We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go looking for faults after reading trip advisor you will be impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel El Duque
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you go looking for faults after reading trip advisor you will be impressed.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I really thought our choice was a bad one after reading comments on here. Beautiful village like complex..sons description and he was right.felt very safe..comfortable and made to feel very welcome. Staff were amazing...only cringe was c c as we called him and the kids just laughed at him as he would be more suited for club 18 to 30. Aqua aerobics made me feel like i was watching a porno..not that i do! That is the only slight complaint really. Entertainment was ok...really enjoyed waka waka and then the bird show where they just grabbed you and stuck a huge parrot in your hands and take your picture...that wasnt for me as im a big jessie! The shopping centre where you get free wifi is very good for the kids with the arcades..mini golf...soft play keeps them entertained. We will return to el duque with the kids as its quiet and safe.
I really cant see where people are getting faults..maybe book into a 5 star without kids and maybe youl enjoy yourself but we certainly had a peaceful holiday where you didnt have people pestering you.
i would like to take the time to thankyou the restaurant staff..they worked their backsides off and always with a smile. Thankyou el duque aparthotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    389
    182
    74
    47
See reviews for
401
285
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Before we arrived at this hotel we were very worried after reading the reviews on here, but we had nothing to worry about. The hotel is 3* but with air conditioning and wi- fi it would easily be a 4* hotel . The grounds of the hotel are well kept and very secure, lovely pools . The rooms are very big and spacious , loads of room for clothes , ours had a big balcony . The food was delicious and we had plenty of choice at all meal times. Entertainment needs to be looked at , also all inclusive drinks could do with more local spirits, this is the first all inclusive that does not do local Malibu etc, they only did gin, vodka, whiskey and brandy a little disappointing but it's cheap to buy locally. Really enjoyed the large pool only downside was that the sunbeds where chained up till 10 and then there was a mad rush for everyone to grab theirs. Very nice area , a 10/15 min walk to the beach, free bus service stops outside to siam park, aqua land, jungle park

Room Tip: We stayed in block d top floor, good sea views from balcony and could see pool and mountains from fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned (27th July) after two weeks at the hotel . I would rate this hotel 3.5 and i would generally ignore the very poor or very good reviews. It is a 3 star hotel and we got what we expected for the money . Here goes , the good
1, It is very clean ( the rooms were cleaned each day with new towels each day too)
2, The food is good (fresh meat and fish grilled at lunch and dinner), there were italian , local,and a super mexican theme nights .
3, There is now a childrens buffet bar ( so your kids can gorge on nuggets , chips etc )
4, The staff in general,are very polite and helpful. This includes the reception , bar and restaurant staff. If you treat people with respect in life you tend to get it in return ! The spanish do understand please and thank you so don't be afraid to use them !

The not so good
1, The pool area is quite small and the unlocking of the sunbeds at 10 could lead to problems . Our first week was before the English schools broke up and there were no problems, however this all changed when the English arrived ( tattooed Man Utd fans with zero class).
2, Drinks should be served between 10-11 in the morning.
3, No air-con so it was warm at night but we found leaving the window open a few inches solved this problem.
4, Night time entertainment was poor and daytime with Elvis not that much better . Obviously hotel organised and not orgainsed by Thomson's.
Having said that i would return to this hotel , it has provided us with a good family holiday .
I think a lot of the reviews are unfair but judging by the way those reviews are written you can see that you are dealing with tattoo covered / single mothers with 6 children who live in the £1 aisle in Asda on pizza and chips . Take their reviews with a pinch of salt and have a great holiday !

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks, on self catering and in a studio apartment. Our 1st impressions of the apartments was that they were lovely. The way they are set out and the 2 big pools looked amazing. So I'll start with all the positives......our apartment was cleaned every day (if you wanted it to be), the room had everything we needed except a kettle, but it's not hard to boil a pan of water. The two pools were great the bigger one was always a lot busier than the smaller one, they dont open until 10:30 so people can't stick towels on the beds and hog them. The reception staff were lovely & polite whenever we spoke to them. There is a commercial centre wich has lots to do for little ones. Id highly recommend the miki park, as it has a huge play area for younger ones, mini golf etc & the adults can sit & have a beer. The beach is about 15/20 mins walk, its down a hill & is a bit tiring gettimg back up it in the heat. There are loads of bars & restaurants near by. Siam park & aqua land are really close too. The only bad points are that our apartment was facing the commercial centre and it wasnt the best view. There was no air conditioning ( but I think you can pay extra for a room with it). No wifi. You have to get it from commercial centre. All in all a lovely stay & we would definitely return. :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsSpeaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The day before we travelled on the 4th July we received an email saying the hotel was overbooked for the first night and we had to stay in another hotel which was called the Jacaranda. So it wasn't the best start but anyway the Jacaranda was lovely and the staff new what was going and that we were only there for one night. They even apologised for another hotel being overbooked which isn't there fault which I found really nice. Then he proceeded to tell me this hotel are serial offenders for this and constantly do it.

Anyway we were told to get ready after breakfast the next morning and come straight to reception so a taxi could come and take us straight to El Duque which would be covered by the hotel upon arrival. Turns out they didn't cover the taxi, I had to pay it was only 5e but its the principal. Then when we went to reception to check in, only to be told and i quote "Well obviously we are still overbooked and you will have to wait til 13:30 until the room is cleaned". The receptionist who told me this was rude and arrogant as if we were a nuisance. That trend carried on all holiday, every single receptionist I spoke to were very rude and unhelpful. By asking a question they treat you like you're an idiot. When we came back at 13:30 we were told to come back at 14:30 as the room still hadn't been clean, to which we had then learned that the room had been vacated at 12:00. What they were doing for 2 and half hours is beyond me. When the room was ready to go in, we walked up with our cases to find it wasn't the maid was still there cleaning the bathroom and had to wait outside. Also one of the receptionists told me that he is sick of the hotel he works for being constantly overbooked and having to deal with this.

After that abysmal first day, the hotel did get better. Elvis the entertainer is a lovely lad and very helpful same with the lifeguards by the pool. The sun beds not being released until 10am I actually like that. It gives you a chance to get up and have breakfast and go and get your towels and get a bed. Also I would like to put to bed the "European sunbed" Myth. As there was plenty of Germans and other Europeans there. If anything it was the British queuing up at 10am. I seen people taking beds just to put their hoards of children/baby clothes and inflatable toys or reserving a sun bed for kids a young as 1 or 2.

Anyway little tip the littler pool around the corner which is a really good size doesn't lock their sun beds up. So if you get up early with your children go to that pool and reserve your umpteen beds.

The area is really nice, quite close to the beach 5 minute walk. A little bit further to bars and restaurants about 10/15 minute walk. Plenty of nice places to choose. I was only ment to be self catering until the hotel messed us about they made us breakfast. I found the breakfast to be mostly nice, although the cereal was disgraceful and the milk was warm.

I found the maids to be really good and cleaned the apartments well everyday. When we came to check out we asked for extended check out, they don't do that. Probably because they are always overbooked. They do offer a shower room tho, if your flight is later in the day. Also our card kept breaking and wouldnt open the doors so regular trips to reception was required which I was thrilled about consider how unhelpful they are.

I would go back to this area again as its lovely and plenty to do, however I wouldn't go back to this hotel, as much as the apartments are nice and spacious. Some of the staff really do let this hotel down, especially the receptionists. For a little bit more money you could go somewhere much nicer.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 96garetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa Adeje hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have just returned from 14 days at theEl Duque staying on an All Inclusive basis with Jet2 between 3-17 July. I travelled in a party of 16, which included 5 children aged 1, 8, 12, 12, 16 and the rest adults aged from 18 to 52.

I travel to Tenerife regularly having lived & worked there when I was younger. I always stay on
3/4 star hotels & as such am reviewing this holiday from this perspective.
Before visiting this hotel I did read the reviews on here & must admit that i thought that some of the people leaving bad reviews must have been expecting too much from the hotel, as in my opinion there are certain things to be expected from any Spanish holiday (such as repetitive food, crowded pool etc) - however having now visited the hotel I would urge anybody considering booking this accommodation to think again. There are plenty of other hotels in the locality (eg Torviscas playa, las Dalias, Fanabe costa sur) which are much nicer, you can spend 50 euros per person extra & improve your holiday 100%. The reason I say this are as follows:
1. Sunbeds are chained up until 10am - sometimes later. This results in hoards of people scrabbling around for beds & parasols when they open. It's a free for all, very unpleasant & unnecessary. Pool area is also quite small for size of hotel & can imagine you'd struggle to get a spot in the peak summer season .
2. The pool bar is too small. We were here before peak season began & there was not enough seats, with people sitting on sun loungers as the seats were all taken. It will be awful on peak season.
3.All inclusive is just full board with drinks. No snacks unless you pay. Alcoholic drinks included are also very limited.
4. Balconies are unsafe for small children as they can fit through the gaps.
5. There is a security guard patrolling the grounds - which is great as it's very secure- however he will knock on your door to tell you to close your balcony food after 11pm& also will come & tell you to stop making any noise at all. We were playing a quiet game of cards on the balcony & were told off, yet the bar was still open & nothing was said to several drunk guests shouting loudly! Made no sense.
6. Activity programme very poor compared to other hotels. Elvis the entertainer tried his best but it wasn't up to the standard of other hotels
7. Entertainment on an evening was extremely poor
8. Rooms not cleaned very well, maids did the bare minimum. Also there was a spate of robberies whilst we were there, with cash, electrical goods, make up & clothes all going missing from rooms which were clearly being taken by maids and staff.
9. Most staff rude. There was some friendly ones but we did notice that over the last couple of days of our stay - once they knew we were due to leave- they became super friendly playing with the kids etc.. To ensure they would get tips.
10. Some apartments have a dismal view. Block H & G are the best for pool view. Other blocks look out over bins, or a supermarket &bar rooftop. This being said the apartments are a nice size & have a fridge which is great. Many do not have air con.
11. Entrance to hotel through a supermarket & bar.
12. Location wasn't great - it was ok as the market was over the road but it was a 15 min walk to the resort centre down a steep hill - other hotels are located more conveniently
13. Whilst there most guests looked miserable & unhappy which is a key indicator of the quality of the place
14. Food was hit & miss. Breakfast was generally good with pastries, fruit, cereal, bread, cheese, egg, bacon, omelette. Lunch was usually leftovers from the night before & we often struggled to eat much. On some nights dinner was gorgeous with lots of choice but unfortunately this was overshadowed by the many awful nights. As a general rule a good night for dinner would include pasta, chips, chicken legs, some sort of fish, veg, salads & soup. Be very careful with chicken & fish - chicken was often still bloody & a couple of the children with us spent a day being sick.


All this being said we did manage to enjoy our holiday as we believe that a holiday is what you make of it, but our enjoyment was in no way due to the actions of, or service provided, by this hotel.

Room Tip: Block G or H for a nice pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel just arrived home today. I have to say it is the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at from the ridiculously unhelpful staff to the ant infested rooms. All inclusive is not actually all inclusive deposits are needed for lots of things the only saving grace is Elvis the entertainment guy who was a joy throughout do not go to this place if you have family poor is an Over rating for this pooh pit

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldenboy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
GF Isabel
GF Isabel
#18 of 58 in Costa Adeje
2,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 58 in Costa Adeje
5,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#44 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Malibu Park
Hotel Malibu Park
#32 of 58 in Costa Adeje
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#12 of 58 in Costa Adeje
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel El Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel El Duque

Property: Aparthotel El Duque
Address: Av Bruselas 14, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel El Duque 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Aparthotel El Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel El Duque Hotel Costa Adeje
El Duque Tenerife
Aparthotel El Duque Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing