We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4* hotel”
Review of H10 Gran Tinerfe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Gran Tinerfe
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Sorry bit of a long one here.

Just back from a week here. What a relaxing one too. Check in was a breeze with welcome glass of cava. We checked in fairly late evening after the restaurant had closed, but no matter is we needed to eat plenty of local usual fayre near the hotel. I would say the hotel is definitely more Playa de Las Americas than Adeje.

The sea view standard room was good, modern and fairly well equipped, not masses of storage for those who have multiple suitcases. We had a corner room with no noise, which also gave us a view of the pools. The shower was powerful. The bathroom had not been updated recently but was clean and not shabby. Shampoo, shower gel was provided but not face clothes. The hair dryer was the usual hotel sort (small and finger held on variety). Beds are quite firm.

We asked at reception for tea making facilities, which they provided the next day, but very limited milk, tea, coffee, which was not topped up, so rather than begging for it just bought our own from the supermarket across the road.

The buffet restaurant was used for breakfast and evening meal, fantastic choice and quality, same with the evening meal with loads of choices. They were bringing out fresh dished constantly. Yes there was the usual moaners boohoo to them,but we couldn't fault it, the hotel was full the 1st couple of days and they still kept the buffet food topped up and fresh. We were asked what time we wanted to dine and allocated a table for the whole week. Speedy seating too.

Loved the modern feel to the exterior, modern comfortable and very clean. If I was being really picky the quiet pool could do with a little TLC.

Now the problem bit the internet was terrible had to go to the internet café (not available in public areas as said in brochure) to get connected to wifi but was intermittent and more often not working. In this day and age you expect better, we don't want to spend hours of our precious holiday trying to get wifi just to check in with family back home. You have to get new password etc from reception but not a problem to them.

All in all a good Europian 4* with no kids

Oh if you peckish there is a great café (Cozi Café) just round the corner that does the most amazing cakes nd sandwiches, go out of the main entrance turn left, past the tradesmans entrance to the hotel, turn left down the next road and it's on the right near the top. Beware you may be to0 full to eat your evening meal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SueG650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed very glad to hear that you had a wonderful time here with us.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 3,901 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is our second visit to the Gran Tinerfe, and it won't be our last! We really enjoyed everything again. They have been doing improvements, since our last visit in 2012, and it is continually getting better. The staff and food are fantastic. However the entertainment is not to our taste. There were only a couple of decent acts on during the fortnight, but the location is great and so we could easily sample the entertainment in the resort.
It is an adults only hotel and is very peaceful. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for evaluate us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays in H10 Gran Tinerfe and also the improvements since the last year.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When we book a hotel we always do a lot of research beforehand. We prefer 4 and 5 star hotels and we check out the Hotel website, internet chat rooms and hotel review sites including TripAdvisor. This hotel looked pretty good and we were looking forward to our stay. When we write our reviews we always spend a lot of time making sure they are s honest, accurate and truthful.

When we arrived the initial impression was good, The hotel has been renovated and the décor in 1105 was good and the view stunning - in fact this is the best thing about this hotel. Unfortunately though the bathroom was straight out of the 1960’s when the hotel was built. The floor tiles were stained, chipped and cracked and most of the glaze had worn off. Around the bath a lot of the grout was missing and bizarrely there were flowers in the toilet bowl ! I just don’t get it. We did enquire about a safe and were stunned to be told it was 18 Euro for the week and a 10 Euro deposit and we had to pay it in cash. We didn’t bother.

We went down to dinner, it was ok I suppose and we assumed it was a bad day - actually it was pretty good compared with what was to come. The best we can say about this food here is that is bland, unappetising, and always the same. At times it was also lukewarm and undercooked.

The following day reading the info book I read that we could have tea and coffee making facilities “by request” Why I wonder should this have to be requested ? In a four star hotel it should be provided as a matter of course but by no stretch of the imagination is this hotel four stars. I went down to reception and was told I should have asked when I checked in. We were also told that we would only be provided with an initial selection of tea and coffee and anything we used would not be replaced. When the tray arrived some 3 hours later we actually had 4 sachets of Nescafe, 2 ordinary tea bags and 6 herbal tea bags and this was supposed to last two people for a week. As there was no creamer or milk I again went down to reception and was told “ that’s right you need to get the milk from the bar”

In the event we brought a carton of milk from the local supermarket and replenished the tray ourselves from the breakfast room.

A little later we also noticed we should have had bathroom scales, we couldn’t find them and again rang reception. We were told they were in the cupboard under the sink in the bathroom. The problem here is that there was no cupboard there and hence no bathroom scales either. Another trip to reception and this time I spoke with Lubica who hadn’t got a clue what I was talking about and one of her colleagues had to explain to her what bathroom scales actually were. They did eventually arrive a couple of hours later but we should not have had to go through hoops to get them.

At dinner on the Thursday night we ordered a bottle of wine. The waiter took our order, brought us the wine put it on the table and walked off without uncorking it. We had to find another waiter to do this for us. What was also very noticeable is the vegetables that were left over always seemed to be recycled into some unknown salad the following day.

There is a cooking station in the restaurant usually with a queue. The real benefit of the cooking station in the restaurant was at least the food was hot but on at least one occasion a large tray of chips there were cold and they seemingly reappeared at breakfast the following morning complete with onions and once again cold.

The vegetarian options here are almost non existent, and I also wonder why there were no Canary Island Tomatoes, the large tasty ones we have had in every other hotel in the islands we have stayed at. The one here was tasteless and at least partly green

On the Friday morning arrived in the restaurant about 8 30 we took a jug of coffee. It was lukewarm and I told the waiter, he took it away and that’s the last we saw of him or the replacement and I had to get one myself.

Another strange thing here is that although Cava is served at breakfast it only happens every other day.

The air conditioning in 1105 was very inefficient and the room was never really cool Maria did tell me later that it was because the room was facing the Sun most of the day but surely that is the point of air-conditioning ? In the evening it was cooler in the room by leaving the door open,

By now we were becoming heartily sick and tired of the sloppy service and bland and unappetising food and we seriously considered checking out and going to the Bougainville Playa next door where we have stayed before and which really does offer a 4* service but we thought we would give management a chance to improve and spoke with Maria Jorge. She was good and promised to look into things and to be fair there was an improvement. Unfortunately it didn’t last.

Breakfast is serviced from 7 am. Up to now we had always had breakfast which was always bland and always the same just after 8 but on the 28th we went down early at about 7.40 There was no coffee in jugs available, just a multi function hot water machine that dispensed ¼ inch of water at each press and some Nescafe sachets. It needed at least 8 presses of the hot water button to more or less fill a cup. I asked one of the staff where the real coffee was and was told “ After eight” Another trip to reception. The breakfast was just as bad as dinner. Bland, boring, often lukewarm or cold and uncooked and always the same.

Part of the service we should have had was a turn down for the beds. On Monday the 28th the beds were not turned down. I went down to reception to ask why and was flabbergasted to be told “ There is too much work” I asked for the duty manager, some five minutes later a lady arrived wearing a white tea shirt, no name tag and no corporate identity. She said she was the General Manager. I asked her for her name and she told me she wasn’t go to tell me. I explained we had not had our turn down service and her actual words were “ There is too much work, I have 40 rooms ” I pointed out to this was not really our concern, she was the manager and therefore should ensure we were getting the service we were paying for. I also told her about the lack of coffee in the restaurant.

She began shouting “listen to me, listen to me” frequently banged the counter, got louder and louder, interrupted every time my wife and I tried to say something and our honest view is that she was trying to bully us into going away. People checking in and in the immediate vicinity looked on open mouthed aghast. I was appalled at her behaviour and told her I would contact H10 Head Office in Barcelona. She virtually threw her business card at us and we went down to send the email. Another peculiarity here is that the internet has to be renewed every three days.

The following morning surprise, surprise there were plenty of coffee jugs available at 7.45 and later on that day we found a letter from Nieves Damas, the General Manager who had shouted and embarrassed us pushed under the door. This was in response to the email we had sent the previous day and was a sort of apology but far too little and far to late. She even had the nerve to say we shouted at her. We didn’t, simple as that. We gained the strong impression she had only written because her head office had told her to.

On the morning of the 30th, the day we were going home was a Cava at breakfast day, We arrived in the restaurant about 7.40 and plenty of coffee in jugs again. There were plenty of Cava glasses but no Cava, This turned up at 8.10. The breakfast this day was truly yuk. Its quite difficult to ruin a fried egg but they managed it her as the one I took was so rubbery you couldn’t cut it. I ended up with a yoghurt and a coffee but not cava. We were at breakfast for about 25 minutes and in this time no one came to clear away the dirty dishes and I ended up putting them on another table. The orange squash at breakfast was so diluted it was little more than coloured water.

We really had had enough by now and were really looking forward to our British Airways airline meal ( which in the event was the best meal we had all week )

Although the hotel claims to have been renovated the carpet in the corridor outside our room had huge threadbare patches.

There are some really good hotels in Playa Las Americas. The Grin Tenerife isn’t one of them. Sloppy service, dire food and the rudest manager we have ever come across.

It felt like we were in Fawlty Towers and all that was missing was Basil and Manuel - In fact I think we would rather have stayed there

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director General at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We are really sorry, as we have already told you many times while you were here, that we did not succeed your expectations during your holidays.

Each 4 stars hotel is, all over the world, offers different kinds of services: each hotel is different from the other.

We feel proud and glad that there are many guests who keep on coming year after year because of our kind staff and our hotel, and we are always happy to welcome them and offer them our services.

The kettle in the room and its refill are free and on request: whenever you wish to refill it, you just have to let us know.

Our restaurant Los Menceyes offer different kind of food as well as typical food so that each guest can find something.. Furthermore, at breakfast our guests can decide whether they wish our waiters bring them tea and coffee or whether to take it from the machines.

Daily housekeeping is from 9am until 2pm, and turndown service is from 6pm until 8.30pm (the room is cleaned and refreshed, bed linen is turned down for sleeping, some chocolates are put on the bed, towels are changed). Our guests just have to let us know whether they wish to change such timetable.

Please note it that we have always done our very best to make you feel comfortable, in order to avoid it that you shout and bang in front of our staff and other guests.

We are a professional team, we are kind and we are always at our guests’ disposal, anything they would need. While you where here, during your 7 days’ holidays, our Management has always done its very best to make you enjoy your stay.

Best regards

Nieves Damas
Manager H10 Gran Tinerfe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

just returned from this hotel after one weeks stay and had a great time, first impressions very good the staff were very helpful and the food good the only down side was the room (114) it looked very tired the bathroom was very scruffy also the glass on the balcony had three cracks in it, we paid more for this room because it had a sea view so felt disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.
Both, negative and positive reviews help us improve for the future.

We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay completely and have noted your opinion.

We hope to see you again in the future for an relaxing stay in our hotel.

Best wishes,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the H10 Gran Tinerfe and have to say this was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. We went Half Board through Thomson Couples (as only couples can stay (no children)). Brilliant. Rooms were clean and airey (although the air con was a little noisy) and the choice and quality of food in the restaurant was superb. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. Sunsets were to die for :) ! You can't 'reserve' sun beds before 10:00, but to be honest there really was no need to (and the hotel were strict on this), as in general sun beds were available throughout the day, and probably 99% of them were in the sun. The area the hotel is located in is quiet, but with good walks to the bays either side. Considering the time of year, there was exceptional entertainment every night, or if you wanted something a bit quieter, then the Chill-Out area was superb.
If you choose this hotel, then do check the mini bar - for only 10 euros/week they will empty the mini bar and give you the key so you havve your own fridge - which we stocked from the supermarket just across the road with some beer wine and water of our own, much more cheaply.
My wife and I are not ones generally for returning to the same hotel, but have to say we were very very impressed with the H10 Gran Tinerfe and are already thinking of booking for next year.

Room Tip: 3rd floor upwards have good sea views (if you like sea views that is :) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for comment on TripAdvisor, your rate of 5 points and for such a nice review. We really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and really looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,

H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

just back from a week at this hotel and it was fantastic.we had a large double room with a VERY LARGE 7ftx7ft bed in it. room was spotless as was rest of hotel, staff were really friendly an helpfull. all in a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammy1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your experience on www.tripadvisor.com.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here in H10gran Tinerfe and hope you will join us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent a week here half board. We paid extra for a sea view and what a view it was! Spent lots of time just sitting quietly on the balcony watching the wonderful sunsets.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff seemed to be working hard to keep it that way.

The entertainment wasn't great although we did like sitting outside in the evenings listening to the Undercovers resident duo.

The downside was the food. Sometimes I struggled to find anything to eat for the main course at diner and some nights just had soup and a dessert. Tea at breakfast was a bit hit and miss with a hot water urn there some days and not on others.

The surrounding resort was very good - turn left out of the hotel front door - we made the mistake of turning right one day and were pestered by rude and gobby time share sales people forcing scratchcards on you.

We found the Europa Restaurant on day 1 on the beach front and went there regularly for lunch or ice cream and to watch the world go by. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macrihanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting on www.tripadvisor.com.

It is comments like this that reassure us that all our staff are working hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay.

We hope you will join us again in the next future.

Best wishes,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,773 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
2.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#23 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,013 reviews
1.5 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Gran Tinerfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Gran Tinerfe

Address: Rafael Puig Lluvina, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range: £99 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Gran Tinerfe 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Gran Tinerfe hotel is an "only adults", is located in the south of Tenerife on the Costa Adeje, right on the seafront. It has three swimming pools and sports facilities for enjoying your holiday time. Its wide-ranging culinary offering will bring you the best of local and international dishes. Hotel guests receive free admission to the Playa de las Americas Casino, which is located in the same building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, H10 Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H10 Gran Tinerfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Gran Tinerfe Hotel Costa Adeje
h10 Gran Tinerfe Resort
Gran Tinerfe Tenerife
H10 Gran Tinerfe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing