We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you love fish this is for you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aparthotel El Duque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aparthotel El Duque
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you love fish this is for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just got back from el duque , for a 3 star it is very good the apartment was good the pools brill don't believe smaller pool is heated lot cooler than the big pool . it's a wee bit hilly we where in block A top of hill but very good rooms cleaned every day to a very good standard ,towels every day clean hotel in general , but if you are not a FISH lover the food is a little bit tedious or it was for me and my mate Morgan we couldn't have a big choice of meat as there wasn't that much for us that's the only thing wrong for the 2 family's The bar could be open longer especially as the World Cup was on late and all-inclusive fine shed at 11 the boys behind the bar are good especially PEDRO or genes Franco as he looks like him ha . Taxis out side are good prices and airport price is 25 euros each way the market is on Thursdays and Sundays outside the hotel but you carnt hear anything and it's ok plenty to look at and buy first time for us Tenerife and hope it's not the last very good hotel ENJOY PEOPLE

Room Tip: Great steaks at HAWIA restraurt have the fillet cooked on hot stones worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    343
    158
    64
    41
See reviews for
357
243
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

just returned from a week here, its a beautiful place, but the dinning room was so busy on a couple of days that you had to wait for a table. The food was very much the same, but there was plenty of it & a lot of choices, best food was the breakfast.
There are two pools but only one bar which was a treck when you wanted a drink.
The main bar didn't have enough tables and chairs. I was also shocked at the state of the toilet by the bar & the fact that the entertainment people had to use the disabled toilet to get changed.
We were told it was a 35 main transfer from the airport but it actually took an hour & half, but all in all we had a fab time, the entertainment is so bad its good :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sewell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Huge studio with opening (barred) windows one end and patio doors the other so no need for air conditioning. No kettle but electric percolator, juicer, toaster, fridge, TV & microwave. No hardship to use saucepan on ceramic hob for tea making. Electronic safe in wardrobe cost 16 euros for week. Bathroom large & airy with bath & removable shower head over. Spotless on arrival, plenty of towels & daily maid service at a time to suit. Couldn't hear neighbours. Hot water even late at night. Take your own tea towel, washing up liquid etc as not provided and ceiling fan also doubled as light so not convenient to use after bedtime. I was on 2nd floor so just left windows and patio door open instead. Other than these slight niggles room perfect.
Pools also perfect, one heated; loungers not released until 10am which coincided with end of breakfast so no dawn towel booking. Pool towels available with deposit from reception. Beautiful setting, pretty buildings, plenty of space. Didn't join in daily activities as out most days visiting my family staying in more expensive hotel nearby. Of the two I much preferred El Duque and would happily stay there again.
Evening entertainment under cover by the pool bar was varied and 'entertaining'. Not West End but easy watching/listening.
Buffet restaurant service was divine and catered for early to late diners. Efficient friendly staff, white linen tablecloths whisked away and replaced with clean as soon as table vacated, seating on terrace or inside. Themed food nights or international. Mexican fajitas to an Asian night which included some of the best and varied cuisine I have ever tasted. Always various meat dishes, some show cooked, spuds cooked as chips, boiled, baked, vegetables, pasta, sauces and seafood which over the course of a week included prawns, mussels, smoked salmon, smoked haddock (mmm...) various white and oily fish. Vast array of salads & cold meats to start, puds' a plenty, fresh fruits, ice creams where the choice of flavours varied each evening and if you had any room left, finish off with a variety of cheeses and biscuits! I was staying on half board so bought drinks & prices very reasonable both in the restaurant and bars. Breakfast equally as varied although I stuck to bacon, sausages, tomatoes, baked beans and fresh fried eggs with fruit!
All the staff couldn't have been more friendly, polite and helpful. Other guests were mostly family groups or couples of various nationalities. Supermarkets and variety of shops nearby including exclusive Plaza El Duque and local market opposite. 10 minute walk to creamy sandy beach with sunshades, loungers and showers although the inevitable hill on the way home. Plenty of nearby eateries and sports bars, no visible nightclubs and the bus stops outside.
Poor lighting and shortage of soap in lavatories by pool and in reception plus niggles with room only just lose this a five star rating. Excellent value for money and very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Stay on first or second floor so reasonably safe to leave balcony door open overnight for ventilatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Far from family friendly !!!!

We were to stay in another hotel but THOMSON'S changed it few weeks before , we arrived late on the 10th June so we had missed dinner !!

We woke the next day for breakfast and headed to the pool to find it didn't open till 10am ?? Not ideal for 6 children aged between 1-6 !!!

Breakfast was ok, lunch came around and it was pasta chips and fish , nothing for kids. We thought nothing of it till dinner time - when again it was pasta chips cow pig and fish , again nothing for children ??? The following day was much the same , now we had booked all inclusive but there was no snacks and the bar didn't open till 11.

Again the following day was the same and even the adults found it hard to find things to eat , we then went to speak with our rep as no way our kids could live of pasta or chips for the 2weeks . mark the rep was great and spoke to management who was told 'we don't advertise that we have a children's Buffet '. Now I'm sorry but if you advertise a family hotel surely that means you should have food for kids !!! Chips dry pasta or a small roll isn't what you expect your kids to live on !!

We where then advised that the hotels actually a all inclusive "light" hotel which is basically full board with drinks included no snacks or nothing !!!

Surely they should be advertising as "all inclusive light" and not all inclusive as it's false advertising !!!

And for the children's club ?? This was a tent ran by one male who spoke little English and was more interested in his body than the kids , even the kids disco was a joke !!!! Not only did he not know the songs he had no interest in these children and he was more interested in looking around to see who was watching him !!!

Children's play parks are both at the top of ever steep stairs with no lights at night , entertainment was terrible too , this hotel is not for family's at all , we where on the bottom floor and just aswell we we're as my daughter was able to fit through the balcony !!!!

We complained at the time and basically the staff started to pick on us !!! Not once did any member of staff confront us they would call our rep and tell him we were doing this and that , we woke to our rep one day trying to issue us with warnings as the hotel manager rona said we had been in the restaurant and took food out drinks out and was abusive to their staff , we thought it was a joke at first when we advised the rep that we weren't actually in the hotel the night before that we were at the show time show which we booked through our rep so he knew we were there !! He called his boss and explained that basically they were lying to which we refused to sign any forms until we spoke with the so called manager rona ourself , our rep tried to arrange meetings with her and she just kept refusing , so basically she was accusing us of stuff but had nothing to back her issues up with!!

We had to take the kids for McDonald's burger kings and what not because none of them would eat in the hotel , one of them basically lived off milk !!!

One of the rooms where covered in cockroaches and when we went to see about it they gave us a spray to spray on them??? No air con we hAd a fan on the ceiling that rattled so we couldn't have it on at night !!!

Staff in restaurant done nothing but smash glasses or spill drinks on you with no apology , one of our party couldn't find spoons for ice cream and asked a member of staff who asked her "if she was blind" and pointed to them !!!

Only good thing about hotel was the pool and pool bar which is actually the night bar aswell !! Their is no quiz bingo and whatever else they advertise saying they have - 3 star ??? No chance !!!! Never will I return and never will I book with THOMSON'S the hotel was also over ran with Germans !!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't accept a ground floor as no privacy !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank xLxGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa Adeje hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here from 8th June with my grown up family nice place small pool good food good staff terrible bar and drinks very poor drink is like water. Bar staff rude and pathetic in there manner. The entertainment guy was the most narsacistic person I have met. Rude abrupt roaring and shouting and very bad mannered. Will never be back. What a pity a few lessons in good manners to all staff would help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived after 22:00 so missed out on dinner but they said there was good left so we were quite happy after a long day of traveling. The receptionist was very polite and very helpful. The room was large than excepted and very clean, although we did notice a few ants running aground the kitchen counter. Are room was on the bottom floor with a pool view which was nice except there was music on the other side which carried over. It was too loud though so can not really complain. After spending the night falling through the gab between are single beds (we were expecting a double) were keen to see the breakfast buffet.. The food was amazing and the "bacon" was a bit weird.. More like sliced sausage meat but still good. A massive food selection there were 5 rows of food, sliced meats and cheese, breads and toaster, fruits, cereal, yogurt, real fruit juices, items you would except on a full English and various pastries. The staff were extremely quick with taking your plate and very polite and welcome. You can wear what you like during breakfast and lunch but dinner make sure to wear evening wear, not a vest and shorts!! I was aware that there were supermarket/bar/shops/restaurants/bus stop and there are always taxis like just a step away from the exit of the hotel complex. Which was awesome!! So self catering would be easy, a very small walk back to your room. Great location not far from the beach and activity pick up points.. The only disadvantage was the fact most folk did not recognize the hotel name and being new to the area we couldn't really help with directions so pick up points were difficult. Overall great hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

When we first arrived I was impressed the apartments looked fab and only 3 stories high.Inside they were spacious but could definitely do with updating,the bathroom was really shabby with the tiles in desperate need of replacing and the furniture draws in the wardrobe were broke. the rooms were clean though and ours overlooked the small pool which was a lovely view and quiet.As for all inclusive you could have all main meals and drinks there was only from what we saw ice cream for the kids so if you didn't make breakfast you had to pay or go without until lunchtime.Plenty of sun beds but the hotel was half empty so would struggle in high months .as for entertainment it was really poor in the 2weeks we stayed there only the soul night impressed me and tbh that was just ok. it is about a 20minute walk to the harbour where we had meals as I couldn't eat much in hotel as I don't eat pork,fish,rabbit and that was on the menu most nights but hubby was ok with it .If you just want to chill this is ok but we spent a few nights on our balcony with our own shop bought drinks as the bar area was really small and drinks like water .

Room Tip: There is some lovely rooms over the reception especially floor 3 think number would be b204 as we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heldoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
#25 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
#29 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
0.5 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#9 of 58 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel El Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel El Duque

Property: Aparthotel El Duque
Address: Avenida de Bruselas 14, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel El Duque 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Aparthotel El Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel El Duque Hotel Costa Adeje
El Duque Tenerife
Aparthotel El Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing