We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Beccles, Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

Stayed at hotel for one week with wife and four year old son. Have been to area several times before and so knew how good the resort was for food and children. The transfer to the hotel was very poor. We were the 9th drop off and drove within a hundred yards of the hotel twice before our turn. There was no rep on the coach and the route taken seemed ludicrous even allowing for a complicated one way system in resort.
Our room was on 4th floor facing the front. If you get a choice ask for a rear facing room as the view is far better and the balcony door is a sliding type making access easier especially when there is a third bed in the room than our inward opening door.
That, however is the end of the negatives. The pools were great, there were always sunbeds available somewhere close by. (and that was in the half term period). The food was of a reliable and good quality with plenty of choice even for fussy children. The service from all staff was friendly and efficient and the animation team work hard. The evening entertainment is above average. It is not all down to the usual entertainment team miming shows. They had proper Abba tribute bands and magicians in as well.
The weather was very pleasant as usual. Our First Choice/Thomson rep "Amy" was the best rep I can remember, present at the hotel for long periods and friendly, helpful and informative.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We have stayed at the adjacent Guayamina Princess but would go back to the Ibersostar for value, pool and children friendliness

  • Liked — everything....ease of feeding son
  • Disliked — balcony door opened inwards
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogman229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    1,318
    430
    130
    62
See reviews for
1,102
1,476
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

This is a great hotel to stay in for all types of holiday maker, and there is very little to say against it. I took my two kids (8 & 11) for a week here and we had a great time.

The staff are friendly and helpful (even the cleaners are always smiling!), the food is excellent and the entertainers are wonderful at their jobs.

There are two types of entertainment on every evening; a live 'lounge' singer for those that are fans of dancing and the booked acts in another room which were very good although visibility is limited in some seats so get in there early!

There is the mini club every day except Friday for the kids which is run by the entertainers and my kids loved it, and it gives the adults the chance to relax by the 2 pools. Then there is volley ball, water polo, air rifles, inflatable’s, and more for everyone else.

The pools are nice and large but they are 5' deep everywhere with not much of a shallow end apart from some sloping steps. There is a small paddling pool but if you have a child of a certain age who is not a confident swimmer then you do spend a lot of time making sure they are ok.

Aside from this and the fact you MUST where long trousers to dinner there is not much to complain about. The view from my room was not great but I could see the mountains and the sea, a couple I met were not happy with their room and they were moved without any hassle on two occasions.

The area which the hotel is in is near the Aqualand water park (which has an excellent dolphin show) and the new Siam Water Park, which I didn't go to but by all accounts is superb.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DudleyYanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Just arrived back after a fabulous holiday.
The staff were very helpful even when we had a problem with the safe, they sent a handyman within 5 minutes.
Our room was was very clean and comfortable with a sea view, but as we were at the front of the hotel it was a little noisy at night but we wouldnt let it spoil our holiday.
The food was not brilliant but just as you expect on a foreign holiday. We ate out most evenings and found some reasonable restaurants nearby.
We read a lot of reports of the morning sunbed dash but we went down two mornings at approx 10.00 and we had no trouble at all , there were many free beds although not all in the sun
We would definitely use this hotel again

  • Liked — sea view
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank di51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Me and my partner went for 2 weeks and my dad and brother came for 1 of the 2 weeks we all had a great time and are booking to go back next year, Food is the best i have had in a hotel and i am a fussy person, we normally eat out a lot even if we are half board but we only went out twice to eat,
we were on the 5th floor my dad on 1st there was a difference in the size of the rooms and they didnt have a view but they were kept clean and tidy you dont really spend that much time in your room for it to be a big problem, pool area fine kept clean i think we went at the right time as there was no rush for sunbeds although if you leave it till 12 you wount get one in the sun,
location is perfect just near the beach and there is everything you need local all in all fantastic

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank angel074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

the hotel looked great on first sight, we got a friendly greeting with a drink, our rooms where standard but cleaners could of been improved, the lifts had a mind of their own u could spend half ur hoildays in them.the decor is tired and needs updating, the pool area isnt as clean as id liked, gardens looked great so did the pool but it was too deep for me at 5ft 2 so i couldnt play the water games and for older kids it was to deep.parts of the pool needed reparing ie lots of broken tiles and chipped paint.pool bar was lovely but can get better food for value if you go out.the dinning area was fantastic it was the best bit food was lovely with losts of differant food everyday.helpful and friendly staff.it is a 4 star but i feel it is more a 3 star but could easy update itself again.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — clenleness of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennigreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

my husband and two daughters and son in law stayed here in the last two weeks of august weather was lovely and the hotel was briliant. All the staff were so helpful especially our waiter, his name was Carlos always cheerful made us feel very welcome. Having to be up early in the morning to do the towel run for the sunbeds was a bit of a chore for me and my husband but soon got into a routine. Loro Park is the best attraction on the island but needed more than one day there really. Jungle park and aqualand were a complete waste of time, having to pay for sunbeds and lilos on top of the entrance fee was a joke, Would recommend this hotel very strongly.
Only being 5 mins from the beach is also a bonus, Nice for an Early Morning Stroll !!

  • Liked — very roomy and always clean
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank georgieboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

Strange Hotel , It's definately a 3* that acts like a 4*...Stayed for two weeks and on the up side food was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly. When we arrived on a Saturday afternoon, there was no orange juice for us and the foyer and tables within were very messy with cups and papers lying on and around. We were on the second floor , the corridor was very dimly lit and the carpet along the corrider although "clean" was very stained and finally we were given a room which could only be decribed as tired. I had waited 8 months for this holiday (since booking)and had not had a holiday for two years and I was very disappointed but decided just to get on with it. However after two days and a large cockroach or two I spoke to our rep and we were moved to the 5th floor where for some reason, the corrider was very well lit ,there was clean new carpeting, our room was bigger and we even had a bigger better TV ( which showed only German Channels) not sure if it means they think the Brits will put up with less pleasant conditions. The Chicken Run for the sun loungers in the morning was ridiculous & the lifts were dodgy..Yet we met people who keep going back to this Hotel..We still haven't made up our minds

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not convinced that this hotel has been FULLY refurbished
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank steffaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Adeje hotels
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
#23 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#13 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tropical
Hotel Jardin Tropical
#21 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#25 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Property: Iberostar Torviscas Playa
Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#28 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Torviscas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel is a 4-star All-Inclusive hotel in Costa Adeje, Tenerife situated next to the beach. It’s located on the Costa Adeje, in a beautiful area full with nature. Its spacious rooms designed to meet all the guests' needs; entertainment and leisure programmes, and activities specially designed for the very youngest make this hotel the ideal choice for a family holiday in Costa Adeje. Family sized rooms. The hotel’s range of rooms is quite varied. The construction and design of the rooms is based on the guests’ distinct needs. Those travelling with family can stay in spacious quadruple rooms; couples can stay in double rooms and there is also a room for guests with limited mobility. Children, very well cared for. The hotel offers an interesting array of options for children and teenagers at its Mini Club (4- to 7-year-olds), Maxi Club (8 to 12) and Teenie Club (13 to 17). Run by an efficient team of entertainment pros, they plan lots of activities to keep your little ones busy all day long. Fun for the whole family in our hotels, always. A la carte activities. Since leisure and entertainment are very important when choosing a holiday destination, the IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel strives to offer a superior programme for its guests: a centre with treatments and beauty care, a large variety of sports both inside and outside the hotel, cultural theme nights, various live music performances and shows for day and night time entertainment. Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Iberostar, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Iberostar Torviscas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Costa Adeje, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing