We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H10 Gran Tinerfe
Nearby Hotels
US$212
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Garden Villas(Costa Adeje)
US$482
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$160
Melia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Anthelia(Costa Adeje)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
GF Fanabe(Costa Adeje)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GF Isabel(Costa Adeje)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Malibu Park(Costa Adeje)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HOVIMA Costa Adeje(Costa Adeje)
US$192
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,195)
Filter reviews
4,195 results
Traveller rating
2,364
1,301
374
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,364
1,301
374
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschill out barprivilege loungesea viewprivilege packagemaria jorgeel mirador restaurantprivilege guestsevening mealhalf boardthomson repsplenty of sunbedslovely hoteleither directionreception staffchocolate fountaingreat holidayfoam party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,547 - 2,552 of 4,195 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Generally we are not moaners and give credit where it is due but we really didn’t feel that this hotel was for us in our opinion.

This was our first time in a couples hotel so didn’t know what to expect. We were on our honeymoon. From the outset the standard of cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional. The staff were efficient and the Thomson Rep Gemma was friendly and professional at all times. In terms of the location of the hotel, it was ideal being close to the beach and central to the bars / shops.

We had the standard room, which was quite a reasonably size and tidy, but the bathroom could do with some TLC. The sea view balcony on the upper floor presented some great views. 3 pools were available with plenty of sunbeds to go around. The policy of not being able to reserve your sun beds before 10 am should be standard throughout all hotels. This is a great policy to adopt, making it fair for everyone wishing to lounge around the pool enjoying the sun. The chill out area was lovely and a great place to relax.

The area of Playa de las Americas was quite nice although a big blot on the landscape were the bar reps! They can be a right pain as you cannot walk down the road without being hassled by them continuously! Our top tip is to be wary and just to keep walking as they will try everything under the sun (pardon the pun!) to get you into their bar / restaurant. If I wanted to buy dodgy sunglasses and to hang out in loud overpriced bars then we would have listened to them!

Having stayed at Thomson Gold Hotels in the past we did make comparisons between the different standard of hotels. The bad news folks in our opinion, Gold wins hands down. Not sure what it was but we just didn’t feel comfortable. The staff were very professionally but not overly friendly and we were not made to feel particularly welcome. The food was to a good standard but again the atmosphere didn’t sit right with us.

The entertainment also was ok but not to the same standard as Gold. No names but one of the singers forgot their lyrics several times and was out of tune! The daytime activities were also bit of a let down. Yes there were activities of some kind but it was just lacking in atmosphere and enthusiasm. We felt it was because it was run by H10 reps and not by Thompson reps as in the Gold hotels. We even overheard one couple saying the atmosphere around the pool was depressing, and yes we would have to agree with them!

Another couple of gripes for us were that in the evenings there weren’t enough waiting staff at the bar and the fact you cannot pay as you go (which incidentally was not explained at all when we checked in) but we were told that once you check out of your room you can pay as you go, so surely this could be made an option throughout your stay? (Tip: pay for your drinks at the reception every few days to avoid a big payout at the end!)

Also the men’s toilets downstairs by the bar and the pool table were both out of order for the whole of our stay, which shows a lack of care. It would be interesting to know if they have been fixed yet!

Some top tips. Please pay a visit to the British Kim’s Beach Bar located near the beach at the back of the hotel. The food and drink was really good. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Being so close to the hotel is ideal. You can’t miss it, go right out of the main hotel entrance, right again towards the beach front (or left out of the back of the hotel). Start walking down the promenade, parallel to the beach and its first on your left.

Also take a visit to the Irish bar O'Donoghues. which is located before Veronicas strip on the left whilst walking from the hotel. A really good live male vocalist awaits you with a very friendly atmosphere. Also if you are looking for good entertainment including a fab Comedian called Billy Porter (Sunday evenings) then you need to visit the British Starbar (left out of the main hotel entrance and keep going up the incline where you should see it directly opposite you at the top of the hill.

In future unfortunately we would not stay at a “couples” hotel again or even a H10, sorry for us it just lacked in certain areas that let it down. But as you can see there are loads of good of reviews with the hotel, so this was down to our own personal experience.

Room Tip: Sea views are great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormforcemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking part of your valuable time to give us your impressions on Trip Advisor about your holidays in H10 Gran Tinerfe. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not entirely good, we do hope that overall you had a good experience and enjoyed your holiday.

Best regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe – Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My wife and myself stayed here 22nd-29th July 2012, age, mid fifties, first impression on entering hotel was very good, 8 people arrived off transfer coach, warmly welcomed with glass champagne, told to sit down in lounge and they called you up when room was ready (5mins). We where on the top, eleventh floor, sea view, room was very good, nicely decorated, large balcony with 2x sunloungers, parasol, table and chairs, excellent views of area. large flat screen tv, bbc1/2, itv, ch4. very relaxed hotel, when sat on sun-loungers all you could hear was the waterfall, no children are allowed here, lots of young couples, but also a mix off all ages, staff very friendly and efficient, food was excellent, breakfast had everything you could wish for, pork sausages where great, all sorts of eggs to choose from, evening meal had a different theme every night , along with the usual food, all first class. Hotel is ideally sited for both Costa Adjete and Americas, bar called Deborah's on the prom, excellent cocktails 3.5 euro.Overall really first class hotel, everything was excellent, will be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: High sea view rooms, worth paying the extra.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevensSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the confidence you have placed in us by choosing H10 Gran Tinerfe to enjoy your holidays, as well as your detailed comment on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction. We will gladly pass all the good comments to the staff; these kinds of reviews keep us motivated.

Looking forward to welcome you next year. If you have any special request for your next visit do not hesitate in contacting our guest relation department at rrpp.hgt@h10.es

Yours faithfully,

H10 Gran Tinerfe – Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just got back from a 2 week stay and this is easily the best hotel abroad I have stayed in however why the 3 out of 5 and not 5 out of 5 see the below.

Good Bits
- Overall Room
- Dinner (1st class absolutely suburb) especially the grill
- Staff
- Pool areas
- No noise (however we were on the 10th floor!)
- All drinks go onto room bill no having to carry cash

Bad Bits
- Rooms are not 100% secure, every room can be accessed from the balcony as the way you lock the door from the inside there is the exact same on the outside and so long as you were to target rooms on your own floor all you need to go is climb over a small wall around 6ft high ish and your in!
- Lifts. This is a small gripe however when you are on the 10th floor and no doubt going to take the lift for every trip downstairs they take ages. I am not talking 1-3 minutes there is times when it could be 6-7+ which I agree is small but still annoying
- Attention to room décor. In our room (1002) we found that fittings were not straight, painting was amateur at best (when painting around doors there is lots of paint marks on the door frames and the ceiling in the bathroom above the shower is flaking away.
- Men must wear trousers to dinner. I saw (and believe me I did look into this hotel lots) no where does it state this rule and it is a rule that is strictly in place (saw several people turned away). I have no problem with it what so ever as it makes the restaurant so much nicer however not many people take trousers on holiday when its going to be 30+ degree's! So be warned pack trousers!
- Breakfast. A wonderful section however did find it a bit tiresome after 2 weeks!

Overall I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat however it is worth taking these things into account as you need to make sure everything is safely put away in case someone tired to gain access as mentioned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mattjc882002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor, as well as trusting us to enjoy your holidays. We are very glad to hear that you had a good time with us, although we would have liked to meet all your expectations. We really appreciate your comment as it helps us to develop a better service and to fulfill all our guests desires.

It would be such a pleasure for us to have you back at H10 Gran Tinerfe.

Yours faithfully,

H10 Gran Tinerfe – Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

4 of us stayed at this hotel for a week, 2 couples aged 25-33, and we absolutely LOVED it! It was perfect for a summer break, made even better by the fact that it is adults only, so it all together felt a more grown up hotel! Very very clean throughout all aspects of the hotel, all staff we encountered were very very friendly, particularly the hotel entertainments team - Nico, Vladi & Tomasso! Nico - what a lovely, professional, friendly guy - he made us feel very welcome on our 1st evening, and this continued throughout our stay - he truly is a credit to the hotel! The sunset chill out bar was gorgeous with day beds overlooking the beach. Early evening when the sun was setting, this was a lovely place to enjoy a beer or cocktail whilst taking in the beautiful sunset. The hotel is very well placed, walk left out of the hotel & you can reach the beautiful Costa Adeje Marina in 5/10 mins along the cliff top promenade, or alternatively, walk 5/10 mins right, and you reach the heart of Playa De Las Americas and the Veronicas Strip! Going on holiday to unwind, relax, soak up the sun, enjoy good food and a few good nights out, we couldn't fault this hotel. We would recommend to anyone of any age, as it truly does have something for all, and the most welcoming atmosphere! Will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future! Thankyou for a great 7 days!

Room Tip: We had a sea-view double room which over-looked the sunset chill out bar and the beach, lovely! Very quiet and very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StoatyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing H10 Gran Tinerfe to enjoy your holiday with your couple, as well for taking your time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time during your visit, yours comments are greatly appreciated.

It was a real pleasure to have you with us; we look forward to see you soon.

Yours faithfully,

H10 Gran Tinerfe – Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Arrived back from a 2 week stay here on 31/07/12, mostly it isn't a bad place. Thomson couples is not what we thought it would be.. We thought that I would be more like the gold hotels, not so!
Most of them are just on a booze do.. It seemed more like the old fashoined 18/30s hotels. The corridors came alive in the dark hours with loud "couples". We stayed on the 5th floor in what was supposedly a premium room with the privilige package. Ok, we got clean towels and bedding everyday, but the noise was a nuisance at night. The breakfast menu is certainly not aimed at the English palet, after 4days we started to go out for breakfast. The cooked food was never hot, only warm, and the cold food was never cold, lukewarm milk for cereal is not for me!! If the cheap cafe's can provide descent food Im sure that a 4* hotel should be able to. The evening meal menu was a complete contrast, just could not fault it. Perfect. The pools and entertainment where also top draw. We are regular travellers and visit many hotels, alas this one is not a 4*, maybe a better class 3* with 4/5* prices. We are both coming upto 50s and we found it to be just ok. Not brilliant, just ok.

Room Tip: Cant say really. We paid a small fortune for a premium room and got what was basic. The bathroom was pokey and very dated.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4400Gains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Manager at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing H10 Gran Tinerfe to enjoy your holidays, as well as taking your time to comment on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for the observations as it helps us to improve our service. We hope to have another opportunity in the future to fulfill all your expectations.

Yours truly,

H10 Gran Tinerfe – Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews