We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten do Tenerife.....”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Portland Dorset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ten do Tenerife.....”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have just arrived back from 1 week stay at the Luabay. Have seen a few mixed reviews but have to say on the whole we were very pleased with our stay. OK there are a few negatives such as shortage of bowls at breakfast [do what we did and take one with you and use it again]. Not enough sunbeds unless you are up early,and could do with a few more seats for evening outside entertainment but the positives way outnumber the negatives. Well kept hotel,rooms cleaned and tidied every day,towels changed every day,fresh bottle of water every day. We found the staff very helpful and happy to help and if you try a little Spanish they love it. The hotel is well situated to access all the shops,bars and restaurants and of course a choice of beaches. The entertainment is a bit hit and miss but so are a lot of other hotels. The food was very good,fine choice of meals to suit all tastes and every day there were meats and fish cooked fresh as you went along the buffet. I read one review that slated the food and drink ,absolute rubbish the food was top drawer no complaints from any of our group,they all thought it was of a high standard. Would definitely return to this hotel.......

Room Tip: Rooms 505,510 have the sun all day...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TezzerPortlandDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    1,125
    453
    117
    41
See reviews for
399
1,963
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just back from a 2 week holiday in this hotel and agree it was definitely not what was advertised in brochure. We found rooms to be clean and maids were very friendly and hard working. We had stayed here when it was the Esmerelda and 3 Star at that time it was beginning to look dated but was far superior to what it is now. We decided to go here because of the Spa and Gym so you can imagine the disappointment when we arrived to find it closed for refurbishment.
I totally agree with previous review about crockery in restaurant , majority of soup/cereal bowls arrived chipped, (that is when you did eventually manage to get one) In my opinion this created a health and safety issue. We felt sorry for the restaurant staff who were very apologetic.
Dress code was not being adhered to for evening dinner. Guests were reserving sunbeds from 6.30am therefore we were unable to use a sunbed for the entire 14 days of our holiday .All those issues we know were reported by numerous guests to the rep who also ate in hotel and should have done something about them . I really do feel we have been let down by Thomsons as this does not merit a 4 Star Platinum status as advertised in brochure. Sorry but we will not be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Anne, thank you very much for being our guest and writing this review about your stay. We are glad you found your room to be clean and were satisfied with our maids’ friendliness. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helps us spot weaknesses that can be improved. We will be sure to forward your comments about the crockery, the dress code in our restaurant and the sunbed situation to the corresponding departments to look into them in more detail and find ways for improvement. We are sorry that you were not informed about the refurbishments in our gym and spa in advance and hope we get a chance to welcome you to our hotel again in the future and present some changes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the first time I have felt the need to comment on any hotel I have stayed at. This hotel looks ok when you first arrive. Do not be deceived. The reception staff are rude and unhelpful.(holiday did not get off to a good start) . The food and drink is very poor. As stated previously the crockery is in a disgraceful state, chips, cracks and dirty when any is available.. How this can be a Thomson Platinum hotel I do not know. I asked the Thomson rep and she would not comment. My room was compact and spotless and kept that way all week by the wonderful housekeeping team who were very helpful. The hotel has recently been renovated, it has not been done well, looks unloved and unfinished(bathroom door taken off, you can still see the hinge and screw holes). A very unhappy customer

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tibsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and we will make sure your feedback about reception staff and the choice of food and drinks gets passed on to the corresponding departments. Our guests’ feedback is very important for us and we will look into your comments in more detail. We are glad that you were satisfied with your room and the cleanliness and hope this made up for some disappointments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed 9/nov to 18/nov
Took 45 mins transfer, 4th drop off, very quick check in.
Hired safe at 2.40 euros per day plus 10e key deposit, pool towels15e deposit each.
If you want wifi 4e for 1 hour, 10e per day, 20e for 3 days, 30e for 7 days.
Small room but clean and perfect for 9 nights.
Plenty of comfortable seating in very large indoor area with bar.
I thought the food choice was very good, quality of some of the meat not so good, we had lamb cutlets one night and it was impossible to cut out the 1" square of meat in the middle. Some produce took ages to replenish, some were replaced when they were only half gone.
The nightmare was getting a cereal/soup bowl, they came out of the kitchen 10/12 on a small tray and they were robbed from the trolley before they got to the shelf, sometimes we waited up to 10mins, some of them were chipped really bad, on one occasion 2 men had waited so long they ran to the trolley as it came out of the kitchen, most people ended up using cups for their cereal, so they then went in short supply. It did get really funny at times seeing the bowl queue build up.
One night one lady waited over 10 mins for the butter to be replaced, after she had asked twice.
All the waiting staff were really great, friendly, helpful and on most occasions served drinks as soon as you sat down. You will have to queue for a table at the door in the evening at busy times but you do not have to wait long as they turn the tables around very quickly.
Lunch times are very relaxed especially sitting on the lovely outside terrace.
Sunbeds are a nightmare, all saved by 9.00am, but this happens at every hotel I have ever been to, you have to join them and save, or you do not get a bed. One morning at 12.30am we did see the lifeguard go round and remove towels of any sunbeds that had not been used.
The pools are freezing and are sadly not used very much, such a shame one of them is not heated as they are fantastic.
Entertainment was some of the best we have ever seen, Charlie Chaplin was the best show I have ever seen at a hotel, he kept the audience entertained for over 2 hours, be warned if you watch he will almost certainly involve you at some point before or during the show, do not miss it he is hilarious.
Apart from the silly bowl problem in the restaurant, this is a very good hotel and just a few tweaks could easily make it an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: When you order wine at lunch/dinner ask the waiter for a bottle, he will leave the bottle no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking time to write this review about your stay with us. It is great to know that you truly enjoyed your holidays and especially liked the evening entertainment and our waiting staff’s friendliness. We also appreciate your feedback about the cereal/soup bowl issue and guests reserving sunbeds and will be sure to pass this information on to the corresponding department so they can look for ways to improve the situation. It would be a great pleasure for us if we would get to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice clean hotel very efficient staff just a bit short on staff at times but nothing too bad. The hotel is expensive to go to which is disappointing as it doesn't really have anything more to offer than cheaper hotels. The good is as good as any other hotel, nothing to write home about just typical hotel food. The entertainment was typical hotel entertainment we didn't bother with it to be honest. Have stayed there several times & would def go back if the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrox glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here from the 3rd to the 17th of nov and mostly had a good holiday but for a few niggles thomson platinum it is not who gave it this rating ? its a half decent refurbished hotel with deceen entertainment some night , surly barstaff , box rooms and dodgy lifts .Thank god we like veal and chicken or we would have starved , oh yes thers cold pizza hard chips too , Saving grace was the maids who kept the rooms clean also first hotel room i have stayed in where you did not have at leat 1 stool or seat inside it never be back ,As for the air con forget it

Room Tip: higher the better away from the front or your directly above entertainment stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guests, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and appreciate your feedback so we can work on these issues for the future. Your comments about our bar staff, the choice of food and the equipment of your room will be forwarded to the corresponding departments so we can look into them in more detail. We truly hope that you still enjoyed your well-deserved holidays and would be very delighted if we would get a chance to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am Just back from a 2 week holiday in this Hotel, and to say I was disappointed is an understatement..The hotel looks impressive and it is spotlessl, rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. Staff were very efficient.
The problem began in the restaurant when guests had to queue for soup/cereal bowls. Approximately 1 dozen bowls were available at any given time, and they were usually chipped or cracked, as were the cups. Some guests used cups for cereal in the morning, which then resulted in a shortage for tea/coffee.The food was sometimes cold
A notice states that guests must not reserve sunbeds, BUT THEY DO. and no-one questions them.Our party did not succeed in getting a sunbed by the pool, due to other guests reserving and not using them.
We stayed in this hotel when it was the Esmeralda, and it was much better then.
The Spa was also closed for refurbishment.
It certainly does NOT merit the Platinum status it has been given.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddie45Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Maddie, thank you very much for being our guest and writing this review about your stay. We are glad that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel and our staff’s friendliness. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your help for further improvements. We will pass your comments about the restaurant and a shortage of cereal bowls and the issue with guests reserving sun beds to the corresponding departments. We truly hope these issues did not spoil your holidays for you and you still had a relaxing time staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
5,447 reviews
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
3,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing