We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday !!”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have just returned from this hotel on the 12th august 2012. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews about the hotel but when we arrived the hotel was beautiful!! Me and my boyfriend are 19 and found the hotel perfect. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the beach which had plenty of water sports from jet skiing to banana boats and par ascending. The prices aren't too bad about 10-12 euros for the banana boats, however the jet ski's are lot more at 60 euros each. The hotel is also situated just of the seafront where there are lots of bars and restaurants to visit, we did not visit these as we was all inclusive which we thought was very good value for our money. We could not find any faults with the food, there is plenty of choice and did not struggle to find something to eat everyday/night!! The food was very fresh and the chefs would cook certain foods infront of you such as pasta and your fresh meat and fish and omelettes in the mornings. We heard about the noise issue from the entertainment so asked for a room above the 2nd floor and we was given a double room on the 5th floor with a part sea part mountain view which was gorgeous. The only fault we had was the shower leaked abit but once we had put a towel on the floor there was no problem! The website says a 40 minute transfer however we found we was only a 20 minute coach journey away from the airport which was good!! The staff were very helpful and friendly and never expected a tip!! They was always cleaning throughout the day around the pools and inside the hotel. We did a few trips and we recommend to go to Siam park we LOVED IT!! Another trip which we really enjoyed was the freebird trip and we advise any adults to go on the adults only trip which only costs 6 more euros each. It is well worth it yes we was on a slightly smaller catamaran but it was still big enough as they only allow 35 people on a trip, were as the normal one holds about 75, it looked very cramped and uncomfortable. Where as ours we had plenty of room and was being served champagne throughout the trip. We seen dolphins and Wales which was a great experience was well worth the extra 6 euros!! We would defiantly recommend this hotel to our friends we had an amazing holiday and would return to this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola070409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,564 - 2,570 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our first family holiday (with a 9 month old baby) and so it would be fair to say that we were a little concerned about how it would go at the Luabay, especially considering all the negative reviews that have been published over the past month.

I'm not going to suggest that any just ignores the bad reviews - after all, they are people's experiences - but it's best to place them in context.

We needn't have worried at all, we had an absolutely brilliant time at this hotel and would definitely book again.

First impressions were how clean the hotel was (something that we were particularly concerned about with a baby). The bar/food areas, lobby and swimming pool area were always spotlessly clean. Check-in was a relatively easy process although some help getting suitcases to our room would have been appreciated.

The room was clean, not particularly large but enough space to sleep and get dressed in (I'm not sure what else people need from a hotel room!) We had a sea-view which was nice and we got the mid-afternoon/evening sun. The room safe wasn't very large, a previous review said it was large enough to hold an iPad so I took mine - it wasn't! I can only conclude that different rooms have different size safes. The bathroom was also of a reasonable size with a walk-in shower (yes it ran onto the floor, but we just put a towel down). If I had to make any negative comments about the room it was that the air-conditioning wasn't great (no temperature adjustment) and although the bathroom looked impressive I think it would be fair to say that it's more 'style over substance'.

Having read some of the other reviews I'm not entirely sure where they were eating. There was nothing wrong with either the quality or selection of food on offer. Yes, it was a bit repetitive but just choose different things!

Breakfast
Omelettes
Cheese and ham toasties
Pancakes
Pastries
Eggs (Scrambled, fried and poached)
Bacon (Roasted or fried)
Sausages
Breads, jams and spreads
Meats and cheeses
Cereals

Lunch and dinner mainly followed the same format but had different choices
Salad bar
A grill bar with freshly cooked meat and fish
There was always a second meat and a second fish dish (usually in a sauce of some kind)
Several types of cooked veg
Chips
Potatoes
Pizzas
Freshly cooked pasta in a sauce of your choice (from a selection of four!)
Usually a baked dish, i.e. lasagne, canneloni or moussaka
Two soups (in the evening)

When it comes to food, if having 2 meats, 2 fish, pastas, pizza, salad, soups and more veg than you could possibly eat in a day isn't enough of a selection for you, then you might be better of somewhere else (like another country!)

We ate in the a la carte section of the restaurant twice (Mexican and Tapas). Both were good and worth booking.

I can't comment on the hotel entertainment as we didn't watch any of the shows.

What I will say is that almost every member of waiting staff at this hotel was fantastic. They made particular fuss of our daughter - she loved all the attention. We didn't feel that we needed to tip to get good service, we got it because they're good at their jobs (particular mention should go to Carlos). Another review mentioned that some of the waiters favoured other nationalities (i.e. the Germans) - there was one waiter who I felt did this but it could simply be that he spoke better German than English!

If I were to return to Costa Adeje I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jtibbles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have to disagree with the review below. My husband and i returned from the Luabay today after a ten day stay. We went for his 50 th Birthday. The hotel and its staff were absolutely excellent. Rooms and hotel so clean. Food for an all inclusive was excellent. The cake chef did an exceptional job. We had the most relaxing holiday ever. We are going to book next year.

Room Tip: Rooms pool side are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynblanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Returned from this hotel on 10th July 2012. What can I say, hotel was advertised as Thomson 4* Premier. Where do I start, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very clean and bathrooms were absolutely first class, but that is where the good ends, the food was absolutely horrible, yes they make fresh pasta every day, but twice i had it and twice the sauce was burned, i have two kids one at 10 and one at 3, apart from breakfast they didn't have a choice unless they liked fresh pasta without a sauce, chips or salad, so they lived on chips and fresh fruit for lunch each day, we ate out every night as could manage doing without anything decent at lunch but not for dinner as well. The daily entertainment consisted of a girl standing at the side of the pool dancing - that was the water aerobics, another day a girl stood beside the bar dancing - that was Zumba - come on this is certainly not entertaining or exercise. One bar person to serve a full hotel in all inclusive so always a queue. Definately a 4* hotel with regards to looks but more like a 2* with the food and entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback, Wendy. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our food and the entertainment at the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be forwarded to the respective departments in order to improve the food selection and look into the entertainment program. We hope you had a relaxing holiday nonetheless and would be delighted to welcome you and your family as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Have just returned from the Luabay hotel in Costa Adeje with my partner and our 5 year old daughter. We stayed for 2 weeks all inclusive and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins to the beach, 2 mins to the nearest chemist and doctors and a huge selection of shops, bars and restaurants, hairdressers, nail bars and supermarkets. We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and we struggled to carry 3 suitcases, hand luggage, buggy and daughter up the ramps and the main entrance. Would have expected someone to have been there to assist with luggage considering the hotel has been rated as " Platinum". Check - in was rather slow but when we got to our room, we were not disappointed!! We stayed on the 6th floor ( room 611) and when we opened our patio doors we discovered that we had a huge private area of sun terrace complete with sun loungers, parasol and table and chairs.....the outside area was larger than the room itself and we made good use of the sun terrace when our daughter would have her afternoon nap.....it was a real sun trap. We had also been left a bottle of champagne in our room as it was our anniversary. The bathroom was lovely and came complete with a " wet room".

Unfortunately on our arrival to the hotel, we were advised that the air con in the hotel was not working. We were forced to sleep with the patio doors open on our first night and I wakened to find that I had received 9 mosquito bites throughout the night! The air con was fixed the following morning.

With regards to the food in the main restaurant, we could not fault it whatsoever! Loads to choose from and always fresh and well presented. The restaurant has an outside seating area where we would have our breakfast and dinner. This area is closed during lunch time. The waiters can't do enough for you and are excellent with children. They work so hard!!!! The restaurant manager was a grumpy old man......he seemed more concerned about cleaning the tables down ready for the following morning and if you happen to sit at one of these tables then he would come and ask you to move!

The pool areas were always clean and tidy and always lots going on. You could take part in aqua aerobics, water polo, Zumba, darts, shooting and table tennis. Kids mini club was good....but be warned, if you are expecting to use this facility to have a few hours to relax by yourself then forget it!! This mini club does not run like this and most offend activities are done with the kids outside in the sunshine. The staff who work at the mini club are fantastic and all the kids loved them!!

The reception staff can't do enough for you also....anything you ask them and they will always try and help you. You an request pack lunches from the hotel if you are going out forth day.....these can be collected from the main restaurant and you need to have your order in before 8.30am the day before.

The pool bar was well stocked and we always received quick service. My only complaint about the pool bar was the snacks. We normally stay in Barcelo hotels and they are rated 4*, at these hotels you can have burgers, chips, pizza and pasta from the pool bar throughout the day but at this hotel you had the choice of pre-packed tuna or cheese and ham sandwiches, biscuits and cakes. For a " Platinum" hotel I expected more. There were days when it would have been nice to stay by the pool for lunch but because the selection wasn't up to much, we felt forced to eatbin the restaurant every lunch time. This is my only complaint about the hotel and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and we would return again.

I had visited Tenerife about 14 years ago with my girlfriends and I had always said I would never return! But after staying at this hotel and resort I will most likely return again. The area was very clean and I only saw 2 cock roaches in the 2 weeks that we stayed here.

Evening entertainment was a bit of a hit or miss!! Some acts were excellent and others were terrible!!!

Overall an excellent holiday with a great location and a fantastic hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Book room 611 with your own private sun terrace!!!! It made our holiday extra special!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhoda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

First trip to Tenerife and just got back from Luabay Costa Adeje after 2 weeks all inclusive, with husband, daughter and her boyfriend. Can only say that dont listen to the whingers and the whiners. From start to finish the hotel lived up to expectations. .The tranfers to the hotel were great-second drop off, check -in was speedy. The staff are all polite and friendly, the hotel is spotless, the cleaning staff work from dawn to dusk. What more can you ask for? Its one of the best hotels we have stayed in.We were on the 5th floor , seaview one side, mountain view the other- perfect. Ok the food could be a bit repetitive, as you usually find after two weeks but to be fair the choice was vast, you would never be hungry as there was always plenty of choice. As a party of four we never had a problem getting sunbeds even at 9.30am although sometimes had to shuffle them around abit. Cant believe some of the saddos getting up at 7am to put their towels on the sunbeds in the same spot every day. Thought holidays were all about relaxing . Siam park is a must do trip, as is the dolphin and whale watching, although it was very rough the day we went and most of the passengers ended up being seasick. All in all a great holiday and would definately return to Luabay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel was absolutey gorgeous, very modern, rooms was a good size for couples at least any more ie 3 will be a tight squeeze. The location was great, some great views. Balconys were small apart from higher floors which we requested. We were also one of the unlucky ones to have no aircon, with many complaints we finally got a fan a few days later which did nothing.
Food was reasonable, but towards the end of the holiday became repetitive (pizza, chips, vegetable lasagne), could have done with a bigger meat (without sauces etc) and potato selection.
Staff in the Bar area were really nice and worked hard real credit to luabay, despite a few queues at some parts of the night one extra member of staff could have resovled this. Dining area staff were kind and quick to serve, but there was a few grumpy ones that we soon stayed away from. They like to show you to a table and get you a drink if you didnt want this service just say.

Some bad points were, fridge was replaced 4 times in the first week as it didnt do anything apart from let off heat. We found out on our last day that it was actually a cool box. But it wasnt even cool. With the aircon being off and 'fridge' letting off that much heat we unplugged it. Many complaints to reception and reps, neither cared and took days and much moaning to get a replacement 'fridge'.
Reception are useless at resolving issues such as the broken fridge and a lack of water in the room. After complaining to the rep many times about our water issue we was promise some 'free stuff' which we didnt get after a few days, we asked again where is it and they said reception should have sent it up.

Great hotel, clean and modern in a great location, but poor service, repetitive meal options -wouldnt go there again.

Room Tip: High floor= less rooms/ less noise and bigger balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidayLover2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Team Luabay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and helping us improve our service. We are very sorry to hear that there were problems with the cooler and that they could not be resolved or compensated in time. Please accept our apologies. We really hope that apart from the heat in your room you had a great and relaxing holiday and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#11 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Sabila
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 60 in Costa Adeje
4,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £124 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Stayforlong S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing