We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to all the negatives”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We recently returned from a 2 week family holiday at the Luabay. Was a little nervous having read some of the reviews on here before we left but we were very happy with our accommodation. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels left and bed linen changed 3 times weekly. The housekeeping staff all work extremely hard (we were not left enough towels one day and by the time my husband came back from reception the housekeeping staff had delivered the towels - efficient service!) The rest of the staff were also very friendly and worked very hard. The food quality was good and plenty of variety each night. There was entertainment day and night and the team organising this were great! Initially on arrival there were few activities for kids but a couple of days into the holiday the animation team realised that there were lots of kids (as it was Easter Holidays) and they added more kids activities. The hotels location is great with plenty places to walk and explore. We were in a room overlooking the pools and had no problems due to traffic noise as complained of by other guests. Overall, we had a very enjoyable holiday and have no complaints about the hotel.

Room Tip: Would close a higher floor overlooking the pool as I would guess they have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,892 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Luabay. The ambience,rooms and food were all excellent.
The entertainment in the evenings was good and varied-'birds of prey display in the bar!!'
You will need to get up very early to get a sun bed though!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the luabay December 2013 and upon first impression it is a lovely hotel. All the staff are very friendly and work exceptionally hard. The hotel inside bar area is very clinical and minimalistic and lacks atmosphere, which is a shame because the service is excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the location is superb. The food is basic but you can always make a 3 course meal from what's on offer! The pool areas and sunbathing terraces are lovely with plenty of room and again very clean! The hotel rooms are clean and caters for what you need but the doors have a large gap underneath so you can hear continuous noise from people walking past. We had a lovely holiday and it would not be my first choice of hotel but would probably return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I felt that after returning from an 11 day stay in this hotel I would write a review as many of them are negative and this was not the experience my partner and I had. We stayed at the hotel for 11 nights over easter and found the hotel to be nice and had no real issues at all. The room we had was extremely clean, cleaned every day with clean towels and there was nothing I could fault about the room. We were on the 8th floor so had a fab view of the sea and a large balcony. The shower did spill onto the floor however the cleaners left us an additional large towel to use rather than a bath mat which made sure this didnt flow into the room. The pool area was nice and yes you did have a little struggle to get a lounger but if people didnt put towels down at 7am and come to the pool after lunch this would resolve this problem. We never got up early to get a lounger and managed to get 2 loungers each day. The only thing I would say is the top pool is a little cold. There was entertainment aimed mainly at children during the day and although we did not take part the kids staying appeared entertained and seemed to enjoy it. We stayed half board and this was because we couldnt find any decent hotels that were self catering, although we did only really look through tour company's as it was a last minute holiday. However although I usually do not like eating at the hotel each night the food I thought was of really good quality with lots and lots of variety and some traditional food rather than just pizza pasta and chips although these were available. You can have lunch instead of dinner which was good so got to try some of the restaurants in the area also. With regards to alcohol they offer a package for half board guests although we did not do this. I didnt try the wine myself however everyone else seemed to knock it back quick enough so it cant have been that bad! We didnt stay for the entertainment as there were lots of entertainers and singers in local bars and we prefer to go out rather than stay in one place however there were generally 2 acts each evening. The bar could do with some more comfortable chairs as we did find the night we stayed in a bit uncomfortable. The location is great, right near the beach and you can go one way to las americas or the other down through the more expensive part of costa adeje and onto a lovely little resort La Caletta which had some traditional restaurants right over the sea which we really liked. Overall we really enjoyed the holiday, the hotel is clean and modern and personally I found the staff helpful. I am not a luxury hotel visitor however for the price we paid and for what we go I think this met if not exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: We got room 808 which had a larger balcony than others, amazing view across the sea and resort, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in a twin room on 7th floor. Room was a bit small and only had white sheets, no cover/throw over. Some cracked tiles, no bath, however, that was the only concern as the room was cleaned everyday

OVerall service was very good and food quality and variety was better than expected.although not to the normal Thomson Platinum standard, I would return as we had a very good holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor overlooking the heart pool and view of sea and mountains, very positive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Bought 14 day holiday from Thompson having seen hotel in brochure, rated platinum. Someone from this company needs to quickly go and stay at the hotel. I must say that the views from the 8th floor balcony looking across the pool were excellent and the staff in both the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. But, showers that flooded the bathroom, towels with holes, soaps not replenished, very hard beds, ineffective air conditioning ,daughters in next room had pyjamas and a necklace removed and have not been returned despite reporting this twice to reception(who but us have access to our rooms?), two plastic chairs and a table on the balcony-nothing in the bedroom to relax, dreadful lifts, bar that opens at 6pm and serves awful cheap local drinks, swimming pool so cold I could no use it, insufficient sun beds meaning you had to get your towels on them by 7.30am if you are to have a chance of getting one, snack bar that left much to be desired, no real seating for relaxing either in the bar area or off reception lounge, daughter found a bug in her salad(reported to waitress but no comeback) and I had a piece of fish that was uncooked(and it was not Sushi night either-which I must say was very good), house wine just about drinkable. Traffic noise day and night. Lovely flight home. Shall not be seeing me at this one again!

Room Tip: For the views our 8th floor rooms were very good. I understand that the hotel has limited sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Had been before when it was Esmeralda. Rooms very nice. Food good. Excellent service by waiters. Only annoyance was paying for wifi - you only have to go to the cafe round the corner and get it free - don't know how they can get away with the price they charge.

Room Tip: Room not with pool view had more sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#36 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £127 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing