We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First of the summer whines......”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of H10 Gran Tinerfe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H10 Gran Tinerfe
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First of the summer whines......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

After a week at the Gran Tinerife in May it had its ups and downs! We were greeted on our first evening by a cockroach and woke up on our final morning to a cockroach (not the same one!). This hotel is modern, and could cater well for a young couple. But the average age on our holiday was 70 with Bingo and darts the highlight of their day. A lobby full of mobility scooters says it all!
We paid for 1/2 board. Breakfast was good and the selection good. On our first night my husband and I went down for dinner. He was dressed in smart tailored shorts and a shirt, we were turned away as it was trousers only - very 1980's. The staff were very rude and the manager very unaccomodating. I was disappointed that this was not communicated to us at the time of booking or at check in. People walking passed us in jeans and t-shirts were let in without a second glance. Really old fashioned and just not catered for young, modern couples.After a bit of a to do we punted to not eat in the place all week. We had a fab time finding lots of nice eateries in Playa de las Americas, of which there any many. So go half board and get out at night and see what else there is to offer!
All in all for a cheap week in May not bad but would never go back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review in TripAdvisor, we appreciate and take into account all feedback left.

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your holiday with us. We ask that gentlemen wear long trousers in the evening meal as so to create a pleasant atmosphere for all of our guests.

We hope that you will give us another chance to make sure that you have a fantastic holiday with us.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,011
    1,114
    328
    88
    39
See reviews for
234
2,697
92
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We visited this hotel in January and loved it so much we came back again and enjoyed it so much especially as the weather was so much better. Our room was on the 10th floor and paid for a seaview which was well worth it. Thank you to Dominga our room maid who left our room spotless every day and sung so beautifully!! We sat on the terrace for breakfast and evening meal watching the sunset go down in the evening, the food was plentiful and so much choice and a big thank-you to waiter Pepe who worked so hard.

Did not pay for a safe as we always leave our valuables locked in our case but paid for the fridge as we liked to buy our favourite tipples from the local supermarket and have a few drinks on the balcony,so did not feel the Privilege Package was worth the money especially as we felt the food was not so good in the a-la-carte restaurant. The pools are cold but with the weather being so hot it was lovely to cool down in them and there is one heated pool. Pool beds are not a problem here but you will still get people standing by their favourite beds from 8.00a.m until 10.a.m, how sad is that when you are on holiday!!

We love this hotel so much and cannot find fault at all with it and can't wait to return at some stage.

Room Tip: Seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all your comments and feedback. It is always nice to hear that you have had a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

We will pass your kind words on to Dominga and Pepe, all of our staff work hard to ensure your holiday is perfect so to hear that hard work is appreciated is always nice.

We look forwards to welcoming you again in the future, if you have any questions or requests, please do not hesitate to contact us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a lovely stay here, the hotel was very clean with 3 fantastic pools all of which were spotless. We stayed in an ocean view room which I would highly recommend. My only gripe was the poor wifi but I understand from the reception staff that this is being sorted. If you are a couple looking for a relaxing holiday with no kids running around then I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Markandrewogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate and thank you for the time taken to leave us a review on TripAdvisor as this allows us to meet our main goal; ensuring all our guests have a wonderful stay with us.

It is great to hear that in your case we succeeded. From the sea view room to the couples status of our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to have a another fabulous holiday in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a bungalow Room 11, which had a fantastic location, slide back the patio door, and the swimming pool was right there. The pools & hotel itself was spotless, and couldn’t find any faults at all.
People will still get up early and lay their towels down, but there are plenty of loungers around the various pools, and also on the roof terrace for watching the sun set.
The 2 restaurants have plenty to choose from one located in the hotel, and the al la carte 1 minute walk from hotel and overlooking the beach and sea, this was our favourite as you had waiters, plus the view, the other restaurant is self-service. There is still a €6 supplement for the sirloin
The only annoying thing is that the brochure states Wi-Fi which is why we went there, as running our own business we relied on this service but the signal was vary hit or miss, some days it worked on the ipads, other days no signal. The iPhone didn’t work at all, and the same for a Wi-Fi & Kindle, even the Thomson reps tried, but fear not there is a English pub just outside the complex (Head ‘n Tails), and there is free Wi-Fi.
The hotel is situated approx. 35min from the South airport, and the location itself is between Porto Colom harbour and Costa Adeje shops & bars, you can walk to both in 15mins, playa de las Americas is €7 euro’s in a taxi
There are still timeshare reps operating, so don’t be misled by someone saying you’ve won a week free holiday.
If you choose this hotel, via Thomson’s make sure you get the ‘Privilege’ card which enables you access to its own chill out room & terrace where there is a free bar, help yourselves to wines, spirits, soft drinks, beer, and some nibbles, and free English newspapers, opens from 9am – 21:00. Also the Privilege gives you free access to the mini bar, no payments for a safe (normally £35 for the week)
We also had a late check out (small supplement) as our fligt was 20:00, so had access to the whole hotel for the day and chill out bar
Lastly the reps offer you trips/excursions, which are over priced if you do a sea trip there are other outlets along the beach which charge half price

Room Tip: bungalow rooms 10 - 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terry_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback.

It pleases us to hear that you had a great holiday, and thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our hotel, also to hear you enjoyed the Privilege service we offer is a great compliment.

We look forwards to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. As we entered the hotel it was spacious, clean and modern! We visited the reception desk and checked in. The service that we received during check-in was excellent and check-in went smoothly. We were given a lot of useful information that we needed to know, for example, we were given a reservation card for when we visited the hotel restaurant which also gave us an allocated sitting time for our evening meal (this can be changed at reception), our keycards, our room number and various other information leaflets. Myself and my fiancé were also given a complimentary glass of champagne.

[PRE-WARNING: EVERYTHING YOU ORDER IS ON A TAB, SO YOU PAY FOR EVERYTHING AT THE END OF YOUR HOLIDAY. BE PREPARED TO KEEP ENOUGH MONEY BACK FOR THE BILL ON CHECK-OUT]

We headed downstairs to our room and this too exceeded our expectations!! We were given a bungalow room (which you would normally pay extra for). The room was very clean, tidy and modern. It got even better when we opened our terrace doors and found a table and chairs and a small set of steps that led straight into the pool area. Conveniently, we also had 2 sun loungers outside of our room allowing easy access into our bungalow. We encountered a problem with the locking of the outside doors as they wouldn't shut properly allowing anyone access into our bungalow. We reported the issue to reception and the issue was fixed within 30 minutes and the broken lock was replaced with the new one!

Useful tips for the room:

- Definitely invest in a safe! It just gives you that peace of mind. The safe is €28 but you will receive €10 back at the end of your stay if you bring the slip that they give you to confirm your purchase of the safe... when you check-out.
- You can buy a fridge for around €14.50 which is fully stocked with waters, orange juices and fizzy drinks. There are several fridges with different drinks to choose from (prices vary slightly depending on what you have). I would definitely advise purchasing the fridge as you can add your own drinks into it and keep them cold!!


THE EVENING MEAL:

We went down for our evening meal a couple of hours after arriving at the hotel (take note, men must wear long trousers to the evening meal!!). The food was a disappointment. The quality of the food and the presentation of the food that was produced was amazing. However, there wasn't much food to choose from (main courses)! The fussiest of eaters could of found something to eat but still, the food was very disappointing. I would definitely make sure that you bring extra euros for food!! and drink!!! Myself and my fiancé don't like paying too much for drinks with a meal... we asked for 2 bottle of water which we were charged €4 for!! When normally water tends to be free in the majority of restaurants... After this (on the following 6 nights) we didn't bother buying drinks with our evening meals. A small majority of the waiters came across to be very rude if you didn't want to order drinks. As a young couple, we found the atmosphere in the restaurant awkward.. We had to move tables at one point as every time we ate we were constantly glared at.

BREAKFAST:

I couldn't find fault with anything on offer for breakfast! Mushrooms, Fried Eggs, Scrambled Egg, Bacon, Rolls, Beans, Sausages etc. were all on offer! A proper english breakfast! They also catered for the German residents at the hotel too! Drinks at breakfast are free! Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate, Various Juices and Smoothies were all available! Men also don't have to wear long trousers to breakfast in the mornings.

Useful Tips:

- Men must wear long trousers to the evening meals!
- If you're unhappy with your evening meal time, change it at reception to a time that is convenient for you!
- Bring extra €'s for drinks! or food outside of the hotel...
- If you are unhappy with your seating position, ask to move tables before you go into the restaurant for your meal.

POOL AREA AND ACTIVITIES:

Lots of activities on offer during the day! For example, aqua gym and bingo. The hotel has a fantastic outdoor area with several pools (one of which is heated) and a heated jacuzzi. Lots of different types on sun loungers are available too! Table tennis, pool tables and a cocktail bar are also located in the outdoor area. A gym and a SPA are also available. I WOULD NOT ADVISE VISITED THE SPA. The SPA is overpriced and awful! My fiancé had a massage for €35 and he told me that most of the time the woman was wasting the 30 minutes that he had paid for and her massage technique was absolutely awful!

Useful Tips - Pool Area/Activities:

- Put your towels wherever you intend to sit during the day (e.g, sun loungers) as this guarantee you a saved spot!! ESPECIALLY put towels on the sun beds outside your bungalow (if you're staying in a bungalow) as people tend to pinch them and it is great to sit outside your bungalow as it offer great access into your bungalow. It's not normally too hard to find a place to sunbathe anyway... extra sun loungers are available.
- Carry some €1 coins if you intend to play pool a lot!
- Don't visit the SPA! You're wasting your money and your time!!
- There is NO disabled access. Wheelchairs are not a good idea! You can't have access into the pools etc.

ENTERTAINMENT:

The evening entertainment was disappointing. You are better off heading into the town! Unless you like the same people every single night.. singing the same songs!!
Only 2 out of the 7 nights that we stayed... there was interesting acts performing. A gymnastics group and a flamenco dancing group. Even then, that wasn't very interesting!

LOCAL AREA:

The local area is very nice! There are fantastic stretches of beach in Costa Adeje, Los Cristianos and Playa De Las Americas.

Costa Adeje is definitely worth a look as it is absolutely stunning. There is often a man in Costa Adeje that allows you to have photographs taken with his two parrots! The photos cost €10 each. I had two and managed to get them for €15. Do haggle with prices!! Most lower!! Also, the shops owned by the Chinese are often carbon copies of one and other. Some offer lower prices than others. Haggle with prices in there too! They sometimes lower. Lots of nice little restaurants and bars are on offer too. IF YOU WANT EXCURSIONS VISIT TOP TEN EXCURSIONS AS THEY'LL GIVE YOU A FANTASTIC DEAL ON ANY EXCURSIONS. The Quad and Buggy Excursion is normally €180 and we got it for €138.

Playa De Las Americas is the most lively part. It's great in the day! But be very careful at night... There is a strip of bars, strip clubs and other clubs (Veronicas Strip!) which can be very dangerous! Don't take much money out and night and be wary of your surroundings. It isn't as bad as people make it out to be... however, we never went back to our hotel any later than 11pm and i can imagine it gets worse from then onwards. Be careful of the 'looky looky' men at night as they will offer you drugs! They also attempt to sell you fake goods during the days and nights. Don't be afraid to say no to youngsters enticing you into their bars/clubs and people trying to sell you things that you don't want. Mini Golf, Shopping, Spas, Bars and Restaurants are fantastic here!! Definitely try Club Papaygo and The Hard Rock Cafe. Best Places to drink! Papaygo is located at the end of Veronicas Strip so only visit that in the day!! If you're worried about passing through veronicas strip at night you can take a taxi or go a back way to the hotel to avoid it. ALSO do not get your hair braided by the African women! They are no good and the braids damage your hair and they charge you more than you are quote!


Mr and Mrs Wells.. (A Young Couple)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MrMrsWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you leave us as it allows us to meet our main goal; to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great holiday, and you appreciated the hotel and its location.

We look forwards to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic, would recommend to anyone!
Reception were fantastic to deal with upon arrival, rooms were modern and spacious with a large balcony. Rooms were spotless, couldn't find anything wrong.
Pools were fantastic, one heated pool which was lovely to have a swim and a cold pool to cool down after a few hours in the sun, the sun loungers around the corner from the heated pool were brilliant, pillows on the beds were extremely comfortable. Can't wait to stay here again 10/10!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly let me thank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a fabulous holiday here with us!

From the rooms, to our pools and staff, we are happy that we fulfilled and met your expectations so that you had a great holiday.

We look forwards to welcoming you again soon. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

first time at this hotel and location is fantastic close enough to everything food not all that very basic but eatable. rooms are great go for privilege package save monet in long run and rooms better and so clean cant really fault hotel staff are great would definately come back.

Room Tip: room 823 fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessboo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We enjoy hearing about your holidays and its a pleasure to hear that you had a great time!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Privilege package and that you had a good relationship with our staff throughout your stay.

We look forwards to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

H10 Gran Tinerfe Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
1.5 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#22 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#33 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.7 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Gran Tinerfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Gran Tinerfe

Property: H10 Gran Tinerfe
Address: Rafael Puig Lluvina, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Gran Tinerfe 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Gran Tinerfe hotel is located in the south of Tenerife on the Costa Adeje, right on the seafront. It has three swimming pools and sports facilities for enjoying your holiday time. Its wide-ranging culinary offering will bring you the best of local and international dishes. Hotel guests receive free admission to the Playa de las Americas Casino, which is located in the same building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, H10 Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Gran Tinerfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Gran Tinerfe Hotel Costa Adeje
h10 Gran Tinerfe Resort
Gran Tinerfe Tenerife
H10 Gran Tinerfe Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing