We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor Co.Down Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Luabay Costa Adeje from March 30th (Easter Saturday) until April 6th. From mixed reports on Trip Advisor I was sure I wasn’t going to like the place but it started to grow on me after a couple of days and I ended the week having enjoyed it all.
We were half board in a mainly all inclusive hotel so I thought there would be loads of children but there actually wasn’t. There were pools on 3 levels and any young children were mainly kept to the 2 lower levels where there were children’s pools. The upper level was an adult pool. It appeared to me to be a very civilised all inclusive with very little queuing for anything.
We booked a superior room which gave us a high floor with side sea views of the pool / sea to the left & mountains to the right (sun on this side of the hotel from before 5pm until sundown as long as you are on a higher floor). If you want morning/early afternoon sun on the balcony choose a room on the car park side of hotel). As others have stated there is a lack of drawers, only 3 behind the sliding wardrobes. There was plenty of space in the room where other drawers could have been placed. The full length glass door on the bathroom is also a bad idea, the door must be extremely heavy which puts a great strain on the door frame. There is no upright chair in the room, we had to bring the balcony chairs in from time to time.
The room itself is a standard size with twin beds which were comfortable and with spotless sheets (change twice weekly). There were 2 bedside tables (no drawers!). Below the flatscreen TV (only BBC news & Sky news English channels) there is a long unit to put things on and room underneath and at the side to store cases. Within this unit was a fridge (free) and we were left a free litre of water each day. There was also tea/coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers.
The sliderobes had plenty of hangers and the safe €14.70 per week + €10 returnable deposit) was placed on top of the 3 drawer unit within the sliderobes.
The bathroom had a walk in shower which could wet the bathroom floor quite easily if the water flow wasn’t kept under control. Towels were changed daily if required.
Pool towels can be hired for €15 each (returnable at end of holiday) and exchanged for dry ones at reception when desired.
The balcony was quite small with 2 chairs and a small table. However because the ‘walls’ of the balcony were made of Perspex glass and we could see through it the balcony seemed a bit bigger. There was a small clothes dryer to hang your washing.
So many complained on Trip Advisor about the food but I thought it was good with a varied choice and a cooking station where breakfast/dinner could be cooked to your choice. If the food wasn’t warm enough there was a microwave. The restaurant could be very busy in the evening but we never had any problem getting a seat, but it was quite noisy. Breakfast time in the restaurant was much quieter if you were there around 9am. They also did ‘specialist meal’ nights in part of the restaurant but as we were not all inclusive customers we could not attend.
The hotel was spotlessly clean from reception/bar area/public toilets/bedrooms etc. and all the staff we met were lovely and very helpful.
We emailed the hotel prior to arrival and asked for the floor we wanted on the pool side and got it no problem, we also booked directly with the hotel as they had offers on.
The evening entertainment wasn’t great but because most had paid for all inclusive they wouldn’t leave but we liked to go out walking in the evening and just saw the end of the entertainment on our return.
We did enjoy our week here, the hotel is in a great position and I would try another week here at a later stage. For the money it was a good choice in a spotless hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to sit on the balcony in the evening and get the sun choose a room on the pool side on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PickiePool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    1,149
    461
    118
    43
See reviews for
409
2,011
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during April 2013. First impressions were not great as the check in was carried out by a member of staff that didn't smile or make you feel welcome. The hotel is modern, bright and very clean. We stayed in a suite which consisted of a bedroom and a separate lounge with a huge modern bathroom. Whilst the suite was great for a family (the normal rooms are very small) the noise at night, due to being at the front of the hotel, made sleeping very difficult. The hotel is on a main road with a couple of bars nearby and a 24 hour shop across the road. Each night I was woken by noise which actually made me look forward to going home to get a good nights sleep - this is not what you expect from a 4* platinum hotel!
We went for the all inclusive option. My experience was mixed. I always look forward to breakfasts on holiday and for me having a freshly made omelette from the chef is something to look forward to. However the breakfasts here were poor. The omelettes tasted funny and the rest of the hot buffet was not enticing. Lunch was strange, as you either ate in the restaurant or went without! There was no option of fresh fruit or a range of snacks by the pool. The only food available outside was pre packed crab or coleslaw sandwiches - again not what you expect in a 4* platinum hotel. We therefore ate in the restaurant each lunch time which everybody else seemed to do too. Dinner was very similar to lunch times, although there was often not a great deal of choice, you could generally find something. The quality of the food at lunch and dinner was good.
The ambience of the restaurant was dampened by two things. Firstly the tables are too close together, they tend to cram everybody into one room and have a separate section for the upgraded guests. Secondly, and most importantly, the management of the hotel really need to look at the quality of training the restaurant staff have. Generally speaking the staff were miserable, failed to smile and just wanted to collect your plates as soon as you had finished eating. Whatever happened to customer care? Again, not what you would expect from a 4 * platinum.
We stayed here as a family and whilst I cannot comment on the children's entertainment, as my children didn't participate in any hotel run activity, I feel this hotel is more suited to adults rather than families.
To sum up, a nice hotel but doesn't justify a platinum title from Thomson. My expectations could possibly be too high, or maybe the standards of Thomson have fallen? From recent experience I think the latter is sadly the case.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairelouises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Claire, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very important for us and helps us spot the weak points of our hotel we have to work on. We therefore thank you for mentioning negative points as well and will pass your comments about the noise at night, the quality of our breakfast and the ambience and staff of our restaurant to the respective departments. We truly hope that these points did not spoil your holiday and you had a lovely time with your family in Tenerife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Having eventually been transferred to our hotel when we arrived we were delighted. Bright, modern and welcoming this hotel was every thing the sister hotel in Puerde la Cruz was not.
The entertainment including the Kids club was good and the food was fine.
The reason for not giving 5* is simply that this hotel does everything well but nothing excels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestGSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are glad you were satisfied with our hotel and the services we offer and hope in the end you got to enjoy your well-deserved holiday with your family. It would be great if we could welcome you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

we stayed at the luabay for 1 week it was ok but not 4 star plastic chairs at night time,entertainment finished at 10-30 which is to early when on holiday.We ate out 5 nights out of the 7 because the food seemed to be same as lunchtimes or you could have a pre packed dry sandwich at lunchtime.
The air con would be no good in the July or August heat.
Rooms were ok but basic. No proper waiter service anytime day or night.Been to Tenerife many times before but wont be going back to the luabay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and writing this review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and will look into your comments in more detail so we can find ways of improving for the future. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests on another occasion and show you changes are being made in accordance with our guests’ reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Austell,Cornwall,uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Quite a steep walk up to the hotel. No porters !! No security guards ! . Whilst her husband was booking in, one lady had her bag pinched , from someone off the street...Another couple who were ready to go home left cases in foyer while they went for coffee in hotel, When they got back the cases were gone.Our room was next to the lifts...Very noisy with people coming and going through the night. As we were there for 2 weeks we asked for a quieter room.Went to change the safe keys for the new room only to be told THE SAME ONES WOULD FIT THE NEW SAFE !! The food was very repetitive, sometimes it was cooked well,others not so good. Tough chicken breast, milk gone off in porridge. But salads and fresh fruit very good.A lot of the plates/bowls were chipped.When cleaning tables in restaurant the head waiter and others were sweeping crumbs onto floor. My husband saw a cockroach.
Apart from that, the hotel was very clean. This was not up to Thomson standards.

Room Tip: If you want a room overlooking the sea it was an extra 16 euros per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wenben44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will look into your comments concerning the food and cleanliness in the restaurant in more detail. Our guests’ safety and security is of very high importance to us and we do our very best to keep everyone safe at all times. We would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very clean and modern Hotel which has obviously been recently refurbished. We booked a Suite directly from the UK as Thomson make families of four have two double rooms. Suite was large with separate bedroom, two camp beds in the lounge area and a huge, modern bathroom with separate bath and shower. Only complaint was just two tv channels. We should also have had a minibar and passes to the spa but received neither. Room was very clean and the Cleaner was probably the most friendly member of staff in the Hotel.
Pool area was good with plenty of beds. Bar and lounge area very spacious and modern with leather sofas. Public toilets the cleanest I have ever seen, as was the general reception/lounge area. Entertainment area has plastic chairs which doesn't look particularly attractive. Entertainment was reasonably good and varied although we chose to have a walk around the resort after our evening meal. Restaurant food was very good and different from normal All Inclusive offerings. They tended to go for quality over quantity and although at times there didn't seem much choice you just had to look a bit harder. The pasta bar was a prime example where the Chef would prepare a range of pasta meals for you, yet I didn't actually spot it until half way through the week. Pizzas and soups were excellent, as was the choice of fish. Like most Spanish hotels they like their pork but there was also chicken, veal and rabbit. The poolside snack bar was rubbish-who wants pre-packed sandwiches in a 4* hotel? As such we ate in the restaurant for Lunch and it was probably better than the Evening Meal. The soft/hot drinks were self serve which is an excellent idea and saves waiting to be served at the bar-which is a bonus as the staff at the Hotel were generally miserable, particularly in the Restaurant. The Restaurant is also too small with the tables too close together. Ironically there is a separate section for upgrade people, but there was hardly anyone in there.
This was our first time in Tenerife but we were extremely disappointed/amazed at the antics of the shop/bar/restaurant owners who pestered you constantly. The shop owners wouldn't let you just browse-they wanted to know what you were looking for and insisted that you made them an offer. The bar/restaurant owners have hit upon this strange idea of putting a member of staff outside who's job it is to get you inside. As such your pleasant stroll down the prom has been turned into running the gauntlet of desperate owners badgering you into paying a visit to their establishment. Whether the recession has hit Tenerife harder than other resorts I don't know, but we won't return to Adeje because of it. Unfortunately whilst the Hotel is in an excellent location for the shops etc it also has a number of bars right next to it and is also on a busy road. It is therefore very difficult to get a good nights sleep as a result. And a final mention for the Adrian Supermarket across the road from the Hotel. We bought an inflatable boat from them and it fell apart after 3 days, as did some of the others in the Hotel pool. The owner was both rude and aggressive when we tried to take it back, so don't go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Adrian, thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review about your stay. We are very glad to hear you were satisfied with your suite and the food we offer in our restaurant. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we will forward your comments about the pool snack bar and our staff to the respective departments within our hotel. Thank you very much for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

You won't be disappointed. We checked out of the Iberostar opposite this hotel due to being very disappointed with the rooms. We checked into a suite at the Luabay which was huge with full sea views. The suite has 2 rooms and was more than adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. The views from our room were spectacular and the hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere. The food is very good and caters very much for British tastes. The drinks were good although the cocktails were a little strong. Some people have said that it's more suited to adults and I would have to disagree. Our children loved the fact that there are 2 pools they could use (ages 3 & 5) and there was a mini club.

I have to say that the Mini-club was a big let down. The staff were not very enthusiastic and often returned the children to their parents after one hour when they were supposed to be there for 2 hours. It was supposed to be on from 11 -1 pm and then 3-5 pm. Not once did it start on time which resulted in the parents and their kids hanging around for 10-15 mins. The kids would then get fed up waiting. Also, they often had teenage kids and toddlers doing the same activity outside which resulted in my kids getting bored and coming back to us. They really could improve in this area. On days the sun was away and it was cloudy and too cold for the kids to go into the pool, I feel they could have provided better entertainment. Maybe I was expecting too much but i think they ought to start when they say they will start and finish when they say they will finish. I also had to remind a member a staff that my children were too young to be allowed to leave the mini-club on their own - they were a bit too lax for my liking. After I spoke to a member of staff about this, the kids were always brought to me by someone (usually because they finished early).

Besides the kids club, I was very happy with my stay and thought it was very good value for money. The reception staff were very helpful and efficient and quickly booked us in after checking out of the Iberostar toriviscas playa as it was cockroach infested! The food was better than most buffet meals in my opinion. You could have many types of pasta or pizza freshly prepared on request and could always choose from 3/4 fish dishes and 3/4 meat dishes. Examples include, steak, swordfish, veal, chicken, cod, salmon etc. The mexican restaurant was good, the staff were very efficient and provided tequilla cocktails which were lovely. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a suite with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Claire, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and that we were able to save your holiday. It is great to know you were satisfied with our service, the facilities and the food we offer. Your feedback about the mini-club is very important and we will investigate further as to what was going on with the schedule and make sure everyone is informed about their responsibility again. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family at our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 58 in Costa Adeje
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#42 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,452 reviews
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing