We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having never been to Tenerife we were a bit cautious especially after reading some reviews on here but must say we had a fabulous holiday. Rooms were cleaned daily, hotel was spotless, plenty sunbeds and great choice of food. Met some brilliant people, Hazel and Arthur from Wales, Pauline and George from Exeter and Jim and Christine from Stirling, had many good night's in the bar with them when the entertainment wasn't great. The entertainment could be better, get rid of Freddie Mercury tribute act (terrible!) but the 3 Tenors tribute were amazing. Only other downside noise from couple in adjoining room arguing/shouting each night. Would definitely return to this hotel though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicksy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    1,097
    444
    116
    40
See reviews for
393
1,910
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

recently returned from a 1 week trip to the luabay at the beginning of may. the hotel has now recently changed names and is the the hovima . and has also been recently refurbished and redecorated. everywhere was spotlessand beautifully layed out .
the room was spacious with a lovely balcony with table and chair which I would sit out on in the evening and read a magazine and drink a coffee perfect way to relax before dinner. every evening we got the sun it was lush !
2 double beds which I found not very comfy but saying that I slept very well every night and my mum thought they were fine so its probs just me ! tv had loads of channels mostly Spanish obvs but we did find bbc news and sky news I found myself watching the Spanish Disney channel everynight and the programs were in English !
in the room there is a fridge and every day there is a complimentary large bottle of water left.
having read the reviews previously a lot of people complained about the bathroom and the shower making the room wet. well I can say don't worry the bathroom is actually a WET ROOM so yes its gunna get wet haha . but I didn't over flow or go anywhere else honestly our bathroom was lovely !
another worry we had was reserving sunbeds. we never had a problem and there was always plently of sunbeds to choose from on 3 levels . the sunbds are now wickers so really posh ! there is a snack bar outside for during the day where you can get any drink you want from soft drinks or acholic drinks to tea and coffee and cake and chips. there was not 1 drink I wasn't aloud on all inclusive I could have anything which was great as in the past there have been restrictions at other hotels.
we spent most days round the pool and I joined in the animation teams daily activities. just like to shout out to isco and carman thanks guys you were awesome and made my holiday ! thse guys single handidly run the daily activicites which are varied and really fun. I especially loved water polo !
food was very good plenty to choose from even for me and im lactose intolerant and they even had soya milk at breakfast so I could have it with my celeral. they had a wide variety at every meal and all hot and very tasty . deserts were the only repetitive thing but I got so full on main I never wanted any anyway !
the evening entertainment was the best ive seen and I would actually pay to watch it. every night there was 2 acts and all of them were brilliant from oul singers to elvis to blues brothers to parrot shows and snake shows and acrobats . seriously id deffo recoment you stay in and watch them. entertainment finished at 11 and drinks stopped at 12. and they turned the lights out and basically told you to go to bed haha. although me and a friend used to go out until the early hours and the didn't lock the doors or anything just gave you a stern look lol. ofcorse night time was very quiet so no complaints there and like I said I slept really well !
location is amazing its near everything ! the beach is like a 5 min walk and there are shops bars and resteruants on your door step. I would recommend if you do go out in the evening take a visit to the ohana chill out bar for some amazing coctails and shisha . had some awesome nights there and the staff are lovely !
overall I loved this hotel and would recommend it to EVERYONE hopefully I will return !

Room Tip: ask from a partial sea view . it was a full on sea view amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turgutreislover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our experiences of this hotel are average but not brilliant. The staff are really friendly and really make it a good experience. Carlos and Derla (in the restaurant) we so accommodating and welcoming and really made a difference to our experience. The actual rooms aren't bad although note to families there are no baths in normal rooms! Apparently there are only baths in a certain number of rooms (suites). We found this misleading as we thought this hotel catered for families. Another thing to note is that the tea and coffee making facilities it advertises cost extra. The Thomson reps were very accommodating and got us a kettle to use for free as we complained there was nowhere to boil our little boys water. We found that the heated pool was cold it was warmer than the childrens pool which was freezing! But not hot enough for our little man who was 11 months old. And as it was advertised as a heated pool it obviously wasn't heated as much as we expected it to be. The biggest annoyance we had with the hotel was the fact that one of the nights in the two weeks we were there the staff had their christmas party (we flew back Xmas eve and the party was around the 20th December). There was no warning that the music would be so loud and we were only two floors up. The music was being played till 3am and our little boy woke because the music was so loud it was terrible. When we went down at 1am and complained they said sorry and it would only be on another half hour but then went on till about 3am!! Terrible service and no proper warning about this. Not good at all especially with a little person!
Food was fine, no problems with that. Good variety and there are microwaves to heat baby food and milk etc.Waiting staff are all very nice and the a la carte restaurants have nice food especially the Mexican! Pool was a good size and for the time of year we went we always got a sun lounger. The hotel was well cleaned and no problems with that. Local beach is about 15 mins walk away, dark sand not that nice really and we weren't too impressed with Costa Adeje as an area either. We took our little man to the play area which one of the other guests told us about and it was more for grown up children (about 5years plus). To be honest it wasn't a very family orientated hotel in general and there are probably much better ones for children in the area.Finally one of the things they said is no drinks to be taken up to the room. We took them up every night and sat on balcony because our little one went to bed about 8pm. There were no problems with doing this. Only thing is the cleaning staff do not always take away the glasses. We won't be returning to this hotel but its not too bad just wasn't great for us and our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxygal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just got back from a fantastic week here. Cannot give this hotel anything other than fantastic and well worth the money we spent on a weeks all inclusive here.

Food was amazing with so many choices for each of the three meal times.

Everywhere was spotless with rooms cleaned every other day and fresh towels etc. evening entertainment left something to be desired. The three tenors and Elvis were my favourites.

Carmen and Francesco worked so hard everyday to make us there were opportunities for all guests to join in around the pool.

Tori was a font of all knowledge re Tenerife and what she doesn't know she can find out!

We did the shake and dolphin trip which was a highlight of our break. We booked through reps but it may be worth going to the harbour yourself as I am sure I could get it cheaper and you don't need the coach to pick u up as it is a five minute walk.

We took a kettle with us and two mugs from the dining hall for a pre breakfast coffee, u don't need towels as can hire them.

All in all. We were impressed and would recommend and return if holidaying here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view by emailing hotel direct. Ask for room number over 15 for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frost3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Second time I've been back in the last year - now the hotel as hovima. A great location with 5 minutes from the beach with a pool bar serving drinks and snacks all day the cocktails could do with being stronger but really couldn't fault it in the main dinner suite there could be more variety but everything I've had has been lovely with the beach front been so close we have had a few meals out. Some of the entertainment is brilliant and other acts aren't worth watching but there is lots to do outside the hotel! Everywhere is very clean and the staff are all very friendly!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the luabay for 2 weeks in room 536 which was on the 5th floor towards the back of the hotel overlooking the tennis courts and childrens play area. The rooms have a fridge but no tea/coffee making facilities, we took a cheap plastic kettle and some beakers with us so we could make have a coffee before we went down to breakfast. The maid leaves a litre bottle of water every day. The hotel is in an excellent location between the santa maria and the torviscas playa. After reading previous reviews before we went the thing i was most concerned about was the food as i consider myself to be a very fussy eater but i needn't have worried as the food was excellent and there was so much choice you could always find something, in fact i would say the food and the sunshine were the best parts of the holiday.The entertainment at night was ok but one act everybody should see is johnny circus (Charlie Chaplin Man) excellent show - not to be missed. All the staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. There was never a problem getting a sunbed even if you arrived at the pool in the afternoon. Dont be put off by the bad reviews, it is a lovely hotel and we would definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view, rooms on pool side get sun from late afternoon, rooms on car park side get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank debra302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the beginning of May this hotel is now known as the Hovima Costa Adeje. Lots of improvements are happening all the time, but none of them cause disruption. We stayed at this hotel from 23rd May to 30th and it was amazing. The hotel was extremely quiet with only about 200 people there, when it had a capacity of about 700. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and teenager daughters age 15 & 17) and we had two adjoining rooms. Upon arrival we were given rooms on the 3rd floor but it had no view whatsoever, so we asked to be moved. The following day we were given two rooms on the 5th floor with views over the childrens play area, tennis courts, side sea view, and mountains - these were lovely. The all inclusive is brilliant, and the food was first class - even my teenage daughters always found lots to eat, and one is quite fussy! There was always plenty of tables in the restaurant and the staff were extremely helpful, always clearing the plates quickly and bringing drinks at meal times. The rooms in the hotel are very nicely decorated, yes they could perhaps do with a little more drawer space, and the only negative thing I can say is that the showers have not got proper screens and the floor gets extremely wet as it drips out easily. In the rooms you have bottled water each day. The bathrooms have lots of extra's in such as travel toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver, shaver gel, shower cap, comb, sewing kit, shoe shine. There is also shower gel in dispensers in the showers. The towels were changed daily. You can also leave a deposit (10 eros) and hire towels to take to the pool areas. There is a safety deposit box which you can hire for 3 euros per day or £18 euros per week (+ 10 euro deposit for the key). You can have a picnic box instead of lunch or dinner by booking at reception the day before. Internet and wi-fi is available 10 euros for 1 day or 30 euros for the week (we did not use this, we went to a bar instead). You have to vacate your room by 12 midday and can request a late check out and keep the room until 3pm for (21 euros) or 6pm (for 32 euros) - but we asked for a courteosy room to shower and change in and were allocated one for an hour (as there were 4 of us) - this was great and at no extra cost, you just ask the night before. There are two themed restaurants a mexican and spanish. We ate at the mexican, it was fairly nice - but we preferred the main dininig area which had so much choice it was unbelievable. The bars service was fantastic, cocktails, local spirits, San Miguel, and a local form of Tia Maria which I loved. During the week that we were at this hotel, lots of new sun parasols and bases arrived and there is now one to every two sunbeds, all the sunbeds are new too and really comfortable. The pool area is very slippery, so beware - a lady broke her wrist whilst we were there. The snack bar at the pool area serves nice snacks, and has a fridge with packed sandwiches - we took some of these to the airport to eat, which saved us a fortune. The entertainment team at the hotel work incredibly hard - Carmen and Francisco were always organising things like killer darts, table tennis, water gym, boules, water polo. The two Thomson's reps Tori and Amy were brilliant, so helpful and full of knowledge. Tori helped us to move rooms at the start of our holiday, for which we were extremely grateful. We went on a trip to Loro Parc which was really good, the orca whale show and dolphin show and sealions are not to be missed.
The weather was a little bit mixed whilst we were there, quite a bit of cloud, but still managed to get a sun tan. Beware of pick pockets and time share people on the beach - if you get stopped by one just pretend you rent a house, not own then they are not interested in you! Another thing to be really careful of is, we had an evening flight 8.30 pm and when we landed in UK and our cases came out, two of them had the locks removed and straps had disappeared. Upon checking my 15 year old daughters when we got home, unfortunately she had left a purse in the middle of her case with 30 euros in which had disappeared, her ID cards and library card had also been moved around, and in my case my small camera case had been undone - so we have reason to believe that our cases were tampered with in Tenerife airport - as in the UK the cases came off the plane quickly and onto baggage reclaim. Tori and Amy you may like to warn people about this.
Overall we had an amazing weeks holiday at this hotel and in Tenerife - we would definitely return again to this hotel. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors 5, 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scrumper78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
1.6 mi away
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
HOVIMA Jardin Caleta
#1 of 2 in La Caleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.7 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
Guayarmina Princess Hotel
#34 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOVIMA La Pinta
HOVIMA La Pinta
#35 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Property: HOVIMA Costa Adeje
Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#29 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#34 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOVIMA Costa Adeje invites you to enjoy your holidays in an exclusive hotel in Playa Fañabé with a full range of services. The Hotel is located next to the beach, in the most beautiful and peaceful area of Costa Adeje. Discover our All Inclusive service as well as our high class rooms which are ideal for sophisticated guests with great expectations. Relaxation and comfort is what you can expect from your stay at HOVIMA Costa Adeje in Playa Fañabé. Enjoy the wonderful surroundings and the nature at a one of a kind location. HOVIMA Costa Adeje is exclusive for adults, minimum 16 years old (accompanied at least by an adult with more than 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing