect but it's not a big deal! The food was amazing, great selection and choice and all very clean! Pool area is really clean and has a general friendly atmosphere! Entertainment staff were amazing, working very hard all day at the pool an in the evening, very friendly and just wanting you to have a good holiday! Drinks on tap and available all day including a large selection of cocktails! One thing that I would mention is the spa, I went an paid for an hour long massage and it was amazing, and then had the use of the spa area including 2 hydrothermal pools, steam room, sauna and many more spa treatments! My friend and I are 24 and had a brilliant time at this hotel please do not listen to any of the negative comments!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cat100687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,021)
There are newer reviews for HOVIMA Costa Adeje
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Went here in January/February and liked it so much we went back in April. Asked for room on the 4th floor to the front of hotel and looking south and that`s what we had. Only complaints it would be nice for the wine waiters to open a new bottle of wine at the table and there was water damage in our room, cieling & floor due to the trouble they`ve had with the poor installation of the showers. Still had a great holiday and will be back in January.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColinPaul36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

very very good location.room and food average,but very clean.lifts were a bit of a problem,very slow, too many people for two lifts.staff very friendly, and the all inclusive was very good value.entertainment was acceptable something on every evening..pool area not bad, very clean, lots of lounges.not that suitable for kids, in my opinion....more of hotel, not a resort.but would go again..more of a 3.5 star, than a 4 star....good value for money, would go again....mr alex x

Room Tip: lower room if able to walk the stairs, as lifts were slow.and to the front of hotel if poss as nicer...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from one week’s holiday after staying at the Luabay Hotel in Adeje, Tenerife. So glad we didn’t take any notice of the negative reviews for this hotel, we would have missed out on a great holiday. The hotel is excellent, the staff are very friendly, the food is very good and you can vary your meals in many ways with the selection of food that is on offer. Our holiday was all-inclusive and everything was included, you don’t even have to buy water as a new bottle is placed in your room every day. One of the pools is partly heated and feels like getting into a warm bath (one thing I would mention is that the pool area can be very slippery and you do need to take care.) All the rooms and the hotel were spotless. Nicely situated if you want to go out to shops or restaurants. Also very well equipped for disabled visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank EnglandVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just got back from Luabay, never been to Canary Isles before and although Costa Adeje is built up (not what we are used to), where the Luabay is situated is just right - Our room on 6th floor (double bed, many thanks Luabay), was great, our balcony (good size), had backdrop of the wonderful mountains and foreground of tennis courts etc. but with what was described as limited sea view, which was anything but limited - we over looked both pools and super sea view, not telling what room number as keeping this one for ourselves (sorry), back to Hotel facilities, very good, staff lovely, exceptional cleaning of our room, food good (anyone could make a meal out of what was on offer, unless very finicky), our air con. in room could have been a little cooler, due to temperatures being very high (not seasonal, trust us to pick a heatwave), but absolutely welcome after miserable weather in UK, nightly entertainment was very good, although my husband and I mostly sat outside on the patio outside entertaining area, or terrace above, so we could hear the music (and tribute acts), all in all a very good holiday to Tenerife - would absolutely go back, thank you all at Luabay. My husband and I decided this was a good 4 Star Hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms get the sun, quieter towards back of hotel (not above nightly entertainment venue) th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AnitaWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Luabay, the staff at this hotel are excellent and that's all of them. Food was fine even if not the greatest choice but no complaints on what was on offer.
The room was very clean and was cleaned daily, fresh towles and bottled water. we asked for a lower level room which was located on first floor.
Good position for resort with only a very short walk to the beaches and shops. Pool area was always clean and tidy.
Will be going back that's for sure, great value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank steve1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Checked in PM Fri 4th May for one week duration after a short transfer from airport. Entrance/check-in desk is well set back from the road, but there is a ramp for suitcases. Unfortunately only 1 member of staff to check in about 10 couples, but the clerk coped very well, bless her.
Our room was situated on 4th floor & had reasonable left view of ocean & front view over looking upper pool & tennis court. Pleasant mountain backdrop to the right.
On first impression our room appeared small in comparison to other 4star accom & we were a little dissapointed to learn that tea, coffee, robes etc; only available to "superior" rooms & we could upgrade @ £30 per night. (mis-described in brochure Thomson's) Grr ..
However the smallish room at this 'platinum' grade hotel was very clean & serviced every day (even Sunday!)
Luabay location is very good & only a short stroll to the beach & a little further to the harbour.
Beware of the extensive use of marble steps to navigate your way to the bar & also to the outside pool areas. We saw one poor woman trip on these steps & fall her full length bless her but several other guests attented her & apart from a little embarrassment she was fine. Although only four marble steps in & out of this sunken seated area this does become inconvenient after several trips to the bar.
The food was about average & you'll always find something to eat. Also, please try the "a la carte" area as it was excellent waitered service & allowed some plate collectors to show off their silver service skills.
Personally I can't see what makes Luabay platinum standard as both me & my partner would only rate it as average 3/4star.
Evening entertainment was 'bought-in' & excellent professional quality.
We didn't hire a car this holiday as I objected to the requirement to pay £12 per night to park at the hotel.
So, in summary, a bit of a mixed view but all-in-all an enjoyable week with excellent weather :o)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meerkat-mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We thank you very much for your review! It is good to see that you enjoyed your holidays and liked the Luabay Costa los Gigantes. We would like to apologize for the problems with the mentioned issues. To us our customors’ satisfaction is the most important thing and we always try to give our best. So you help us to improve our performance as we will critically analyze every detail. In terms of our pool bar we would like to state that we set highest standards in hygiene and will control this area again thoroughly. Hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel and show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#33 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#22 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,705 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#39 of 59 in Costa Adeje
1,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £118 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing