We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luabay hotel”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We found the hotel was not up to standard of other luabay hotels we have stayed at the food was average at best. A hotel advertised as platinum should not be charging for wifi or coffee and tea making facilities in the room. The entertainment on an evening was a joke parrots squaking on the stage and pulling a bigger and bigger snake out of a box is not entertainment. The bar prices are a disgrace. A big minus is the lack of secirity one mugging in the lift when we were there. On the plus side the staff were excellent , cleanliness also was of a high standard. Will not be going back.

Room Tip: We found the high floors where quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThosBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have just come back home after a 7 day stay at the Luabay. A 50th Birthday treat from my SOH. We had a great time on the whole. The staff were brilliant and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The Hotel was kept spotlessly clean for the whole of our stay. I have to disagree with some of the comments with regards to the food. I though the choice was excellent and the quality pretty good for the price paid. My wife who is gluten intolerant had not trouble in finding something to eat, which was a massive bonus for us and if she had any question regarding a particular dish the staff were very helpful. There was a different paella on every evening (def not German), various fish done in typical Canary style and different meats grilled to order every night. For breakfast they had everything covered, cereals, yoghurt, bread for toast and the traditional English breakfast for those that can't bear to bear to be without anything reminding them of Blighty when in Tenerife.
The one downside is the sun loungers. For a Hotel that clearly states it has a no reservation of sunbed policy, this was continuously flouted by the Hotel residents and was not enforced by the staff. The only way to get a sunbed without falling out with your fellow guest and binning their towel of the bed, was to do as the Jones's did. Yes you guessed it, get up early and do the same.
But that niggle aside, which lets be honest is a big niggle, in all other areas the Hotel excelled. Will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shipwreck1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

LUABAY HOTEL MARCH 2014

We stayed at the Luabay for 10 days in March and were not disappointed. This was our second holiday here and right from our arrival could see some good changes had been made. An extra bar down at pool side serving most beverages with the upper bar serving most of the snacks which were more than adequate. The accommodation was clean and well presented during our stay we had problems with a hair dryer and fridge both of which were dealt with very quickly. Along with the normal bathroom bits and pieces a bottle of water was placed in the room every day. Clean towels were always available if required as well every day. The room had a safe which although pricy was well worth the security for passports and travel documents and cash. The safe was small so would not take a laptop but ideal for IPad and kindle size electrical devices. Pool towels can be obtained for 30 euros deposit returned once you leave.

The sun beds deserve their own mention as people from all nationalities are up early reserving their plot and although advice is displayed not to reserve, it is ignored so be warned up early to avoid disappointment.

The hotel s well laid out with most amenities’ available, gym, hairdresser and spa, for those travelling on a package holiday reps are available throughout the day. Outside the hotel there are a number of bars and shops all within easy walking distance all providing a good service. The beech is no more than a 10 minute walk away turning left taking you to Las Americas and Los Christianos the walk is fairly easy with total access for baby buggies and disability scooters. The complete length of the route has bars, restaurants and some of the best shopping we have seen for a long time in this area. Turning right will take you onto Fanabe and Adeje again restaurants and bars are prominent.

Public transport is readily available for those that do not want to walk it costs 1 euro 40 cents for an adult into Los Christianos. Or you can take the bus to Los Gigantos well worth a trip again the reps will give you full details of stops and costs.

Back to the hotel throughout our stay we found the staff very helpful and courteous even at reception. The restaurant and bar staff do a superb job coping with all the different nationalities and languages. The chefs managed to produce a menu that appear to suit all tastes and although at times it may not be to yours remember that they are dealing with just more than one nationality. The food was always well presented and laid out well with cold counters in the front and the hot counters to the rear allowing good access of movement. The hotel puts on a couple of themed nights which you have to book in advance. We went to the Spanish and Mexican nights the Spanish was not to our liking but was to others however the Mexican I can recommend it’s a personal choice. Entertainment was on every night and although not highly professional it was entertaining and again it is your choice and not compulsory.

We had a great relaxing time and will return again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool provide the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gadgetmonsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Before I rate the hotel and holiday I must warn everyone about the pickpockets in Costa Adeje and Tenerife as a whole. We were forced to queue up outside the Luabay Hotel in Costa Adeje before checking in. A man shouting down into his mobile pulled my husbands suitcase away from him and whilst my husband was trying to pull it back his wallet was stolen from his zipped up pocket halfway down his trouser leg. It was reported to police and a report was made so our insurance will step in.

The hotel.

Well, Thomson say it is a Platinum which to my mind should be better than the Gold hotels. We have stayed in Thomson Gold before and they are far superior to the Platinum Luabay.
No CCTV no security at all. There were muggings in the lifts (when they worked) on 3 occasions during our 2 week stay.

There were other men having their wallets taken. Inside and outside hotel.

The food was eatable very repetative but very German orientated .

Rooms are a decent size but only 3 drawers.

You have to be up before dawn to get your towels on the sunbeds.

The Animation team were very good during the day. Sabrina was brilliant at keeping kids and adults busy. All the hotel staff were very helpful and the Thomson reps were superb.

We will not be going back.

We have booked up a Thomson Gold in Lanzarote for later in the year just to get over Costa Adeje.

I rate this hotel as a 3 star only.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 501 to 510 and you will get sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sparkykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a week all inclusive here. Visited this hotel 2 years ago and that was the reason we returned. Great food & choice, rooms comfortable and very clean. The only down side is the entertainment at night was very poor and they have introduced an animation team which was a waste of time in March. Wouldn't like to stay in this hotel at the hight of the season as there is a distinct lack of sunbeds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We got back from a week at the Luabay on 4th March having chosen this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
All the good points we would endorse and agree with, such as the staff who were all friendly and helpful, the food which was well cooked and presented, with plenty of choices, the general cleanliness in the hotel and the bedrooms that was of a very high standard. The evening shows were always very entertaining with something different every night.
Unfortunately we would also endorse and agree with most of the bad points that have appeared in reviews. They are mostly little niggles but they certainly caused a lot of discussion amongst the guests.
Firstly, the sun loungers, there were too few and many of those that were available were broken but not removed. The problem was of course made worse by guests, many of them Brits, going down and placing their towels and then not using the loungers till much later in the day. Watch out for guests who "acquire" your lounger or sun umbrella while you are at lunch.
Secondly, tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Yes I know we should have read the small print more closely, but the guests, like us, were of an age when a cup of tea or coffee first thing in the morning is almost essential and we have come to take for granted that a 4 star hotel generally provides such facilities ( without having to pay for an "upgrade)
Thirdly, the bathroom that became a wet room whenever someone took a shower. The recent (2011?) refurbishment seemed to run out of money when it came to making the shower glass wall fit the shower tray and no matter how careful we were when showering, we always found the bathroom floor under water unless we trapped the overflow with a towel.
Overall, the hotel was pleasant and airy and although we enjoyed our stay I don't think we will be rushing back there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the pool do not get any sun till after about 11.00am in late February/March...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PotteryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We travelled with Thomson's but despite asking for special assistance via our travel agents we were dropped off with our cases and had to struggle with them and our walking sticks up the ramped access, we were allocated a lower floor but still had to trail the length of the long corridor to get to this first room. The room was overcast by a wall outside, below the balcony were covers over either vents or drains and about 20-30 cats outside. This room was definitely not what we would consider a 4star. We complained re this but staff were unable to guarantee an exchange of room till the next day. We were given another room but again no assistance to move rooms, we found the lack of porterage quite a struggle. The second room was much better and had a better outlook, even the bathroom had a larger shelf, and the missing connecting door (which the first room had) also gave this room the dimensions of being larger. We didn't even mind the music from the taverns each night as we drifted off to sleep, we found the beds to be very comfortable. Another fly in the ointment were the stairs to get to the pool bar for a drink or snack during the day so going all-inclusive was not of much of a benefit when you have mobility problems. The infinity pool was like plunging into a huge bucket of ice and could have done with the chill taken off it. We also found the hotel staff to be very hard working this was from chambermaids, kitchen staff, waiters/waitresses and reception - full marks on this. The spa was chargeable but the hydrotherapy pool was out of order. Be aware too that you make sure if booking a massage that the masseur knows what treatment you wanted - I had asked at spa reception if a hot stone massage was done and was advised that they used instead items like big pompom drumsticks with heat and oils. When I got the therapy which I wanted for relaxation I wasn't given this, I finished up with one that left me aching from head to toes for four of our precious holiday days! Elevators too were poor - if you weren't quick enough you could miss it, there was no indication of which lift was coming or of which direction it was going - if you wanted to go down and lift was going up and vice versa it cancelled your request and you had to keep on calling for it. Meals excellent.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for anyone with mobility problems unless porterage was guaranteed. Ask for pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 61 in Costa Adeje
3,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#26 of 61 in Costa Adeje
4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#18 of 61 in Costa Adeje
5,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £121 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing