We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Second time I've been back in the last year - now the hotel as hovima. A great location with 5 minutes from the beach with a pool bar serving drinks and snacks all day the cocktails could do with being stronger but really couldn't fault it in the main dinner suite there could be more variety but everything I've had has been lovely with the beach front been so close we have had a few meals out. Some of the entertainment is brilliant and other acts aren't worth watching but there is lots to do outside the hotel! Everywhere is very clean and the staff are all very friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ellerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,813 - 1,819 of 3,061 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the luabay for 2 weeks in room 536 which was on the 5th floor towards the back of the hotel overlooking the tennis courts and childrens play area. The rooms have a fridge but no tea/coffee making facilities, we took a cheap plastic kettle and some beakers with us so we could make have a coffee before we went down to breakfast. The maid leaves a litre bottle of water every day. The hotel is in an excellent location between the santa maria and the torviscas playa. After reading previous reviews before we went the thing i was most concerned about was the food as i consider myself to be a very fussy eater but i needn't have worried as the food was excellent and there was so much choice you could always find something, in fact i would say the food and the sunshine were the best parts of the holiday.The entertainment at night was ok but one act everybody should see is johnny circus (Charlie Chaplin Man) excellent show - not to be missed. All the staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. There was never a problem getting a sunbed even if you arrived at the pool in the afternoon. Dont be put off by the bad reviews, it is a lovely hotel and we would definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view, rooms on pool side get sun from late afternoon, rooms on car park side get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debra302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the beginning of May this hotel is now known as the Hovima Costa Adeje. Lots of improvements are happening all the time, but none of them cause disruption. We stayed at this hotel from 23rd May to 30th and it was amazing. The hotel was extremely quiet with only about 200 people there, when it had a capacity of about 700. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and teenager daughters age 15 & 17) and we had two adjoining rooms. Upon arrival we were given rooms on the 3rd floor but it had no view whatsoever, so we asked to be moved. The following day we were given two rooms on the 5th floor with views over the childrens play area, tennis courts, side sea view, and mountains - these were lovely. The all inclusive is brilliant, and the food was first class - even my teenage daughters always found lots to eat, and one is quite fussy! There was always plenty of tables in the restaurant and the staff were extremely helpful, always clearing the plates quickly and bringing drinks at meal times. The rooms in the hotel are very nicely decorated, yes they could perhaps do with a little more drawer space, and the only negative thing I can say is that the showers have not got proper screens and the floor gets extremely wet as it drips out easily. In the rooms you have bottled water each day. The bathrooms have lots of extra's in such as travel toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver, shaver gel, shower cap, comb, sewing kit, shoe shine. There is also shower gel in dispensers in the showers. The towels were changed daily. You can also leave a deposit (10 eros) and hire towels to take to the pool areas. There is a safety deposit box which you can hire for 3 euros per day or £18 euros per week (+ 10 euro deposit for the key). You can have a picnic box instead of lunch or dinner by booking at reception the day before. Internet and wi-fi is available 10 euros for 1 day or 30 euros for the week (we did not use this, we went to a bar instead). You have to vacate your room by 12 midday and can request a late check out and keep the room until 3pm for (21 euros) or 6pm (for 32 euros) - but we asked for a courteosy room to shower and change in and were allocated one for an hour (as there were 4 of us) - this was great and at no extra cost, you just ask the night before. There are two themed restaurants a mexican and spanish. We ate at the mexican, it was fairly nice - but we preferred the main dininig area which had so much choice it was unbelievable. The bars service was fantastic, cocktails, local spirits, San Miguel, and a local form of Tia Maria which I loved. During the week that we were at this hotel, lots of new sun parasols and bases arrived and there is now one to every two sunbeds, all the sunbeds are new too and really comfortable. The pool area is very slippery, so beware - a lady broke her wrist whilst we were there. The snack bar at the pool area serves nice snacks, and has a fridge with packed sandwiches - we took some of these to the airport to eat, which saved us a fortune. The entertainment team at the hotel work incredibly hard - Carmen and Francisco were always organising things like killer darts, table tennis, water gym, boules, water polo. The two Thomson's reps Tori and Amy were brilliant, so helpful and full of knowledge. Tori helped us to move rooms at the start of our holiday, for which we were extremely grateful. We went on a trip to Loro Parc which was really good, the orca whale show and dolphin show and sealions are not to be missed.
The weather was a little bit mixed whilst we were there, quite a bit of cloud, but still managed to get a sun tan. Beware of pick pockets and time share people on the beach - if you get stopped by one just pretend you rent a house, not own then they are not interested in you! Another thing to be really careful of is, we had an evening flight 8.30 pm and when we landed in UK and our cases came out, two of them had the locks removed and straps had disappeared. Upon checking my 15 year old daughters when we got home, unfortunately she had left a purse in the middle of her case with 30 euros in which had disappeared, her ID cards and library card had also been moved around, and in my case my small camera case had been undone - so we have reason to believe that our cases were tampered with in Tenerife airport - as in the UK the cases came off the plane quickly and onto baggage reclaim. Tori and Amy you may like to warn people about this.
Overall we had an amazing weeks holiday at this hotel and in Tenerife - we would definitely return again to this hotel. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors 5, 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank scrumper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed as a family during Spring Bank week. Lovely clean hotel with friendly staff. Only draw backs were no childrens entertainment as not high season, sorry but spring bank is high season! The food isn't great, meat is questionable and needs to be checked before eating. Also veggie option is none existent unless you want to live on pizza and chips. Yes there are loads of veggies and salads but no effort made to cater for veggies. Although after pestering rep they did make spinach lasagne one night.
Infinity pool wasn't useable during our stay due to it being unheated it was so cold even the most hardy swimmers didn't venture in. Perhaps it's warmer if it has a few weeks sun on it? Even the heart shaped pool which is supposed to be heated wasn't really that warm, but then again neither was the sea!
Hovima are supposed to be up grading the hotel, not sure that any of it needs it really, the money would be better spent upgrading the food!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay with my husband and 8 month old baby and its a lovely hotel,

Me and my husband have stayed at this hotel before and liked it that much we went back with our baby.

The staff are all very friendly and all made a fuss of our baby.

The hotel is very clean and tidy and close to the beech.

We were hoping to go back in Jan but they are making the hotel a adults only so we wont be able to go next time :(

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We fully agree with ray y's review and personly found NO conplaints at all.We feel that some people are out to damage the reputation of this very good HOTEL. So please take our word also that you will not be disappointed.By the way the Hotel is now called "Hovima"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rogerwoodturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed as a young couple. We had a fab time, the hotel is very modern and they seem to be renovating so I can imagine it will only get better.

Check in was easy and very fast.
The rooms are very modern - the beds need to have more of a blanket but other than that its fine. A tiny bit more drawer space would have helped also. The shower leaking out into the bathroom has been mentioned a lot and could do with being rectified. There is also only one English channel in the hotel room.

All staff were lovely and an asset to the hotel. The cleaner were very noisy outside the rooms at 8:30 in the morning. But I suppose you don't go on holiday to sleep.

Food was fine but could do with more of the food being labelled. Also could do with more variety - more things to make a meal with. The ice cream was always labelled wrong so the vanilla I had on my plate was actually lemon. You have to laugh. I also was eating wrongly labelled calamari as onion rings haha.

Ordering drinks became an issue. If ordering more than a beer its quite hard to get what you asked for. I ordered a lemon margarita and got a tequila sunrise? I also tried to order a vodka and lemonade and got vodka and orange juice. On another occasion I asked for brandy and lemonade and got coke. Abit hard to get simple drink.

Sounds like I am moaning but we had a great time and would come again. just mentioning things so you can maybe improve.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view its stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby-Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta Beachfront Family Hotel
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#36 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahia Princess Hotel
Bahia Princess Hotel
#22 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#14 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA Santa Maria
HOVIMA Santa Maria
#40 of 60 in Costa Adeje
1,558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £129 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing