We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a nice location”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. We found the hotel very relaxing, clean, tidy and well run. We found the food was excellent and waiters very attentive and prompt. We didn't have to wait for tables or drinks. If i was to be picky (and i admit this is very picky), the entertainment, which was very good, would be better outside as it was currently sited next to the indoor bar area. But as i said, this is a very minor picky point.

The location of the hotel was great, just a couple of minutes walk to the beach (across the road and down some steps) with more than enough bars etc in the local area (if you want to get out from the hotel).

Overall i would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family and i would definitely book at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the lifts and at the front of the hotel have larger balconies. The room we had (64...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,572 - 2,578 of 3,164 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We came back from a weeks stay on 15th June and had a really lovely time here at Luabay. We travelled with first choice, the reps from which you couldn't fault. The hotel was immaculate, reception staff were very friendly, we never had to fight over sunbeds or get up at a ridiculous hour to save them and if you stay at the top pool area you aren't pestered by the entertainment team to join in the activities. The rooms themselves were very nice, very modern and all rooms have a sea view of some sort. THE FOOD WAS AWESOME. We've been to many other 4* hotels in Costa Adeje and would say the food and dining facilities were the best here. For a weeks stay you can have 2 evenings in the a la carte restaurant where they offer 2 themed evenings, spanish tapas and mexican. The buffet restaurant for lunch and the remaining evenings was excellent. Waiters were professional, tables were cleared quickly, there was never a wait for a table or a struggle to find one as most often you were shown to a table. There is a wide selection of salads, breads, soup, fresh pasta, pizza's, fish and meat were cooked in front of you and the puddings and cheese selection was varied and very tasty unlike other hotels. As you step out of the hotel whichever way you walk you are surrounded by bars and restaurants and you are seconds away from the beach. No idea why there are bad reviews about this hotel anywhere on the internet, I would definitely recommend it to any couple of any age. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Katie99186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in feb for 7 nights for a girlie winter break. outside the building is amazing and the lobby is sparkling. We had asked for a high sea view room but got a smokey 1st floor carpark view, which i refused and was told bluntly that was our room, after 20minutes of arguing we got a level 7 room much better, needs cupboards and a bath. tv works without remote, beds comfy and lovley hot water. Aircon not working but we didnt need it. food was fab and service excellent, wine was cheap but didnt really drink it. the bar had good variety but there was one waiter who was very in your face and as we were both 21 seemed very persistant to the point where we asked a waiter who came round every 45 min to irdrr are drinks. pools were lovley, normal sunbed issues but we were always in full sun by midday. beach was lovley
Good stay but not 5* or premier, but a standard relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachelhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent 2 relaxing weeks from 31/5 to 14/6 with my wife at this friendly comfortable hotel which is ideally located close to a promenade which skirts the beachfront of Adeje to the north as far as La Caleta and stretches via lively las Americas to Los Christianos in the South. Our experience confirms the many positive reviews of this Hotel. The staff were very helpful and virtually always exchanged a friendly greeting. The buffet nearly always provided a good choice often attracting us in at lunch times as well as in the evenings and the Spanish (Tapas) and Mexican a la carte options provided enjoyable diversions. Wine served by the glass or bottle in the rerstaurants was fair except the Rosado which I found less palatable. The Tinto in the restaurant was superior to that served in the bar. You wont have encountered any of the local spirits served here. Mostly ok but the vodka in particular (unfortunate brand name which Tripadvisor profanity rules have prevented me reporting!) tasted perfumey as did the brandy and whiskey sometimes. However generous measures of branded drinks are available for a 2 Euro per drink supplement. Alternatively Smirnoff is available in local shops for around 9.70 Euro per litre which can be enjoyed with an endless supply of good quality mixers (my daytime preference). There is also an expensive Splendit option available which with a few minor other benefits provides access to all premium brands.It's worth consulting the drinks menu early on in your visit as it might suggest alternatives which you could otherwise overlook. The public rooms are well appointed but need better air conditioning during the evening entertainment. The acts I watched were better than average for european AI's. The pool areas were ideal with lively and quieter alternatives and with a great chillax area with comfortable shaded furnishings behind the adult pool area. The first week there wasn't much bed reservation going on but the second there was. I guess it varies with the guests and the occupancy level. Guests are mainly English with some French, German, Spanish and a few Russians. We met lots of really nice people.
There is a small Spa which offers various massages at typical hotel prices.
I would readily recommend this hotel to friends especially with a high room overlooking the pool area which also provides a better view of the sea (and adjacent La Gomera on clear days).
There are lots of bars everywhere with good value eating mainly to the left coming out of the hotel and good quality mainly to the right, El Duque direction.
The room safes, key operated, are very small so not ideal if like me you take lots of photographic, optical and electronic equipment on holiday. There is no chance of fitting an ipad in, but enough space for passports jewellery and phones.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank holidayTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just spent two relaxing weeks at the Luabay. The hotel is very modern and extremely clean throughout. The pool area is very relaxing with cream sunloungers and cream umbrellas. There is a choice of 2 pools. Most of the daytime activities are centred around the lower level pool which is heated. The food was fairly similar most days. The pizzas were amazing and you could see the chef making the dough then cooking them in a proper pizza oven in the wall. Entertainment in the evening started at 9.00 with a quiz and then various professional acts, would recommend going to see Johnny Circus who was hilarious. The hotel location is great. You can walk to del Duque in one direction and Las Americas and Los Christianos (if you like a long walk)in the other direction. We have stayed in lots of hotels in this area of Tenerife but would not hesitate to book The Luabay Hotel again as it was such good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ruby1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from Luabay, read lots of poor reviews so was worried on arrival, but as soon as we got there the polite, friendly staff put my mind at rest. Hotel modern, trendy and very clean, lots of sofa's inside to relax, bar and entertainment area very large, good range of drinks, bar snacks are nibbles not hot food but lots of choice, popcorn,crisps, sandwiches.nuts, ice cream. Entertainment excellent both for kids in the day (adult poor area perfect for couples) and at night time the entertainment is a quiz and then a local quality act- singers, dancers. Room was small but good storage and can see sea from all rooms. Towels,large chilled bottle water provided and cleaned each day by very hard working staff. Food good range, healthy and not so healthy, good if your a veggi- fresh fish and meat cooked in from of you and lots of salad, pasta, pizza. Also a taplas and mexician choice you can go to twice in 1 week, very good presentation, high quality food. Would go back to Luabay again and again 10 out of 10. 100% perfect hotel.

Room Tip: email hotel direct if you want poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank penny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Luabay with 15 and 16 year old children. The hotel, pool and rooms were very clean and the maid came every day. There was always spare sunbeds and only a couple of guests put there towels out but it was unnecessary.
The entertainment was good in the day and ok in the evening.
You had to pay for pool towels, the safe and a tv remote control if you needed it.
Erika on reception and Paublo in the lounge bar were great but all the staff were friendly.
You can go to the Spanish restaurant and Mexican restaurant on certain nigths which breaks up the all inclusive, but the food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £121 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing